We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton-Turner Inn to your Saves list
Hamilton-Turner Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My new home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was the breakfast, it was the location,it was the decor, the beautifully decorated room and comfortable bed, it was the attentive staff who always smiled and made me feel as though I was more than just another guest. There were several reasons why I will never stay at any place other than this Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you as our guests and look forward to having you again during a future visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    74
    23
    13
    20
See reviews for
83
478
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive, but also let us have our privacy. Great location, comfortable room. Loved the appetizers and drinks in the parlor every day. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who plans to visit Savannah.

Room Tip: Isaiah Davenport room is in basement, but has nice private entrance--very convenient. If you need go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review and do hope for you will choosing our Inn should you return to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here one night. My husband and I were in a suite and our 2 teenage children were in a regular room. Both were very nice. It was expensive, but worth it. We had never been to Savannah before and the staff were very helpful in pointing out things to do. Location was great. We walked to everything we wanted to see. Only thing I would change is the breakfast. It was good, but seating is by reservation and you are at your own table. I prefer the communal seating of other inns and B&B's we have been too, but that's just me. Overall, this is a nice inn that I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you as our guests and look forward to having you again during a future visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This bed and breakfast is absolutely beautiful! My husband and I loved the wine at 530 because it really brought the hotel guests out of their rooms so we could visit with some of the guests.

The breakfasts and appetizers weren't phenomenal, they were eatable and complete, but not like mommas cooking. The service desk was knowledgable and helpful, but didnt follow through on helping us make a reservation to let us know they had confirmed the appointment for a carriage tour. They didn't communicate with one another about the plans when they switched jobs so we had to find the other worker instead of talking to the service desk attendee. We also went in to breakfast at our specified time and the breakfast host asked us in a very agitated voice to go sit in the living area that our table wasn't ready. It was our first morning so we weren't aware of the way things worked. The bathroom ceiling looked as though there was a leak and the wallpaper was peeling back and bubbling above the shower area.

There was a very helpful lady at the front desk, though. And a very bubbly energetic man that showed us around our first day. We also really enjoyed the cleaning service that was very thorough and quick and the turndown service in the evening with cookies in our pillows.

My husband and I overall enjoyed our stay, however, in the future we may try a different b and b with more consistant attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a luxury property with one flaw. They have a small dining room which requires designated seating times. The first morning things went as planned. The second morning another couple was late which caused them to put us in the living room for a 30 minute wait for our table. It was annoying.

The property is well located, with generally good service and food. I'm sure our experience wasn't the first time this happened so should have an over flow area where ou could eat when things get backed up

Room Tip: Our ground floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This property is impeccably appointed and staff are very responsive, friendly, and knowledgeable. (Thanks Holly!) The Inn's staff are so gentle in their approach that guests benefit from the impression that they are the only residents of this magnificent mansion on Lafayette Square - I know we did. The location is terrific and Savannah's 21 other charming squares are only minutes away by foot. The property serves terrific breakfasts (included) and makes treats available in the common areas throughout the day including free wine and hors d'oevres for guests in the evenings. We spent Christmas at the Inn and this was a perfect home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: This is a very vertical building so be prepared for stairs. Some rooms are on the first floor, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights, with our dog in room 105 (Isaiah Davenport room).
Location: on Lafayette Square, perfectly located for walking in the historic district.
The Inn: Exquisitely decorated and furnished, it's clear that the innkeepers put a lot of love and attention into this home, right down to the smallest details. A beautiful and very well maintained Inn...absolutely gorgeous at Christmas time. Refreshments provided in the parlor throughout the day...the port wine after dinner hours was a lovely touch.
The room: Small, yes, but cozy and well appointed. Lovely antique furnishings and charming bathroom. VERY comfortable bed! Note that the pet-friendly rooms are on the lower level, below the main areas of the house, and each room has very convenient private entrances for dogs. Even though the room faces the square, street noise wasn't a problem (although if you're a napper, keep in mind that the Church bells ring on the hour during the day.) Loved the music playing upon arrival!
Service: Excellent...Everyone was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The innkeepers even loaned us a crate for our dog so we wouldn't have to purchase one. Note that gratuities are preferred in the room envelope upon checkout, as I offered to tip the porter upon arrival but he politely declined. It's evident that their main priority is the comfort of guests. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, and the dining room is just lovely.

Overall, I am so glad we found this place...was a bit surprised at the some of the negative reviews...particularly re: service. All of the policies are clearly spelled out beforehand, they seem reasonable and are geared to ensuring that all guests are both courteous and respected. Due to the unique beauty of the inn, there are lots of tourists who come to take pictures from the square, and I shudder to think of all those visitors stomping through the house snapping pictures and knocking over antiques. I appreciate the fact that the Inn is reserved for guests only, as it lends to the tranquil and "homey" atmosphere, as well as the overall safety of guests. As we travel frequently to Savannah, we definitely plan to make this Inn our "home away from home." And it's pet friendly too...can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If stairs are not for you, choose the Johnny Mercer room on the main floor. keep in mind there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review and do hope for you will choosing our Inn should you return to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#22 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, whirlpool spa baths and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, tea and sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton-Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.