We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rooms, Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolutely charming!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location,comfortable beds,the history,the staff were awesome.If you are looking for a wonderful place to take your spouse.for a weekend get away this is the place! Romanic late afternoon walks on river street,was the greatest also tybee island is not far away..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    382
    74
    32
    15
See reviews for
225
768
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Okay, so we were only there for one night, but I must say, it was memorable. The exceptional staff and their superb customer service, made our stay!. Loved the history of the inn, which dates back to the late 1800s. The accommodations were very nice with comfortable beds and a nice large shower, which made for a relaxing stay. I will admit that there was quite a bit of upper level floor noise, but to me, that's part of the experience of staying in an old inn!

The breakfast included quiches, biscuits, fruit, cereals, pastries, juices, and coffee, so I think that there is enough to suit most tastes.

We wanted to eat at 45 Bistro, but we were there during Savannah's Restaurant Week, so many of the notable restaurants were already booked, so I cannot comment, but I've heard that it is a very good place to dine.

We went to Savannah to shop, but if I were to go again, I would concentrate on the history of the area. To me, that would be worth it far more than the shopping experience, which was awful!!

Room Tip: Room 322 was very nice, with two queen beds, and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I first visited Savannah a few years ago as part of a multi city road-trip. My friend and I stayed at the Marshall House and absolutely loved it. Since then I have made it my business to get back to Savannah whenever I could, and I have always stayed at the Marshall House. I recently stayed there again for the fourth time, this time with my wife and another couple. We love everything about this place. It feels like old Savannah. It is very charming and has it's own personality in a way a chain hotel wouldn't. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small, but I think that it to be expected at such an old hotel. We loved that they had a wine and cheese reception in the parlor one of the nights we stayed. I know it made me feel a lot fancier than I am. There is a continental breakfast served in a beautiful atrium. I've eaten a lot of continental breakfast's in my time, but this one was certainly in the nicest setting I can remember. The food was fine, although it wouldn't have killed them to put out something hot, like bacon. It was mostly danish, bagels, etc. Another great thing about the Marshall House is the location. It is right in the middle of the historic district of Savannah. You are only a few blocks from River Street, and Broughton Street which is where the Marshall House is has a lot of great shopping and restaurants itself. Also, I am a person who is very particular about sleep. Even though the Marshall House is in a great location, I could never hear any street noise at all. If you;re visiting Savannah, stay at the Marshall House. You will absolutely love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marshall House while we were in town for a friends wedding & thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It's a very old hotel but has been nicely renovated. The rooms can be a bit small but this is to be expected in older buildings. The entire staff was super friendly & had an answer to all of our questions. My favorite was when the valet had my car warm on a chilly Saturday morning when I needed it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumley
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and staff are great. Our too
318 was extremely noisy from the room above and the people in the corridor. I did not like the shower with a curtain and extremely small. The continental breakfast has no selection and not worth bothering with. The guest services and valets are extremely helpful

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent one night here on our way to Fla. We stayed on the front side of the hotel with a balcony room. The hotel was taken over by Sherman and his men during the Civil war and was turned into a hospital for Union Troops. There are supposed strolling around on the fourth floor. It was a very pretty, clean place to stay. The only draw back was you could hear everyone in the hallway. So try to stay away from the elevator and stairs. The staff is very helpful and the Asst. Manager even gave us some interesting information on the hotel and its history. Nice buffet breakfast in the Atrium. The rooms are nice and airy, with high ceilings, and our room had floor to ceiling windows that opened onto the front patio. Price is quite reasonable. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator and stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent stay at The Marshall House, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Loved the complimentary wine and cheese every eve. Breakfast was wonderful also, with a great selection of healthy choices. Location was ideal close to shopping and riverfront and historical parks. Love, Love, can't wait to come back to stay at this wonderful Hotel. The staff is the Best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.