We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, Amazing Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Savannah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Savannah to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Savannah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #50 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, Amazing Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Even though we were here only for one night, my two room mates and I had an amazing stay. THe Hyatt is centrally located almost directly in the middle of the river front and the staff is amazing. The room was very clean and the bedding was comfortable. There was an amazing view of the river front from our room and the a/c kept the room nice and cool while being very quiet.

Great pool and workout room as well that we saw, but did not utilize.

The staff was very friendly and were always smiling it seemed when I saw them.

From what I hear the hotel is very expensive normally, but we got a great deal on a 3rd party travel site. Always check around. Also, we opted to park a block away from the hotel and pay the parking deck $7 a night rather than the $22 the hotel wanted.

Room Tip: Upper floors and rooms on the sides have an amazing view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear mixercub,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am so happy that you and your friends enjoyed our location, found our staff amazing and the guest room comfortable. We do hope that you are able to return again soon!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    432
    242
    108
    55
See reviews for
230
453
34
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah, GA last week. It is one of the nicest hotels wwe have ever stayed in. Our room was on the fourth floor and we overlooked both River Street (really nice shopping area) and the Savannah River. The river was very active with all types of boats and ships. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff was great. Everyone we came into contact with was super-nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of both the river and River Street shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear oglethorpe,

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you found your room pleasant and the staff helpful. We hope that you are able to come back and visit with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rooms... The rooms are smaller and do not come with a refrigerator or microwave, unless you get a certain area the balcony you have looks into the hotel not the water.
Breakfast... I was charged 36 dollars for two people and the food is overrated
Location... The location is wonderful especially if you like being close or taking a trolley
Service... The staff here are very genuine people that seem to be pleased to help you in any way possible
Value... The breakfast is very expensive and there is no wifi without charge, the computers are also available except for the fact that it is 5.95 per 15 minutes, parking is $22 per night.

Overall, it is a nice and well staffed hotel but do be wary of how you spend your money or bring things to do in the room that don't require wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencySavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Travel_momma00,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. We appreciate guest feedback such as yours, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. We are positive if given the opportunity again we could achieve this goal. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a 3rd party site and got a good price on a last minute room. From the time we arrived, we were greeted with polite and helpful employees. Our room was very nice and clean. We had a nice view of the river and the bridge. The only complaint I would have would be thin towels in the bathroom, but they did their job. We really received over the top service as we returned from a hot run in downtown Savannah. The bellman, Robert, noticed us and offered us a bottle of water to refresh us. There was always a focus on a good customer experience from the staff in every area at the Hyatt- from the check in desk, server at the coffee shop and Zee in the Vu lounge and even in the gift shop. No matter where we were in the Hyatt, we could see the focus on their guests. The location was perfect. We didn't have a car during our 3 day trip and walked every where we wanted to go downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed our quick getaway to Savannah!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jill T,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and I will pass along your kind words to Robert and Zee. We look forward to exceeding our guests expectations and I am glad to hear that we were able to do that for you.

We do hope that you are able to come and visit with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary, and we traveled to Savannah to spend the day and night there. We chose Hyatt originally because of it's perfect location on the river front, and because of its reputation as a great hotel.
From the beginning, the service was fantastic.
The valet was very polite and expedient in getting our vehicle inspected for any damage before he took it to the garage.
But it was at the front counter where we truly started to receive service beyond what was expected. Mary checked us in, and from the start she was a pleasure to work with. She was able to upgrade us into a Suite over looking the river. That was a treat, because we could see the ships going right past our window. The room had a fridge and comfortable furniture.
And the breakfast room service was excellent!
Later that evening, she sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries up to our room to help us celebrate our anniversary.
I'd also like to mention the folks that work in the bar area. A gentleman by the name of Val was the bar tender there, and he could not have been more friendly. We got an afternoon meal, a cigar, and a few drinks that day, and he took great care of us.
We also spoke with antother bar tender Renee for a bit, and she was a real treat as well.
This was the first time my wife and I were able to get away together for an overnight trip in a long while, and this hotel made our time in Savannah spectacular. The service couldn't have been better, the room and view were great, and the location was perfect. And...I have to admit...I was enthralled by the 30 minute loop of "Local Savannah Attractions and History". It was cheesy and looked like it was filmed in 1995 - but it was actually pretty informative, and nothing less than hysterical. I hope they Never get rid of it! I want to be watching it again next time we come around...

