We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Southern Charm & Loaded with History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rooms, Best Rates
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
AlbaGals
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lots of Southern Charm & Loaded with History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If everyone had a Bernard as their parking valet they would have lots of return custom. He is a great asset to the Hotel. As were all the staff, very knowledgable of the area. Ask him about leaving your car parked with them after your checkout!?!? It is just as if you are still a guest that day too! We booked the city trolley tour with the hotel at checkout time & picked up the car at about 7pm! no extra charges>!>!> Overall the hotel was just as nice as online pics & very old & small rooms.....It was built when all rooms were small. Bathrooms were lovely & nice hot water with good pressure (amazing for a building of its age) & VERY clean. Rooms were immaculate & fresh. Central location & restaurant, bar & reception area had everything to keep you inside the hotel. All staff very efficient, welcoming & friendly. The complimentary cheese & wine social was brilliant. We drink wine so it saved us a fortune!!!! We will visit Marshall House when we visit Savannah next time. Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: We had a great room 419 but since it was the only one we had its hard to give tips to choose a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    379
    74
    32
    15
See reviews for
224
762
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Seriously, the best hotel experience! The hotel was beautiful, in the perfect location to everything. But, what made this experience different than others is the staff went way beyond their basic responsibilities! Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been to Savannah many times before but The Marshall House is truly a historic Jewel! Very elegant and classy. The front desk staff were very nice and friendly. When we arrived they stated your suite is ready for you Mr. Halmon. They reminded us the wine and cheese hour is still being held until seven if we wanted to come back down and enjoy. After about 30 mins. they called our room to make sure everything was fine and did we need anything and informed us that breakfast will be served in the morning from 7-10. Very comfortable beds, Ms. Olivia who serves the breakfast in the Atrium makes the best spinach quiche. If u like nostalgia and antiques this is the place to stay. It is truly a must stay if you are visiting Historical Savannah Ga. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. There was truly a lot of southern charm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good value with very attentive staff. Fine, wide hallways with historic photos. Our petite queen was smallish, but comfortable; bathroom had a great shower .
The wine and cheese was fun, and the breakfasts quite satisfying.
Only small problem was the airconditioning, which was noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

History seeps from every brick at the Marshall House, and some say it's haunted. We were greeted at the front door by Bernard, an enthusiastic and knowledgeable bellman who is an asset to the hotel. The hotel has an Old Savannah feel to it, with ancient wood floors and high ceilings. We chose one of the Petite Queen rooms and they weren't kidding. There was barely enough room to maneuver but the room and bath were clean and well appointed. Our room faced the interior of the hotel over the restaurant and we could clearly hear the noise below on a busy Saturday night. If you choose an interior room, bring earplugs (we also heard noise from people walking on bare wood floors above us). The buffet breakfast included in the room rate was adequate. The front desk staff were eager to please, and called us minutes before we left the room at checkout time to ask whether we wanted a late checkout. The Marshall House faces busy Broughton St. and is within walking distance of all the important sites in historic Savannah.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Marshall House is a great base for a stay in Savannah. Having stayed here before, we were glad to be back for a weekend getaway during a college visit for my daughter. The hotel is a classy southern gem. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Very accommodating to any requests that you might have. Our room was a double queen room on the 2nd floor overlooking the former courtyard now a dining room. The 2 drawbacks were that in this room you could hear lots of noise from the dining room below both during meal time and during clean up from the staff. The other issue we had was that the a/c unit was horribly noisy when it would turn on. In fact, it kept us up throughout the evening every time it turned on. Other than that everything was very nice.

Great location in the historic district. Definitely would stay here again and recommend it to any visitor to the beautiful City of Savannah.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel had lots of character with uneven hardwood floors and a bit of history in the corridors, lobby and rooms. The location is great, providing very close walking access to the Savannah College of Art & Design, restaurants, and beautiful historic buildings and squares. The staff were very friendly and helpful, providing tips for restaurants, walking ghost tours and places to shop, checking on restaurant hours, providing menus, and setting up tours. A large breakfast was provided. The hotel is clean. The beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows. It is a little noisy given the location. Overall it was a great place to stay. There were no athletic facilities that I found. Yet, the area is great for walking & jogging. It is very difficult to find places to recycle; so, you may need to carry this out with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.