We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible thanksgiving meal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 17 Hundred 90 Inn to your Saves list
17 Hundred 90 Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   307 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“horrible thanksgiving meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

we travelled to Savannah for Thanksgiving long weekend. read so many great reviews about this place so I reserved for dinner. it was bland, cold, uninteresting items, the usual turkey and sides of different vegetables were not even tasty, and the desserts were oversugary and cheap. for $35 per person it should have been at least good if not outstanding and gourmet with interesting dishes or at least good home cookin taste. was hoping to see a ghost to make up for it. there are some really sweet staff who work there though. one in particular he was just the sweetest thing and went out of his way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    92
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
164
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

the hotel is old but the rooms are fine. located in the historic area of Savannah, in fact some of the important sites are across the stret and a couple of blocks away.. the restaurant is very good with some nice dishes. we would definitely stay there again both to sleep and dine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I picked this Inn because it was one of the cheapest in the Historic District. We paid $100+ tax for one nights stay. Included in that was a voucher for 2 free drinks at the bar (which included alcoholic drinks too) and a free Continental breakfast (this is NOT a bed and breakfast, it's an INN).
We arrived at about 11:30 am because we were traveling home from Jax Fl. We ate lunch at the Inn, we had a great server and she was more than willing to make me feel like I wasn't putting anyone out by telling her I was dairy free. We had the club sandwich (I think) for lunch, the fries were good but the onion rings were EXCELLENT according to my hubby. They also give you a honey butter biscuit which she went to put on my plate and caught herself and took it away (dairy) but it looked really good. Husband liked his.
We checked into our room at Noon and they upgraded us to a King, room 107. We put our stuff in our room. Yes the rugs might be outdated, but they still have life in them. They have remodeled the bathrooms. The toilet ummm....trying to be delicate here, in our particular room when we went to flush it it didn't flush, it would start but not exchange water. My husband got the trash can and filled it with water and used that to flush it. I had to do the same thing although for me it didn't work as well (i was impatient and didn't get enough water). I was really rather peeved, but we didn't say anything right then. We went out for the day and walked walked walked. We got back to the Inn and went to the bar trying to figure out where to eat. The problem with visiting on Mondays is stuff isn't always open. We ended up eating at the Inn again. Dinner was really good and again our server was extremely helpful and understood what Dairy free means and told me what I couldn't get. The chef really wants to please (they have a gluten free meal too) and I ended up getting shrimp and veggies.
We went to our room (making sure to go to the bathroom downstairs first) for the evening. Later I went to use our bathroom and I finally figured out you have to hold the handle on the toilet for about 30 seconds until it is completely done flushing.
Breakfast was OK, they have a pretty good section of cold items and a microwave and toaster to warm stuff up. Again, it isn't a bed and breakfast, it's and Inn.

Room Tip: Room 107, hold the handle down on the toilet until it completely flushes otherwise it doesn't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

When I read the reviews for this hotel, they were kind of all over the place. People either praised it highly or complained about acessibility, condition, and toilet paper. I've come to the conclusion that the complainers should just stay at Holiday Inns for the rest of their lives because they can't handle character. The Inn was extremely clean, comfortable, and the staff were extraordinary. The furnishings were an eclectic mix of antiques and reproductions. The bathroom was very clean although basic but when you consider it was built before bathrooms really existed, that is pretty great. Also, its kind of ridiculous that some people expect an elevator in a 200+ year old building. If you can't or just wont climb a couple of flights of stairs this place is not for you. That being said, if you have an adventurous heart this place is magic. Very well done.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have sky lights and not a window. If that is something that bothers you, be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I cannot say I was thrilled with my stay here. The hotel is very convenient in its location. within walking distance to all of the historic area. It is a historic inn . I had a hard time sleeping because I could hear every body who passed by outside through the corridor and in the room above me. I guess this is expected in old buildings. I had a hard time also lowering the temp in the room to my liking because it would not go lower than a certain level. My friend in an adjacent room commented that the bathroom was not cleaned well. The breakfast was very average to the mediocre side. The staff were great though. Very helpful especially in directing us where to go and what to do in Savannah

Room Tip: Choose upper floors and away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

For starters the location is excellent especially if you are interested in Savannah's restored houses and unique architecture. Inn is right across the street from the Owens-Thomas house and the Davenport Museum. The main historic squares are an easy walk away and River Street is a 15 minute hike. The inn itself is a historic building originally constructed with Savannah grey brick. The downstairs houses a lovely restaurant and comfy bar area. We stayed in room 303 which is down the street from the main building. This building houses rooms 301, 302 and 303 and each room has its own floor. I f you don't mind going up 2 flights of stairs I would definitely recommend room 303. This room has its own large sitting room and a great big bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and steam shower. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Room comes with a complementary continental breakfast which was basic but had several options bread, yogurt and cereal. Looking forward to going back to Savannah and the 17 Hundred 90 Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle,Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived much later than we expected and being unfamiliar with the city, I was perplexed about the parking. I stayed across the street while my wife checked us in. The innkeeper came out and guided me to a parking spot and then escorted us into the inn. An extremely friendly assistant helped us with our luggage and helped us find our room. The building and room had all the qualities you would expect from 1790...uneven floors curving floor plan...CHARACTER.
The room had a marvelous bed that required a step stool for my wife.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful.
I will try to review our meal under restaurants

Room Tip: 204 reputedly has a friendly ghost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Address: 307 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah
1700 90 Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 Hundred 90 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.