We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Online!
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent three mid-week nights at The Marshall House in May. For a historic hotel we were pleased with the size of the room. Our deluxe king room was quite comfortable for the two of us. We appreciated the fact that there were two chairs and two suitcase racks. Breakfast was good, there was a protein selection (quiche) and the fruit was fresh and in season. The wine and cheese hour was a nice way to transition into evening while comparing our day's activities with other guests. Everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. The valet took our car upon check in and we had no need of it until check out. We slept too well to notice if there were any ghosts.

Room Tip: Our interior room was incredibly quiet. The nightstand lamps had EXCELLENT bulbs and were PERFECT f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    356
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
214
704
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Savannah is known to be one of the most haunted cities in the country. If you don't mind getting some scares as you drift off to sleep, the Marshall House would be great for you. I was looking forward to spending my night in Savannah in one of the most haunted hotels. However, I hardly slept a wink because there were definitely some strange things and noises going on in the room. If you laugh in the face of ghosts, then you would like the Marshall House because the rooms were nice, the staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. The only reason I can't give this place 5 stars is because it was not a restful night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a superior king room. Bed was very comfy and breakfast good though the coffee wasn't great. Neil the concierge is a little treasure, recommending places to eat and booking our trolley tour for us. I have to say that I was worried about the ghostly activity mentioned in some previous reports, I'm a scaredy cat but my other half was excited about something unexplained happening! The first night we slept right through, the second night I was woken from a deep sleep by a loud whirring noise right by my ear, it even made my hair move. We could then hear what sounded like drums from a marching band for a while before it faded and we went straight back to sleep - bizarre. Strangely this hasnt put me off returning to this hotel,Savannah is a beautiful place and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a wonderful historic inn in Savannah, and I have staid in several. The location cant be beat, and my daughter was thrilled to find out it was noted on the haunted tour (she likes ghosts!)
The breakfast service is definitely better than most, and the wine reception is a nice way to start the evening. Good for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Booked 2 rooms through their website using the 15% off promo code on Trip Advisor - wound up paying $127/night for accessible kings (booked by accident), which included breakfast. Hotel is centrally located in the historic district. We parked our car using valet so we wouldn't have to mess with parking in a public garage (although Visitor's Center offers 2-day pass for $12 - just wasn't convenient for us to get to the center to buy one), but we didn't use our car until check out and walked everywhere.

We asked Valet twice to get stuff from our parked car and they did so in a very timely manner.

My husband woke-up sick the morning we were supposed to check out and he didn't think he could make the trip back to Charleston. Fortunately, the room we were in was not reserved so we were able to stay an extra night and the best part was that they extended the discounted rate for that third & last minute stay. Housekeeping didn't come in to refresh the room that day, but when I ventured outside to get fresh towels I was surprised to find them hanging in a bag on our door, along with 2 new bottles of water. Very unexpected & appreciated!

The hotel is very well maintained & the rooms are great and spacious. Our family had 2 small kids with them and had room for a pack-n-play for the baby to sleep in. They were below us and we barely heard the kids. Rooms #301 & #401 are located at the end of the hall so away from main traffic, but behind elevator - only heard the dinging a couple of times, but otherwise rooms are quiet.

Breakfast was a nice spread & included quiche & warm biscuits, as well as pastries, yogurt & fruit.

Highly recommend Leopold's Ice Cream located across the street and 1/2 block over - yummy! Also recommend walking through as many of the squares as you can and up to Forsyth Park.

Would definitely return to The Marshall House if we go back to Savannah!

Room Tip: Rooms #301 & #401 are accessible kings (booked by accident) & were great rooms - both locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My hubby began our stay in Savnannah here. We were warmly welcomed by the staff here and shown to our room even though we were a bit early for check-in. We were shown to our room (petite queen) which was super quaint and well-appointed. The fixtures and paint color were up to date and the bed was SUPER comfortable with great pillows. I am glad we did not upgrade to the rooms with access to the veranda as the view to the street below is nothing special. The wine and cheese reception was nice as well as the breakfast (adequate) but skip if you are a foodie or like a gourmet breakfast. Coffee was so-so. All in all, this is a fantastic place in a great location, but opt for breakfast and superior coffee at one of the great local spots. The value of this place is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel was charming. In the lobby, there were interesting artifacts or paintings everywhere you looked. In the breakfast bar, the light and foliage made dining very pleasant. The complimentary afternoon wine and cheese was a pleasant surprise (not available on the weekends). The rooms had high ceilings, but remember this is an old structure. The floor was NOTICEABLY slanted. But I loved the look of the old wood planks. The bathroom was modern and functional. There was only one mirror in the room which is a problem when two people are trying to get ready. The location is awesome--we walked to the Riverwalk, to the City Market and then to Paula Deen's for dinner. There's a CVS, a Panera Bread, a Starbucks and other convenient stores nearby. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.