We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! But not excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton-Turner Inn to your Saves list
Hamilton-Turner Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel! But not excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed in Savannah for one day. Just one. So we wanted to see as much as possible with the best tour guides. The city is absolutely gorgeous as is the hotel. The hotel is a stunning time machine to the 19th century. However I did take out a star because the tour guides they recommended were both not optimum. Which was very sad for us but the trolley tour which went around the city, made up for that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I regret to hear that your tours were not to your satisfaction. The tours that we recommend are based upon our staff's experiences as well as our guest's experiences. Therefore, if a tour is recommended, it is because our guests have enjoyed the tour and recommend it.

As mentioned, I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and regret that the tours placed a damper on your vacation.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson

General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    74
    23
    14
    20
See reviews for
83
484
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I planned a trip to Savannah for a relaxing weekend, we were not disappointed. We stayed on River Street for a night and then off to the Hamilton-Turner Inn for the remainder of our stay. What can I say other than, great location, beautiful inn, impeccable service and best breakfast in Savannah!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First, let me say that the Hamilton Turner is every bit as beautiful and elegant as any of the homes you will pay to visit and tour in Savannah. The staff is uniformly delightful and and helpful, and very much enhance the genteel atmosphere of the house. It is located in a lovely tree-lined area in the historic district and is easy walking distance to pretty much anyplace you will want to go. We found a parking place on the street next to the house and never it moved the car again until we left. That said, there were a few things that were rather disconcerting.

My husband and I stayed in the Thomas Charlton Room on the first floor. It is a large room with perhaps 15 foot ceilings which act to make it appear even larger. The room and ensuite bathroom are elegantly decorated in Victorian or turn of the century style. The big king sized bed was quite comfortable. However, when I tried to take a shower our first night there, the shower mechanism appeared to be broken and I had to call in the desk attendant (unlike most B & B's, the Hamilton Turner has someone available until quite late). I found out that the mechanism was, in fact, not working properly although with great effort it could be made to operate. Once I got it going, the water pressure was little more than a trickle and I was led to understand this also was a known problem but for some reason it was not being repaired. Just getting the soap out of my hair was an undertaking.

Like the 1801 in Sonoma, where we stayed a couple of years ago, the Hamilton Turner requires you to reserve your breakfast time the day before. Unlike the 1801, where they had more than one option and asked if you needed anything special, this place has a set menu for that day and mostly it's some kind of egg dish. I can't eat eggs and they had nothing else hot to offer me. I ended up having granola and fruit (they have this set up on a sideboard) both days we ate there. My husband doesn't eat bread and the first day they had a bananas Foster French toast dish. When he asked if they could make him an omelet, he was told they couldn't. They finally agreed to make him scrambled eggs. On the positive side, one day they had scones on the sideboard. They were definitely the best scones I had every tried, but only have them if they're fresh. When I had nothing but granola available the next day, they brought me a reheated scone and it was nuked and leaden.

I would certainly recommend the Hamilton-Turner for all its good points. I would not recommend the Thomas Charlton room until the plumbing is repaired. And, just know in advance that, if you have dietary issues, you may run into problems.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if the shower is working properly and whether they can handle any dietary restriction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the room was lovely.

We arrived prior to check in time and asked if we might leave our luggage while we toured the city, planning to return after the time to check in. We were told by the innkeeper that there was not space to leave our bags and she instructed us to leave them in our car. Parking facilities are not available at the hotel and we were told, if one is lucky, one could find parking on the street. I asked if she had a map of the area, which she provided. Although she was not overtly rude, our first impression after this reception was instead of feeling welcome, we felt like a annoyance or inconvenience to her. We realized we arrived early but we wanted no more than to store our bags, as we had been told prior to our arrival would be no problem.

The room was exceptional and was appropriately priced. The furnishings were beautiful and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was a buffet including a bowl of cut fruit including fresh grapes and fresh cantaloupe, and other canned fruit. There was a bowl of granola, milk, yogurt and a bundt cake. There was one hot entree, a biscuit with sausage gravy and scrambled egg. The breakfast was adequate, but in my opinion did not compare to the usual breakfast fare served at a similarly priced bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the finest B & B of the dozen or so that we have stayed in over the years. It is exquisitely restored and decorated down to the smallest detail. You feel like you're staying in someone's home, not a hotel. Our room had every amenity you could ask for including a CD player with music softly playing when we arrived. The bathroom had a charming claw foot tub and shower combo. The only negative for us was the iron board was a table top model and the only spot to set it up was on the shelf in the chifforobe. We stayed in the Johnny Mercer room which is located on the main floor across from the reception desk. Our mistake when booking online was assuming that second floor meant second story of the house. There are rooms below the main floor and those are considered first floor. The staff was so helpful and friendly, they made our stay all the more pleasant. We enjoyed the relaxing afternoon wine and cheese reception in the front parlor which also affords the opportunity to chat with other guests. The breakfast table is elegantly set and service impeccable. There is a buffet with fresh fruit, muesli, yogurt, and rolls. The single entree changes daily and is served at your table. Breakfast was delicious! We had eggs one day and stuffed french toast the next. There is no on site parking but the adjacent street has free parking which worked out well for us. The Hamilton Turner is in a great location for exploring Savannah on foot or catching the trolley nearby. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the main floor adjacent to the reception desk. They are listed on the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We wanted to take my sister and brother-in-law to Savannah to see for themselves how lovely it is and we chose to stay at the Hamilton Turner Inn - we could not have picked a better place to stay ! You really get to fabulous feel the charm of the City by staying here.
The location, amenities and attention to details are all first class. The facilities in the lounge each day brought the guests together and created a really nice atmosphere and the staff were all extremely helpful.
We had a fabulous time and would recommend this Inn to any adults wanting to stay somewhere that feels a bit special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I chose the Hamilton-Turner Inn for our anniversary stay in Savannah. We were so pleased that we did! The owners and staff made us feel like loyalty. We loved our perfectly adorned room, along with delightful breakfasts. Savannah was so beautiful, but nothing was quite as fantastic as our stay at the bed and breakfast. Each time we returned, it felt as though we were returning home. Thanks so much, Jim and Gay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nathaniel Green suite. It was extremely comfortable and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#25 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, whirlpool spa baths and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, tea and sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton-Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.