We WILL be staying there again on our next trip to Savannah. The only thing I would suggest: I am very aware that most ammenities are to be paid for, especially at an establishment like the Hyatt. But there is NO reason that wifi should cost $10 to log onto. Fortunately we were able to find some other signals to hook up to, but in this day and age, wifi is used more commonly than the telephone, and this has been the first hotel I've stayed at in recent memory that has attempted to charge for wifi access. That should be a benefit that customers get when they decide to spend good money at your hotel, and especially a hotel of your caliber.

This Hyatt has the best location in the city, the rooms are very clean, the view is great, and the service is perfect. Be sure to stay here on your trip to Savannah!

Room Tip: Get a room on the river if possible - you'll appreciate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us and for selecting us to celebrate such a wonderful occasion. I am so happy to hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I will pass along your kind words to Mary, Val and Renee as they will be happy to hear they were a part of a special visit.

We hope that you are able to return again soon!

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived in Savannah and found our way to our room at the Hyatt Regency. I had booked our room on line at a great price through bidding at Priceline. The setting for this magnificent adventure was down town right in the middle of everything. It couldn't have been more strategically placed, historically, practically and it all worked together to give us the best short visit there possible. Our tour guide Max directed us to a sight where the founder of Savanna spent his first night on the banks of the river and there is a bench right in front of our room dedicated to the area. It was actually the birthplace of the city! If someone would have asked me why we chose Savannah prior to our visit there I would have been short of answers. But after touring the city, dining at the incredible Paula Deen's Lady and Sons, and roaming the riverwalk in this lovely city of charm and history, I would have plenty to comment on now. First of all, know that you must have reservations to dine in the three story Lady and Sons. Those that did not arrange that ahead of time appeared to be unable to get in. We enjoyed it and the well trained and personable staff. Regardless of what time you get there, you will be asked to wait in the store area where you are sure to be entertained with gadgets and geegaws chosen by the Lady herself, and of course when you purchase are allowed to leave with you. We did book a tour and it was with Oglethorpe and they were to have picked us up at the hotel. The driver, Mary, however, did not choose to wait a few minutes for us. I found this to be very unusual as we book extra activities on every trip and always are picked up at the hotel. Our tour guide Max, however, rated high on our list with explicit historical truths and facts about the Civil War, the developers of Savannah and other exciting details. I would rate Max a whopping ten! Couldn't have been more pleased with the information we received. He encouraged us concerning a couple places for lunch and we took his advice. Our hotel stay was perfect. We would love to visit them again! Valet parking which is all that was available was about 22.00 a night.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the river but were not assigned one. Many times when you bid on your Pricelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegency351, Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear conniear,

Thank you so much for the review of your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Savannah! I hope that you are able to return again and spend more time with us in the future.

Best Regards,
Sarah Menard
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Upon arrival we were not offered assistance with our luggage nor was anyone there to greet us. At checkin the staff was very friendly and did let us know there is a parking fee of $22. Street parking is the only other option so this is a must. The room was normal for most hotels however the bathroom was small. You can tell they have cosmetically updated the interior of the rooms and lobby.

My biggest complaint was the fact there was no mini fridge in the room to store drinks and snacks. The hotel is conveniently located to Riverstreet as they have direct access via elevator, however for this price I would stay elsewhere and have a block or two walk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencySavannah, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Savannah, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Savannah. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you had during your stay. I have notified the bell stand manager of the issue you had upon check in and we are committed to improving our guest's experience every step of the way including assistance with luggage. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to correct and improve our operation. Our goal is to always Exceed your Expectations and we apologize we fell short during your system. We are positive if given the opportunity again we could achieve this goal. We hope you enjoyed your time in our historic city.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Kim
Assistant Food and Beverage Outlets Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Savannah

Address: 2 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convention Hotel located on the Savannah River and in the heart of the Historic District. Three views are offered: Atrium, cityview and Riverview. Atrium hotel with lobby decorated with greenery and plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.