We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners who care about service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 17 Hundred 90 Inn to your Saves list
17 Hundred 90 Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   307 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Owners who care about service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had tried this inn the most recent stay in Savannah. It was an excellent experience. They have new owners who have , and are continuing to make great improvements in the property. The service was very personal and the food in the restaurant was about the best we have had in the city.
We heard it was haunted and stayed in one of the rooms that has been frequented by a friendly spirit. We did not see any ghosts, although, several times, some of our items placed about the room seemed to be in a different location in the morning than where we left then that previous night.
The location is convenient to just about anything significant in the historic district or if you want to quickly go to Tybee without any confusion or hassle.
The only challenge is the limited parking. When the restaurant is full on a busy night you may have to look a little more for an on-street spot.
Overall, an excellent and historic stay and worth the money. We will be back!

Room Tip: Asl for the rooms with their own provate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    92
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
164
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I stopped over in Savannah at the 17 Hundred 90 b/c we were intrigued by its history and charm, as well as the stories of the ghost Anna. The Inn was absolutely fantastic- the Innkeeper was as polite and courteous as she could be and the staff was friendly and warm. Our room was better than advertised- we stayed in Room 204, and it was HUGE. Beautifully decorated with a large, comfortable bed, the room was perfect for a romantic evening or any other purpose. The Inn is also close enough so that the river and all it's attractions and restaurants are a short walk away. Although we didn't have any encounters with Anna, we enjoyed every second of our stay at the 17 Hundred 90 and we have already discussed coming back for a longer stay. You will not be disappointed with this place- it's delightful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had seen some of the negative comments about the 17 Hundred 90, but understood that it's under new management/ownership, and it did look to be in a nice location, so we took a chance. We stayed at the 17 Hundred 90 in room 204 over Easter weekend.

We arrived early (about 11 AM) and asked about our room, it wasn't ready yet, as we suspected, since we were so early, but they offered to put our bags behind the counter and take them to our room for us when the room was clean (in an hour or so). We appreciated the offer but declined and decided to walk down to the river for some lunch (a peaceful stroll past about 3 blocks of stately old homes).

Upon returning about two hours later, our room was ready and we brought our stuff in. It's important to remember, before reserving or planning to stay in one of these old B & B's, is that they generally don't have elevators, so travel light. Also, there could be big problems for people who have difficulties navigating stairs.

We were pleased to find that many of the complaints waged by people who've stayed at the 17 Hundred 90 had been rectified. The rooms DO have a coffeemaker, AM/FM radio/CD player, an alarm clock, a refrigerator, cable TV, and even wireless Internet service. These items all worked and the room was clean and tidy.

The only minor gripes I can think of is that the toilet in our room seemed to have a mind of its own. It seemed to keep getting clogged for no apparent reason and I didn't find the mattress to be exactly to my liking, although I slept well and was amazed at how quiet the area is after about 9:30 or 10 PM.

In my opinion, the new staff and management are friendly and trying very hard to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. While I know it may be hard not to let the horrible reviews that past guests have written (mostly a couple of years ago) color the opinion of someone looking for a place to stay, I think the efforts of the new management make the 17 Hundred 90 a good choice for lodging in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

We took a chance staying here and were pleasantly surprised. I booked last minute and every place else still available was $100 more per night. The location was perfect walking distance to everything. The room was large, nice antique decor and clean. We stayed in room 302. It had a HUGE bathtub and steam shower. Brekfast was good but limited options. I would recomend staying here as long as you're not looking for the pleasant "innkeeper experience". It's more or less managed like a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We planned on being in Savannah on the nights of the 18th and 19th and March, not knowing what a big deal St. Patrick's day was in the city. As we started looking for a room in the historic district, we were disappointed in the availability for the weekend and taken aback by the prices.

I took a gamble on the 17 Hunderd 90 Inn, given the mixed Tripadvisor ratings, but at $139/night for the weekend vs. $225 or more for most other hotels and B&Bs in the historic district, it seemed like a good gamble.

Pluses:
Location - In the historic district and close to the river. Inn has free parking available. Hard to beat.
Price - Compared to other B&Bs in the historic district, this was only about half the cost.
Lounge and Restuarant - The in-inn lounge was comfortable and friendly. The restuarant was good for the one meal we ate there.
Room - Large, comfortable room with good bed and bath.

Minuses:
Breakfast - Boxed ceral, muffins, coffee and juice. Slim Pickings. On the second day, there were English muffins but no toaster - only a microwave. Pathetic. However, for the $100+ per night savings over other B&Bs, you can almost buy breakfast, lunch and dinner and still come out ahead.
Room - The room (202) only had a skylight - no window. Also, the air conditioner was noisy and temperature ranged from chilly to too warm during the night.

Overall, the experince was good. With even a moderate breakfast offering, this would be a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed and dined at the Inn for New Year's Eve. We just wanted something to walk back to after the fireworks instead of having to drive home but sadly we wondered if we should have.

