We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Save Saved
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% Online!
Ranked #4 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I always stay at the Marshall House when I'm in Savannah! The location is perfect for walking through the parks or going to RiverWalk. Having priced other places in the vicinity, it's a great value considering the wine & cheese social and the buffet breakfast are included. There's also the historic aspect of the place - and the ghosts, though I encountered none on the last trip. There is a parking garage around the back, but if you have lots of bags, I recommend the valet parking which is worth the $15 to save your back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    789
    319
    61
    30
    14
See reviews for
185
653
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very quaint hotel in the middle of Old Savannah. There are many restaurants within walking distance and it is only a few blocks from the river. The rooms are small and the A/C unit is loud but we were very comfortable and would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our daughter is a junior at SCAD so we travel to Savannah a few times a year to visit. During our first few visits to the city we stayed at a few other hotels. Once we stayed at Marshall House we never have stayed anywhere else. The location can not be beat. The rooms are great. The mattresses are so comfortable. The people who work here are delightful. The bar is nice. The restaurant is unbelievable. We just love this hotel. We never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Marshall House hits all the high points for what to expect in Savannah. A strong historical background, a gracious staff, beautiful rooms, and a location that can't be beat for exploring the historical downtown (and River Street). And it's reputed to be haunted. I can't speak from personal experience. If you are exploring Savannah with the energy it warrants, you will be far too exhausted to let ghosts keep you up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had reserved a room at Marshall House because of TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, my husband had to return home early and we had to cancel our reservations. I am writing only to warn people that the cancellation policy at this hotel is very punitive. We attempted to cancel on Monday for a Thursday/Friday reservation. The hotel charged us for Thursday. Four days is not enough!! Make sure that you read their policy and if you have a hesitation, don't reserve!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am so glad we chose this hotel, the location was excellent to walking the historic district. The charm of this place felt like you were part of an era forgotten. We had a king size room which slanted a little, but considering how old the place was, it was part of the charm. After walking along the river at night after dinner we came back and played cards down in their lobby area. Highly recommend this place for its character. The staff here was FANTASTIC! The southern charm flowed from everything they did!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The place was beautiful. The room was cozy. The robes were a nice touch. Nicely appointed bathroom. Terrific and helpful staff. Great location, walking distance to most everything you would want to do. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House. Originally built as the first hotel in our fair city, this is one of the most unique boutique hotels in Savannah. Offering 68 guest rooms and a perfect downtown location on Broughton Street, The Marshall House is ideally situated right in the heart of Savannah's historic district. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, and the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program. Original windows, pinewood floors and claw-foot tubs in some rooms are among the charming attributes that make The Marshall House one of the most popular Savannah historic inns. Guests especially enjoy the suite that opens onto a classic wrought-iron veranda complete with rocking chairs and ceiling fans. This hotel is a participant in our Guest Rewards Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.