We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Save Saved
You added Hamilton-Turner Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 112 hotels in Savannah
south FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I drove to Savannah for a few days to celebrate our anniversary early, since our child was away at camp.

Once again, Trip Advisor and BandB.com did not steer us wrong. The inn's website helped us decide on a room. We wanted a king bed and the only room available when we booked was the Button Gwinnett Suite. Although it was on the 4th floor, staff carried our luggage, so that wasn't an issue at all. Comfortable and spacious room!

Breakfast was lovely each morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    60
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
70
391
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the best Inn in Savannah by my standards ! Delightful rooms. Quiet. Fabulous parlor. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The guests all enjoyed each others' company in the parlor for evening refreshments. The only SMALL criticism is that if the weather is inclement, the indoor breakfast area is a little too tight for all the guests. This is a small thing because the guests were considerate of each other and left if they saw people waiting.
This is the place I will stay in Savannah from now on !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to historic Savannah. Sincerely, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we do hope the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argillite, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thank you Hamilton Turner Inn for an amazing 10th anniversary weekend. Elegant, comfortable, and welcoming. Definitely an "if only these walls could talk" kind of place. Knowing that the comforts of this stately mansion were waiting on us after exploring Savannah was amazing. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience.

We appreciate your gracious comments and thank you for spending such a special occasion at our inn.

Happy Anniversary to you once again!

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn was amazing! Walking distance to most all of Savannah's greatest attractions, courteous and kind staff took care of our every desire. The breakfast each morning was delicious along with the afternoon and evening snacks served at 2:30pm, 5:30pm and 8pm. We have already highly recommended the Hamilton-Turner Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to a return visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our recent Hamilton-Turner Inn experience. The staff were extremely helpful and made you feel at home, our room was beautiful, the breakfast was top notch and the location was great! Well done! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind words and review. It is our wish to provide you with the best service possible so that you can have the best experience possible. We will be sure to share your sentiments with our team members.

Again, thank you for sharing your sentiments with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

DH and I decided on a trip south, which began with Savannah. I looked forward to staying at the Hamilton- Turner after seeing it listed in the Distinctive Inn registry, and reading the reviews on tripadvisor. Upon arrival, we were happy about the location in the midst of the historical district and I was over the moon about the buildings façade. It was more beautiful than the pictures can capture. When entering the inn, we were pleasantly greeted, shown about the inn, and taken to our room. We chose the Nathaniel Green suite. It was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The inn offers Gilcrest and Soames bath products, which were a nice touch. After nine hours on the road, we snuggled in for a much needed nap. Savannah is beautiful, historical, and delicious. Everything is walkable, or inexpensively accessed by taxi. The inn recommended Stay Adams for a taxi service, and I HIGHLY recommend him. He was truly a friend by the end of our trip. Breakfast the next morning was lovely in the dining area, with fresh, ripe fruit, granola, yogurt, and whatever the chef prepares for a hot meal. All three of our breakfasts were delicious and well balanced. The staff was more than helpful and accommodating. The inn has been recently acquired by new owners and innkeeper. We had the pleasure of meeting them, and fully expect the kind people to continue to keep the Hamilton Turner in it's present glory. Much recommended, and a return trip is a must.

Room Tip: Any, I am sure will be to most people's liking. We chose our room based on the décor, and king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to historic Savannah. Sincerely, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we do hope the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this inn for a weekend romantic getaway. We had looked at many bed and breakfasts in Savannah online and decided to spend a bit more for the Hamilton Turner. Our room was the Juliet Gordon Lowe room. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The claw foot tub in the bathroom was beautiful, but a word of warning it can be a bit tricky to manage the shower curtain enclosure and tub was very slippery.
The inn is packed with history and is well maintained. We really loved the convenience of the inn to the historic district and river street. The parking is limited, but we did find street parking fairly easily even though it was over the 4th of July weekend.
The breakfasts were well presented and very tasty. We loved the baked pastry each morning, especially the blueberry cake! The wine in the afternoon was an added treat as well.
One additional piece of advice is that if you prefer a later breakfast time make sure to reserve it ahead if time, even before your arrival. The breakfast slots are on the half hour and we were surprised to learn that we would have to get up early on our Saturday morning to eat as the later slots were filled already upon our check-in.
Overall, we had a really nice time at this inn and would definitely consider returning for a future stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, whirlpool spa baths and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, tea and sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton-Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.