We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Forsyth Park Inn to your Saves list
Forsyth Park Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 West Hall Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SUMMER SPECIAL
Ranked #12 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this Inn April 7th for one night.
The purpose of this trip was just to relax and spend one day in Savannah then drive out to Tybee Island.
Whe booked the Cottage which is not attached to the main house
and the entry is through the courtyard.
I can't speak for the rooms in the house but the cottage was perfect. It had a bedroom, seperate living room and small kitchen. Bathroom was fine and water pressure was great.
The cottage also has a small porch. Since it's in the courtyard it overlooks the trees and fountain which are very pretty.
We wanted quiet and that's exactly what the cottage provided.
Couldn't here anyone at all.
The Inn is also in the perfect location right accross from Forsyth Park and you can pretty much walk to anywhere in the historic distict (if you enjoy long walks that is).
The breakfast is served in the main house in their living room. I don't believe we were given a choice but rather served a small fruit salad (was good) and scrambled eggs with asparagus over a flaky biscuit which was delicious.
Smoking is not allowed in the house or cottage but you can smoke in the courtyard which also has a few tables and chairs.
The Inn also offers wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and desserts in the evening- neither of which I can comment on since we weren't there for either.
The staff was very accomodating and provided a map of Savannah as well as the best routes, restaurants, bars and such.
Day of check-out we needed driving directions to our next B&B on Tybee Island and the lady spent a good deal of time checking mapquest, printing it out and giving us a quickler alternate route.
All in all i'd recommend this Inn as well as the Cottage and if coming back to Savannah would stay here again.

  • Liked — Cottage
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    68
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
228
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We just returned home from Savannah a day early because we
were so uncomfortable at the Forsyth Park Inn. We stayed in Room #7 one of the two highest priced rooms. The room faced the park which we thought would be lovely however it was just noisey. The traffic whizzes by day and night, the windows have cracks and don't close tightly and the window coverings are only blinds and sheer curtains which do nothing to block noise or street light. However the most distressing issue with this room is the bathroom which is shabby and unsafe. The shower is located in a small and narrow claw foot tub which is 22" off the floor. There are no grab bars to assist in getting in. As soon as you step into the tub it begins to wobble and perhaps that is why there is a washcloth stuffed under a leg! The tub does not drain and the shower liner is too long so you are in ankle deep water with fabric swirling underfoot in an unsteady tub.
The marble in the bathroom is cracked and dirty, there are paint spashes on all the surfaces and a window transom is covered in peeling black paint. All of the metal in the room is rusty. To say the least it is a disaster and should not be rented out at any price! We immediately told the receptionist our concerns about the shower when we checked in but she dismissed us by saying no other rooms were available and there is a no refund policy for early departure. We tried to stick it out but in the end forfited $300.00 just to get out of there.

  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We had a perfect stay at The Forsyth Inn this January. The staff is wonderful. I was concerned about the resident cat, Misty, because of my cat allergies but the place is so clean that the cat dander never materialized. The staff made sure the cat was secured in another part of the house when I was in the common areas.
The breakfast was delicious and unique each morning. The evening wine and snacks were just as good. It was nice to visit with other guests in the morning and evening.
The rooms were nice, just like staying at " your good friends" home in their guest room but with daily maid service and turn down. You can easily walk to all parts of the historic district and downtown. If you are out too late, a cab will cost you no more that $5. We didn't use our rental car at all, just to go to/from the airport (20 minutes away).
We found a cool new Jazz Club downtown called Kokopelli's Jazz Club. They import great jazz acts and have 3 night time seatings. Can't say much about the food in Savannah as it is just OK.
If and when we ever go back to Savannah, we will stay at Forsyth Park Inn. Highly recommended for the folks who like to stay in B & B's.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

We highly recommend the Forsyth Park Inn. Everything about the inn was perfect. Great rooms, service, food, and location. A must stay. Hope to see you all again soon.
Scot and Andrea

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

We decided to have our wedding in the courtyard and arrived a few days before. Everyone was so helpful no matter if someone requested more tea or directions to dinner. I really feel like everyone did all they could to make our stay and wedding wonderful. The breakfasts in the morning were outstanding...especially the scrambled eggs. The coffee and tea in the afternoon as well as the wine and hors d'oeuvres were awesome too. The desserts in the evening were a great way for all of us to finish our evening. The rooms were impeccable and yet still so comfortable. I don't believe I've slept better on a trip. Another review mentioned not liking the basement rooms, but I didn't notice any smell or dampness in either of the rooms. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect location for my wedding ceremony than the courtyard.

All of my wedding guests are still talking about their stay at the inn. I know I am not alone when I say that when any of us go back to Savannah, we'll be staying at the Forsyth.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

Enjoyed the bed and breakfast. Wonderful verandah. Room was spacious and well maintained. Food was very good. Would definately stay again. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — veranday overlooking park
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to find parking which sometimes can be challenging
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Forsyth Park Inn is a warm and relaxing B & B which makes you feel like you are at home. After entering the main entrance and catching your breath from looking at the beautiful stairwell, you will be greeted by a friendly and knowledgable staff. The evening appetizers and the evening desserts top off a relaxing day of exploring Savannah. Then, the next day started with a delicious breakfast and the entire day was enjoyable thanks to the help of the staff of the Inn by helping us find gems of things to do in Savannah. The home is architecturally pleasing to the eye and the courtyard garden smells terrific with all of the lush greenery. I will return to this location, for the Forsyth Inn stole my heart.

  • Liked — The clean and beautiful location
  • Disliked — I loved everything!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 West Hall Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsyth Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.