We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Save Saved
You added Hamilton-Turner Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton-Turner Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 112 hotels in Savannah
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay and recommend it highly. Staff exceptionally service-oriented, public roomsand bedroom charming, location perfect. Only negatives were a very difficult- to- use shower handle that we had problems with and hearing people walk/ talk on the first floor while I was trying to take a nap after taking a very early morning flight to Savannah.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor noisy during day; had trouble napping after an early flight. Also had a weird s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your visit. We so appreciate you informing us of the issue as we work to rectify the issue for our future guests.

Thank you again for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    59
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
69
376
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Inn while celebrating our first wedding anniversary. The Inn is very beautiful and grand. My husband and I are not fervent B&B or Inn stayers because we tend to like a little more privacy. So, we stayed in the carriage house which we really liked b/c it has it's own entrance and felt more private. The staff was fantastic! Friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was not the best I have ever had, but it was good and the dinning room was beautiful. It was nice to start the day looking out onto beautiful Lafayette square, sipping coffee out of the fine china and listening to the Inn owner tell stories about the home. Ghost tours are a big deal in Savannah and evidently the Inn is supposed to be haunted. So, our favorite thing was coming back after our night out and passing all the ghost tours that were stopped in front of the Inn and even though we had a private gate at the side we could have used to get to our room, we would go through the big, grand front doors just to hear their reactions. I head someone say "No, don't go in there!" We thought it was great and it made us laugh. Truly a wonderful Inn and we would love to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Conrad Aiken room and it was fine, but the bathroom is super tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn to spend your Anniversary trip. We are honored that you would choose our Inn to spend such a wonderful occasion.

I do hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is by far one of the very best hotels/inns in which we have ever stayed. From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel like very valued clients. The staff are all outstanding and it was a pleasure to see how much care the proprietors, Gay and Jim, took to ensure our stay was perfect. The rooms are amazing; we stayed in the Button Gwinnett Suite and could not have been happier with its spaciousness, comfort and cleanliness. Breakfasts are outstanding and the afternoon lemonade/iced tea with cookies, the pre-dinner selection of wines and hors d'oeuvres and the post dinner glass of port were a particularly welcome touch as, indeed, were the home-made cookies on our pillow when we returned from dinner. The evening turn-down service was a special touch. We cannot recommend this inn more highly. Thank you, Gay and Jim; our stay with you was perfect in every possible way.

Room Tip: We loved the Button Gwinnett Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently spent several nights in Savannah and originally chose the Ballastone Inn but due to a change in our plans and availability problems we had to spend a couple of nights at alternative Inns one of which was The Hamilton Turner. This Inn is supposed to be the "Premier" Inn of Savannah and without a doubt it is a very handsome building with what appears to be extremely well matched antique furniture, soft furnishings and objet d'art.....there is a reason for this we believe......none of them are actually antiques.....it's all reproduction! Things are too precise, too clean and well matched. There is no atmosphere at this Inn and there is a constant feeling of the owners breathing down the necks of both guests and staff. The staff are jittery and uneasy. This Inn was way too stuffy and "sticky" for our liking. We have stayed in some of the finest Hotels and Inns all over the world and some are able to match 5 star luxury with a relaxed vibe but not this place.
As a matter of interest, when we arrived we were told that we were not expected until the following night.....put down to a "mistake" on the part of the Ballastone staff who made our reservation on our behalf. We were told however that it was not a problem because they had rooms available. However, when we were asked to settle the bill shortly after just having checked in we noticed that we were being charged for 2 nights because their "cancellation policy" was such that within 15 days of arrival you pay full price. We absolutely refused to pay for 2 nights and were subjected to a phone call being made in front of us to the Ballastone demanding that THEY pay for the extra night. They kept referring to the Ballastone staff as being "unprofessional" in their handling of the situation but yet the only "unprofessionalism" being banded around was on behalf of the Hamilton Turner Inn. They were politely reminded by the Ballastone staff member that this dispute should be between the two Inns and should NOT be discussed in front of the clients at all. When we returned to the Ballastone the following night our room was comped due to the complete miss handling of the whole situation.....the Ballastone's attitude was that it's all about the guests and their comfort and happiness. Even if a mistake was made....which is wasn't.....with plenty of availability and no one actually being that inconvenienced.....why would such a grand, premier Inn sink so low as to expect guests to pay for a night not spent at their Inn?!! Not a good first impression and rather put a sour note on the whole experience.
Considering the size of this Inn there is also a lack of public areas/rooms/parlours to sit and mingle with other guests. There is a small dining area that requires that guests book their breakfasts in advance as not all guests can be seated at once. When on vacation one does not necessarily know when one will be ready for breakfast.....the Ballastone allows you to either book or just turn up, sit down and eat when ready. Granted we only had one breakfast at the Hamilton Turner but it was not good.......eggs benedict with two hard overcooked yolks and a slab of ham that overpowered the muffin both in flavour and aesthetics. Not meaning to sound too harsh.....without doubt this Inn is very grand and we are sure the owners only want their guests to enjoy their stay but maybe they try too hard.

Room Tip: We were in the Noble Jones room which overlooked the square. No complaints about the room and espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This inn located in the historic district of Savannah pampers its guests with kindness,amenities and a free southern breakfast.The location on Lafayette Square is perfect for sightseeing. The period decorated rooms are warm and inviting. Overall,an excellent experience,although it was costly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This inn located in the historic district of Savannah pampers its guests with kindness,amenities and a free southern breakfast.The location on Lafayette Square is perfect for sightseeing. The period decorated rooms are warm and inviting. Overall,an excellent experience,although it was costly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn as your place to stay during your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hamilton-Turner Inn in mid-March. Visiting Savannah is always a delight and staying at this inn only made a long-anticipated trip even better. The staff is considerate, the breakfasts delicious, the amenities elegant, and the owners gracious. On a very rainy Sunday morning, when we couldn't get a cab, Gay drove us to our destination. Jim even took care of putting quarters into the parking meter on the Monday of our departure! The inn is beautifully restored and furnished, providing restful and relaxing surroundings at any time of day or night. Being able to walk out of the front door onto beautiful Lafayette Square is just one of the many perks of staying at the inn. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Visit the inn's website and select the room of your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We greatly appreciate your kind words and review. It is our wish to provide you with the best service possible so that you can have the best experience possible. We will be sure to share your sentiments with our team members.

Again, thank you for sharing your sentiments with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#10 Family Hotel in Savannah
#24 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, whirlpool spa baths and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, tea and sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton-Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.