We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic comfort at the perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% in Aug & Sept
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic comfort at the perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Great old hotel in the middle of the historic district. Easy walk to the river front and a number of restaurants and pubs. Beautiful lobby/sitting area. The continental breakfast is good. Highly recommend.

Armondo, member of the bell staff, was great. He remembered our names throughout the week and was always pleasant when he saw us. He was also the first impression for the hotel greeting us when we arrived and he did the hotel justice! Proved to be a valuable resource.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    405
    76
    32
    16
See reviews for
248
815
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I are in our mid 60's and travel frequently. We are not hard to please but we do recognize quality. In all of our travels I must say that our stay at the Marshall House goes to the top of the list. The hotel staff without a doubt were the most pleasant and attentive we have ever experienced. Southern hospitality at it's best. Our room although a bit small was very comfortable.The bed and bedding were extremely confortable. The lounge area off the lobby was the perfect place to rest and read a newspaper. In fact I found it so relaxing that I briefly fell asleep one afternoon in one of the chairs. The fresh lemonade all day long was also a nice touch.
Breakfast each day was good and lots of items to choose from. The complimentary wine and cheese each evening was just great before stepping out for the evening. The location couldn't be better. Within walking distance to anywhere in the historic district. In the five days we stayed never once did we use our car. To sum it all up we had a outstanding stay at a outstanding hotel. And once again I just can't say enough good things about the hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I looked at a lot of B&B's before going to Savannah. The Marshall House was recommended by three people. It is a great location and has a lot of character. The staff was outstanding in making our a stay a pleasant one. The rooms are small but clean. The size of the room did not bother me since I did not go to Savannah to sit in my room. Breakfast was great and the wine & cheese reception was a nice touch. When I go back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We found the Marshall house to be exceptional in every way and would definitely stay there again. The location was perfect and we were able to walk every where we wanted within the historic district. The rooms were lovely and the hotel was beautiful, the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nice old property but also modern enough to be completely comfortable. The rooms was just right for my wife and myself and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location is close enough to all of the historic district including the water front that we never had to move the car from the garage. The wine and cheese social was fun and we were able to meet new people. My wife and I explored the hotel and looked at all the art work up and down all the halls. We have already decided we will be back to celebrate our 25th. wedding anniversary next year. We are both looking forward to it. Thanks Marshall House.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is such a beautifully renovated historic inn in what we found to be an ideal location. Many original details have been kept, and antique items excavated during renovation are proudly displayed in hallway cases. Rooms and baths are on the small side, but with high ceilings and such nice appointments that it still feels quite luxurious. Our room faced the street, and we were not bothered by noise at all. There were occasional building creaks and a/c noise, but I think if this were completely eliminated, you might sacrifice some of character of this age-old beauty. We loved the valet service; for just $15 a day, the most pleasant gentlemen got our car for us whenever we asked, and we never had to worry about parking. Breakfast was a half-step above the typical hotel breakfast, and served in a sunny atrium. With the addition of a complimentary wine and cheese hour daily, we felt like we really had the opportunity to enjoy the lovely common spaces, and chat with some of the other guests.
Our favorite thing about Marshall House: Brant the concierge! We were sad when we had to leave without him. Just the most charming, helpful fellow, he called us after we arrived to ask if we needed anything, learned our names, and greeted us whenever we passed. Every suggestion he made about what to see or do was just right for us, and he made whatever reservations we needed in a snap.
I'm so glad we decided to forego the predictable chain hotels; this gem really enhanced our enjoyment of delightful Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this old property. Great location to walk the town and restaurants very near
by.Staff was all great and willing to help provide you with your questions and very friendly.We will
hopefully come again to Savannah.Plus we will also stay here again.Complimentary wine reception was truly great too.We had the pleasure of meeting two people from Lancaster,PA.Also the breakfast which was complimentary good too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#4 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.