We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Save Saved
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% Online!
Ranked #5 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Camden, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Classy and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were here last year in April and when we decided to come back to Charleston we looked at some other choices but came right back to the Marshall House. Yes, you may not have a view but remember you are staying in a downtown historic area. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to almost everything. The friendly staff will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The buffet is average and could be improved but don't let that small thing stop you. Hint; Ask for one of the "Garden Suites". You will not be disapointed. Plenty of space for a couple for a special occasion or just a time away. Another hint; when you are ready to make a reservation call and talk to them, explain what you want and they will help you get the room that is right for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    796
    326
    61
    30
    15
See reviews for
191
658
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The reviews are spot on. The breakfast is exactly what you'd want, the wine & cheese hour is a fun afternoon treat, and the hotel's location on Broughton street truly makes it the perfect place to stay. Our room indeed was small, but we needed to go with an economic option. The service is excellent.

Room Tip: A word of warning: watch out if you have the room near the elevator, the noise from that and the ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I reserved a room at Marshall House based on the Trip Advisor rating after the place we had been planning on staying at was booked up. The high rating didn't match up with our experience at all.

The biggest disappointment was that our room faced a parking garage whose lights shown into our room 24 hours a day. The light and noise made it difficult to sleep. The bathroom was also quite bad. It was in poor condition and small with a little pedestal sink. The room was small, which I didn't mind, but there were stains on the bedding, which was a real turn off.

The breakfast was average, but is served in a pretty atrium dining room. (Avoid the rubbery quiche that is left to sit under heat lamps.) The wine and cheese served Sunday - Thursday evening is average as well.

I blame myself for my disappointment with the location of the hotel. I thought that because we were away from the riverfront that we would be in the historic area. I should have done more research. It is in the middle of one of the business streets in downtown Savannah. That is great if you want to have lots of chain restaurants and shops next door, but not good if you want to be near the historic charm of the city, which in my mind is the whole reason to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The valet parked our car and we didn't need it for the two nights we were there. It's close to the riverfront and good shopping. Nice historic charm to the hotel. The breakfast is an average breakfast buffet. We did not eat in the dining room. The front desk was helpful in making reservations and tours for us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Marshall House is a great hotel in in the perfect location. We parked our car when we got there and never needed it again because we walked everywhere. The rooms are small but had everything we needed. The bed was comfy and the room and bathroom were spotless. The high ceilings made the light levels a little low and the age of the building (creaky wood floors) made it easy to hear people out in the hall. But those are the only things to say about the hotel that could be improved. And frankly, the high ceilings and original floors are part of what make it great so it is a small price to pay. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a great hotel for exploring Savannah. The location is great, the hotel is charming and the beds were super comfortable. Our room was a little on the small side, so that is why it gets four stars rather than five. The staff was helpful and friendly. Savannah is so charming and graceful. GO THERE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House. Originally built as the first hotel in our fair city, this is one of the most unique boutique hotels in Savannah. Offering 68 guest rooms and a perfect downtown location on Broughton Street, The Marshall House is ideally situated right in the heart of Savannah's historic district. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, and the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program. Original windows, pinewood floors and claw-foot tubs in some rooms are among the charming attributes that make The Marshall House one of the most popular Savannah historic inns. Guests especially enjoy the suite that opens onto a classic wrought-iron veranda complete with rocking chairs and ceiling fans. This hotel is a participant in our Guest Rewards Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.