We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Inn & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Azalea Inn & Gardens to your Saves list
Azalea Inn & Gardens
217 East Huntingdon Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Azalea Inn Throwback Rate
Ranked #8 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Opelika, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner booked a weekend trip here at my request for a B&B. It was the first time he'd ever been to one and my first trip to Savannah. To say the least, we will be back!

The service was some of the best we have ever experienced. The Azalea Inn staff was helpful in planning, reserving and executing surprises throughout the weekend. My darling partner is not the best at planning things but the ladies here offered options and managed to ease his stress through all the planning.

We stayed in the bottom floor of the Cottage Garden house and the room was spectacular. Every comfort of home and then some. The food each morning was delicious and the added companionship of the other guests and staff was very welcome (Not to mention Joey who was the most adorable little thing ever!).

The B&B was so close to everything that we parked the car and walked most of the weekend. The gardens and pool were perfectly maintained and even though it was too cold to enjoy much, the patio overlooking it all was my favorite spot of the weekend.

We can't thank them enough or go back soon enough!

Room Tip: The Cottage house is just private enough without being too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    68
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
404
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to stay at the Azalea Inn during the week of April 12th. My gorgeous downstairs room called the "Gentleman's Quarter", should be renamed since its' relaxing soft taupe and Asian flare would appeal to anyone. If you are as tall as KD, (yes, I'm from Oklahoma City), the height of the shower head will put you over the moon. Although Savannah has some of the best cuisine I've ever tasted (don't miss Local or Elizabeth's), you don't have to spend a dime eating out. Teresa and her staff (including Shannon and Madison) will delight your culinary senses every morning, afternoon and evening with their spectacular brunches, afternoon hors d'oeuvres and evening sweet treats. My son, daughter-in law and I did not have to drive to see the beautiful historic district, it's parks (Squares), museums, homes and river walk. The Azalea Inn is within walking distance to just about everything. It is located in a beautiful neighborhood and is itself, one of the loveliest homes I've ever seen. All of this, however pales in comparison to Teresa, her staff and Joey the "guard dog" (who weighs maybe 10 ounces). They will make you feel as if you are part of the family. If you are as sentimental as I, you may feel as if you are leaving family when you drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in April. Wonderful Inn and the staff are GREAT! They were extremely helpful...they recommended and mad reservations at two fabulous restaurants for us! Very relaxing .... would definitely recommend. We loved having Joey (the dog) around too...he was great! THe location is great...you can walk to everything in the historic district of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location. On a quiet street, but within easy walking distance of everything in the Historic District. Lovely building, inside and out. Our room (Live Oak Canopy) was very comfortable, in the back, on the second floor, with a private covered deck overlooking the pool and garden. Breakfasts were wonderful, as were snacks offered daily. Very helpful staff, leaving no need unmet. Good restaurant recommendations provided. At breakfast we met interesting guests from near and far. Hard to imagine how our stay could have been any nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in early April. This property is a member of Select Registry and I have never been disappointed staying at one of their inns. However, the staff at Azalea was "over the top" in gracious hospitality making our stay perfect. We stayed in the Cotton Exchange room and appreciated the extra space, amenities, garden/pool view from our private porch, etc. Joey took a nap on our bed the first day we arrived (hint: he likes cheese and meat exclusively).
The friendly staff (Shannon, Kim, Haley and all) obviously enjoy their jobs and interacting with the public. Shannon prepared a personalized map for us at check-in and we carried that with us throughout our stay.
We especially enjoyed the Old Pink House and Mrs Wilkes restaurant.
The daily gourmet breakfasts at the communal dining room table were amazingly delicious and "no repeats" during our entire stay. Also, the afternoon appetizers/wine from 5-6 drew us back to our "home" after a day of exploring. Homemade dessert/sherry magically arrived later in the evening for our enjoyment. Besides eating, we explored via trolley, foot, golf cart, car. Close to the Azalea Inn is the Massie Heritage Center with the history of Savannah (a little gem). We also discovered the Ships of the Sea Maritime museum (rainy day), Owens-Thomas house, Tybee Island, Fort Pulaski, Bonvaventure Cemetery, First African Baptist Church, and more!
We thank Teresa and Jake for their attention to detail and all of the "behind the scenes" coordination it takes to keep this lovely inn running smoothly. Also, thanks for the recipes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 5 wonderful nights at the Azalea Inn. Our room with it's porch provided us with a comfort and relaxation each day. It was like having our own escape!
Shannon, Haley and all the girls were wonderful! They were graciously there to make our visit the best possible. One day we had a minor issue with being picked up late for a tour and their response was to take charge and make the right thing happen, after all we were their guests! I would look no further than the Azalea Inn if we were return to Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From start to finish the Azalea is the perfect spot in Savannah. The house is wonderfully restored, the staff is welcoming, friendly, and has great advice on where to go and eat - making calls and reservations. They are also very accommodating - supplying towels and beach chairs for a daytrip to Tybee island, and sharing the recipe of one of their delicious breakfasts. Their evening wine + appetizers are a great way to meet the other guests, and to enjoy the peace and quiet of the backyard pool. They easily accommodated our group of three (no uncomfortable cots!). We experienced a minor A/C issue one night and it was fixed by the next afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Inn & Gardens

Address: 217 East Huntingdon Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendevous at the romantic Azalea Inn & gardens, an historic Savannah Georgia bed and breakfast inn (ca 1889) in the colonial Savannah garden district featuring parking, reinvented southern cuisine, heritage gardens, balconies, courtyard pool, and veranda with rockers. An ideal Savannah Georgia vacation idea, romantic wedding engagement place, scenic colonial coast tour, photographic walking vacation, boutique downtown shopping in the Design District, or just-because romantic or friends getaway. Ask about business travel rate, Sunday - Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Azalea Inn & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Inn And Gardens
Azalea Inn & Gardens Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Inn & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.