Most hotels were booked when I was checking for last minute availability - the Inn had not jacked up their prices for the day as the standard hotels in the area were $40+ more for the same night. We like the part of downtown the Inn is at - a couple of bnbs, and businesses, but mostly residential and not a big hotel where you were fairly certain to deal with revelers. I ran by to check out the room before I booked it - it looked very nice at first glance (maybe room 205? onthe top floor) - functional gas or electric fireplace, standard traditional room and bath aside from that. The Inn has 3 floor - first floor incl. Pub & Restaurant, 2 & 3 floors with rooms, no common area to lounge in. As far as I know, there isn't an Innkeeper that lives at the property. Normally they serve a continental breakfast but there was a wedding on New Year's Day so they said we might expect a buffet. I left with high hopes of a nice stay!

On check in (at the restaurant front desk) - we were not very surprised that things were a little crazy on New Year's Eve - we were told that they'd try to fit us in for dinner since we hadn't made reservations. We were shown to a different room than the one we booked - 105 - this evening's hostess said the fireplace in that room hadn't worked in a while - the carpet needed replacing and the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling... not sure if the room I was shown was much nicer or if I just was wow-ed by the fireplace and didn't notice the other details.... either way, we told ourselves, it was still a good rate and we'd be out most of the evening. They didn't know what was going on for breakfast yet.

We were told to sit at the bar and order drinks and appetizers and they'd fit us in for dinner. The drinks and appetizers (pulled pork sliders & crab stew) were good - we would stop into the pub again. I wish they'd have turned us down for dinner - I ordered the pecan encrusted grouper with veg and risotto on the side - I ate the veg... but the risotto was awful and luke warm, and I couldn't finish the fish as it smelled funny and tasted funny at one end and I was scared to get sick. We finished the meal off with a blood orange cream brule - normal tasting brule wasn't bad but we missed the orange flavoring... and this may be my misunderstanding but I didn't think the creme was supposed to be runny?? We were saddened that this was the new management since we'd heard so many times about new management making the place better... and we were finally risking it.

We went back to our room to watch a little tv after dinner and it didn't work... with the craziness down in the restaurant, we decided not to ask for help fixing it. Instead we listened to the tv in the room above us - we swore that hard of hearing elephants must have been in that room with the tv, the loud voices, and the marching - the floors were REALLY squeeky... they had to have noticed every time they stepped on a loud beam as we had to raise our voices.. we went out for the evening and hoped we'd be getting back after the elephants had gone to bed - they hadn't... must have been the groom in the wedding the next day with all the pacing for hours... he HAD to have heard the noise the floor was making.... we debated driving home.... The next morning we didn't wait for our alarm to go off as the floors woke us. We packed up and ran down for a surprise breakfast to find the staff running around in wedding preparations. I eventually found someone to ask where the breakfast was and was told it'd been moved to the bar - there were yogurts, crescents, cereal, melon, and jam on two pub tables - I found someone to ask for the drinks to be refilled and for butter - orange juice and milk were refilled and later coffee came around.

On check out i suggested that the next time the carpets are pulled up, that the floors need to be better screwed on the remove squeeks and I was reminded it was a 200 year old building... but I insisted something could be done as we have at our own home- and was told the carpet was the works to be replaced (not sure if that was for our room or the one above ours) - between that and having been shown a different room with a functioning fireplace which the hostess said may have been her fault when she showed it to me, she kindly offered to discount the night's stay.

If you're daring or are on a budget and are insistent on trying the 1790 Inn out - I'd suggest a room on the top floor, being sure it's not while they have a wedding going on, and only have drinks and appetizers... we don't know if we can go back for anything but that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the 1790 in October 2010 after the new owners took over and then again the weekend of the 2010 Savannah Christmas Tour of Homes and Inns. The Inn is located in an ideal spot for walking to the River front and other historical spots. The new owners are very friendly, are working to improve the Inn, and want to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant food is good, the piano music on the weekend is great, and the pub has a very nice atmosphere with two fireplaces and couches for relaxing while you enjoy your spirits and conversation. If you time it right in the afternoon, you will have an opportunity to chat with the locals that frequent the pub. Do not worry about the subject, the range is wide. Now before you sit at the bar be sure to ask the bar tender if you are in some one's special seat, it's a lot like "Cheers". Oh, one extra point to remember. If you are a female, do not go into the kitchen. There is a female ghost that once cooked there and she does not like other women in her kitchen. Just ask the chef about flying pans. Our stays at 1790 have been enjoyable, we have several more planned, and we have recommended it to all that we know.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 17 Hundred 90 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Hundred 90 Inn

Address: 307 East President Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 17 Hundred 90 Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 17 Hundred 90 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hundred 90 Hotel Savannah
1700 90 Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 Hundred 90 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.