We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the river.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Savannah to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Savannah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #49 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location on the river.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location of the Hyatt Regency was the best part of the hotel for us although there was very little to complain about with this hotel. It's located right on the river front and you can take an elevator down to the river and all of the shops and restaurants. The front desk was very helpful and quick in getting us our room keys and we didn't have to wait for our room even though we were a few hours early. The hotel has a very clean feel from the moment you walk in. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed, nothing more or less. The fitness center is great! There are many more weight machines, treadmills, bikes, and ellipticals than at any other hotel we've been to. They also have a cable machine, free weights, and an open area to for stretching, yoga, etc. The pool area is also really nice. As far as parking, I would recommend that you park in the parking deck in the block adjacent to the hotel. We could see the parking deck from our hotel room and it was a little cheaper than parking in the hotel parking deck. We found out later that we could have saved a little more than we did if we had gone to the visitors center and bought a 1 day parking pass. Also, it was a little odd that we couldn't get a baggage cart to take our luggage up to our rooms ourselves. The front desk said that they didn't give out carts to guests and would rather have their folks load and take the luggage to our rooms for us. I understand why they do this, but we didn't need any help with our bags other than something to load them on. Other than that this was a great place to stay

Room Tip: They will likely offer you a river view room for an additional fee when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear macoates,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and though our staff was friendly and the fitness center was great. We thank you for selecting our hotel and hope that next time your travels return you to Savannah we can have you visit with us again.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    432
    243
    108
    55
See reviews for
230
453
34
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Savannah is not a bad place, although not on my top 10 favorite either. The staff was mostly friendly and accommodating. There's was a bad experience at the Windows Restaurant where one of the members of my party received coffee in a lipstick-covered cup. Yuk! No apology from the waitress, so we asked for manager, who immediately apologized and made amends. A very special "kudos" and thank you to Shannon, who went above and beyond to ensure the everything was in place for the wedding.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and that everything went well with the wedding. I will pass along your kind words to Shannan. We hope that next time you visit Savannah you will stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I recently visited Savannah for a business trip. The hotel stay was amazing.

Perfect location. Awesome surroundings.
Staff at the reception were very friendly.

Lot of restaurants in the walking distance.
The staff is very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and attractions.

Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the house staff was courteous...

The in room dining experience was fantastic.

Only good things to say about this Hotel. Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Donofindia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. I will certainly pass along your kind words to the staff as they will be excited to hear them. Our best compliment is a returning guest and a recommendation. We thank you for the recommendation and I hope that when your travels return you to Savannah you will once again stay with us.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Pulled up tot he entrance, waited 5 minutes in car for valet/doorman but no one came. Got out of car and unloaded all of our luggage ourselves and still no one came. A bus tried to pull in and we were asked to pull the car way to the end, far away from the entrance...still no one asked for our keys to valet. Checked in at front desk and mentioned our experience out front, they snagged a valet person walking by. The valet had us follow her to our vehicle again and finally we were able to valet, but still no doorman or assistance with luggage to our rooms. So far a 1 star experience at best!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel that actually wants your business for $300 a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear TruthYouveGotIt,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit with us. I would like to apologize for the challenges you experienced at the arrival of the hotel. This is certainly not a standard for us and I hope that you will view it as a isolated incident. We strive to exceed each guests expectations at every moment of their visit and we fell short of this goal for you. I hope that you found the rest of your experience with us satisfactory. I hope that you will return again when you return to Savannah and allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I was here on business, but couldn't help but note how well-placed this hotel was for getting out and sightseeing around Savannah. The staff members who I encountered were all very friendly. The hotel is in the process of renovating its sleeping rooms and I was in one of the rooms that hadn't yet been done. I had a river view which allows you to see all the container ships moving back and forth, but otherwise isn't all that special, but is very quiet. My bed was fantastically comfortable and I slept like a stone. The hotel stocks a top quality array of bathroom amenities including a spray to freshen your pillow, and an oil to put on your pulse points which will help to relax you. The hotel bar is on the second floor and allows you to look out at the scene on River Street, but not be in the thick of it which was nice. The hotel had to be close to capacity as I would run into people on elevators, but it was really quiet at night. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear MomRocco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass along your comments to the team as they will enjoy hearing them. We are in the planning phase of a renovation and I am excited that you will return and see our new product next time your travels bring you to Savannah.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just got home from a father/daughter bicycle adventure from Key West to Virginia Beach. On a trip like that you often find yourself having to stay in places that can be classified as "not suitable for human habitation". Where you stay each night is a function of how far you can bike, the weather, where you can get a reservation etc... When we were biking through Savannah we noticed there was a Hyatt Regency and decided to treat ourselves to someplace that we hoped would be very special. The Hyatt Regency in Savannah did not disappoint - it was great! We had a terrific room overlooking the river and boardwalk. The location was perfect, right in the middle of everything you would want to experience in Savannah. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly the staff was great. One anecdote - we had struck up a conversation with manager in the restaurant, Josh Klein, and mentioned that we were biking up the Atlantic Coast. When we returned to our room that night there was a huge gift basket full of Clif Bars, Powerbars, Granola Bars, Gatorades and water. Awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Elliot4321,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. First, let me say congratulations for completing such a long bicycle adventure. That sounds amazing! I am delighted that you selected to stop and rest with us and even happier to hear that you enjoyed your time. I will certainly pass along your comments to Josh as he will be excited to hear them. We thank you for stopping in to visit with us and next time your travels bring you to Savannah we hope that you will visit with us again.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for one night. The room was very clean....needs some updating however it's not very noticeable. The staff was really friendly. The location could not be better, right in the middle of river walk...close to everything. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear alafaya,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our biggest compliment is a returning guest and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Savannah.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
eCommerce Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Address: 2 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.