We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not return.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Forsyth Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Forsyth Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forsyth Park Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 West Hall Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We will not return.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

We will not return to this inn. Our reasons: Our room was in the basement!! Damp, smelly, dark. The sink did not drain. The shower handle fell off. The toilet seat was loose. The floor mats were damp. When the reservations were made, we specifically asked it this room was away from the street and kitchen; we were told it was, when indeed the very busy road was right outside our window (broken, by the way), and the kitchen was down the hall. The cat on the premises kept scratching at our door. The breakfast was nothing special. Only one table inside, more outside. The wine and appetizers were nice, except for the flies. We were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    58
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
184
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn for two evenings recently. The Inn is a lovely old mansion overlooking Forsyth Park, a bit of a walk to the river and City Market but the park makes up for the long walk. The Inn could be wonderful but for a few problems they could overcome without too much effort. First of all, the positives include Anna, their new front desk manager who is a professional, knowledgeable of the city and eager to accommodate guests needs. Too bad the rest of the staff don't follow her example. The staff are young and seem more interested in going through the motions than really providing service. They were distant and preoccupied most of our stay. The Innkeeper?? Who knows- we never met her although we were told, when we inquired, that she was there.
Breakfast was very good but the seating is crowded and we ended up eating on the couch with a plate in our lap because the tables were not being bussed in a timely manner. If they would start breafast at 8:00 or serve past 10:00 they could seat everybody in a more enjoyable fashion.
Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable but the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been (soap scum and a dirty shower curtain) and the shower rod was bent and sagging. The towel bar was also loose. Maintenance?? Housekeeping?? Be sure and travel with your own iron as this is the only B&B we have ever stayed in that does not provide one in your room. I went sightseeing in wrinkled clothes the first morning because housekeeping never brought me an iron after two requests. I bought a travel iron that day so I did not have to inconvenience staff again.
All and all, we would not stay here again as there are wonderful alternatives all over the Historic District. Attention to detail and service is why we select inns over hotels. The Forsyth Park needs to get it's act together if it is going to compete.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We stayed at the Forsyth Park Inn during the weekend of the Savannah College of Art & Design's (SCAD) Sidewalk Arts Festival. We had a group of four couples.

The Forsyth Park Inn is located right across the street from the park. There is a large porch where you can sit and watch the passersby while sipping a complimentary afternoon glass of wine. You can eat breakfast out on the porch as well (weather permitting). Breakfasts were fine and served by the staff.

There are two friendly cats on the premises. One (Sadie) immediately followed us to our room and jumped up on the bed.

The Inn is beautiful and in great shape. There are very high ceilings and nice furnishings in the common rooms. There is also a garden with a beautiful fountain. We had a huge room (#7) and they even provided comfy robes. The room was quiet at night with the a/c running. The sink area could have been a bit larger considering the size of the room but perhaps they are trying to keep that old-fashioned look.

My criticisms of such a nice place are few, but may be important to some:
- There is no formal dining room. Breakfast is served in the living room on small tables and on the porch. Due to the limited seating, you have to choose one of two times for breakfast. Given the size of the house, they could have had a dining room where everyone could eat at once and interact.
- The staff is much less involved with the guests than at most B&Bs. The staff were young, possibly drawn from SCAD students. While friendly and helpful when asked, they had almost no casual interaction with the guests beyond check-in and check-out. We never saw or met the proprietors.
- While our room facing the side street was pretty quiet, our friends had a room in the front of the house. They said that the street was noisy at night and there was a group of kids outside shouting obsenities late at night.

All in all, if you get the right room and aren't looking to interact a lot with the staff or your fellow guests, this is an attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

My new husband and I honeymooned at the Forsyth Park Inn and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this lovely inn. The staff was gracious to the point of making a last minute room adjustment, making reservations for us and giving directions when we needed them. The room was lovely with a view of the charming courtyard. On our last night there, we were treated with turn down service and robes ! The breakfasts were always a gourmet's delight served on the veranda. The wine & hors d'eouvres hour was always yummy and the desserts before bedtime were an unexpected treat. All in all our experience was one like no other. Lori and her staff have our vote! We will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for several days; the location was great, the park arcoss the street provided great people watching from the porch, and the wine hour was lovely. However the service was poor, very unacommadating. I asked for an iron one morning and was eventually given one with a side of attitude. Also, when we were scheduled to leave, I asked if we could keep our bags there for a couple hours prior to our flight. They actually said NO!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Ok
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

This Inn is the perfect location in a peaceful setting, across from Forsyth Park, but within walking distance of everything. The owner and the staff were helpful and gracious in every way. The accomodations were very nice (we enjoyed a room with a view and working fireplace), and the breakfasts were wonderful. We especially enjoyed the afternoon cocktail hour with wine and hors d'oeuvres (the first evening it was warm enough to sit on the wonderful porch). It was a great time to relax after a long day and visit with other guests prior to going to dinner (By the way, The Olde Pink House is highly recommended.) Everything was first class all the way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and when we ever return to Savannah, we will definitely stay at the Forsyth Park Inn again.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

Our recent stay was so lovely. Great location, wonderful old Inn with the best location of all, overlooking Forsyth Park. The food was over the top and overall just a very relaxing weekend.

Owner, Lori is so dear and truly loves what she does.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forsyth Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Park Inn

Address: 102 West Hall Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forsyth Park Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Forsyth Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsyth Park Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forsyth Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.