We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend for two...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton-Turner Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hamilton-Turner Inn to your Saves list
Hamilton-Turner Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend for two...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I agree completely with Tom from Toronto - very well described! I travel a lot for work and my wife and I have been very fortunate to stay in some impressive places over the past 10 years. Hamilton-Turner Inn is a standout, a very rare and special place. We were very impressed by everything... location, staff, service, attention to detail, and rooms. It's expensive and not flexible on a late check out.. but if you want to experience the very best of Savannah accomodation and need a weekend away Hamilton-Turner is near perfection. We'll be back!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.. Go online and choose the one that fits your needs/wants the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    66
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
77
436
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville, ar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is very well located and is nice and clean on the inside....parking is a pain as it is on the street and you have to plug the meters...Don't plan on meeting any one here to go out to eat as they will not let them in which i find silly...they make you agree to this before they will give you a key.......Breakfast is good ..the 2nd morning I asked for a 8am seating and was told it would be OK only to find out in the morning that they decided they would move us to 8:30AM instead so we got to drive that morning with out breakfast to make our appointment....Kinda like a Bed without a breakfast.......restoration is not keeping with the time period of the house........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Perfection in every way.. I work to travel and I travel for pleasure on a regular basis. I am fortunate enough to stay in 4 and 5 star accomodation everywhere I go.. Even in 5 star hotels I can always think of some little thing that could be improved. Not so at the Hamilton Turner Inn Savannah.. Total Perfection.. It has it all.. Let's start with location.. Ovelooking one of Savannah's prettiest squares and in walking distance to everything, all the historic homes and sites, shopping, the waterfront.. Attention to detail in every area of the Inn, right from the front gate and lovely landscaped ground to the comfort of your room.. Grand rooms that take you back in time to a period of pure ellegance.. An amazing breakfast is served each morning in the spacious and charming diningroom.. Lounge and read a book in the antique filled Parlour.. Free Internet..Heavenly beds and Linen..The personal touch of having the owners (Mr and Mrs Dunlop) on site.. Friendly and helpful front desk staff.
I arrived on October 30th, 2012 and didn't want to leave on November the 4th when it was time to return home.. You will not be disappointed.. If you are going to Savannah it is the only place to stay.. Tom from Toronto Canada..

Room Tip: Over the period of my stay I was able to view many of the rooms.. They were all terrifc.. Some are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your visit to Savannah and your stay at the Hamilton-Turner Inn. It was sincerely our pleasure to have you as our guests and look forward to having you again during a future visit.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Gorgeous exterior, stunning elegant interior, impeccable service, extra touches, perfect location, we simply could not have been any happier with the inn or innkeepers. Located on one of the many beautiful Savannah squares, about a 10-12 minute stroll to the River or the perfect starting point for exploring the historic district. We stayed in the Noble Jones suite on the second floor. It was charming with a nice view of the square, 12 foot ceilings, and a huge bathroom. Cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, wine and cheese in the evening and port for late night. It doesn't get much better than this. It is true Savannah. You feel like you have stepped back into a more gracious and civilized era. Granted it is expensive but I really felt like I was contributing to a historic preservation fund. The innkeepers saved and restored this beautiful property. What a loss it would have been. Do yourself a favor and splurge....you won't regret it.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the square. We loved the Noble Jones room. Be warned no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your review and do hope for you will choosing our Inn should you return to our beautiful City of Savannah.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Can not say enough good things about this Inn. Inn was beautifully decorated , the breakfast had to be some of the best food I have had the pleasure of tasting in quite some time and the staff could not be more personable and attentive. Speaking of staff, Jeremy was amazing! It seems to me that those people who have negative things to say about the hotel are people who never stayed...just my observation.

I recommend the Hamilton Turner house as we enjoyed every minute of our 4night stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you choosing our Inn to spend your visit to our beautiful City of Savannah. What a pleasure it was to have you as our guests and we do hope for the opportunity to have you again.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful visit to Savannah last week. It wouldn't have been the same without staying at The Hamilton-Turner Inn. The property is beautiful and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good as were the daily refreshments. I would stay here again any time and definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our valued guests, your gracious comments are appreciated and will be shared with our staff. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and do hope you will choose our Inn when you return.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hamilton-Turner Inn was delightful. It is a beautiful Inn with impeccable service and filled with Southern charm. Our group could not have been more pleased. I would recommend the Hamilton-Turner Inn without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyWatson, General Manager at Hamilton-Turner Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hamilton-Turner Inn.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with potential guests of ours. It is always great to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay enough to spread the word. Thank you for choosing the Hamilton-Turner Inn and we hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guests.

Kindest Regards,

Jeremy Watson
General Manager
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton-Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton-Turner Inn

Address: 330 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton-Turner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern hospitality at the elegant Hamilton-Turner Inn on beautiful Lafayette Square in the center of Savannah's historic district. The Inn has 17 guestrooms and suites. Some accommodations offer romantic fireplaces, whirlpool spa baths and spectacular views of the park. Each day enjoy these complimentary culinary services: full gourmet southern breakfast, tea and sweets in the afternoon, evening wine and hors d'oeuvres, late evening port, and bedtime sweet with turndown service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hamilton-Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Turner Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton-Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.