We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Starland Cafe

The Starland Cafe
11 East 41st Street, Savannah, GA 31401
912 443-9355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 755 restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Bistro, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Starland Cafe is a locals only kind of place. We are located in a restored victorian house next to savannah's first dog Park. We specialize in made from scratch food serving panini on our fresh baked ciabatta bread, salads made from organic and locally sourced produce, and we have several vegan/vegetarian items on our menu. Our clientele are an eclectic group of customers ranging from business types, students from the local Art College, and The Ladies who Lunch crowd. The one thing they all have in common is the need for outstanding food, made with love, and served with a smile!
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Always on the lookout for new restaurants and found this one today on 41st.not too far from downtown. They don't make it easy to get to it. When you get within a block of the cafe, the traffic pattern on the street reverses and you are forced to go around the block and come in from the opposite direction. It is set in an friendly blue house with a front porch, side and back gardens to eat in. Even if forced inside on a rainy day, the interior is bright and cherry,

The menu is very eclectic with lots of interesting choices. We love to share and didn't want to miss anything, so we shared a cup of an awesome tomato/coconut soup, a Greek Asparagus panini with too many things to list ( was outstanding) and a side of their famous kitchen sink salad. Each one was distinctive with the freshest ingredients. I could have eaten everything on the menu. Price are reasonable and the portions generous.

This is one on my new best favorite places to eat in Savannah.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    17
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Must stop off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great place to have an excellent lunch outside downtown savannah. This is an absolute must stop if in savannah. Everything is awesome including the experience. I never write reviews but this place warranted it. Go and you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food deserves 5 stars hands down, but I hold the fifth star in protest that they are not open past 3 pm! Thankfully they are open Saturdays now, but it is rare that I get to enjoy Starland's awesomeness. The pimiento cheese panini, goat bomb, tomato soup, and kitchen sink salad all get two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Everything is always amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I moved to Savannah a few years ago and was lucky enough to find this gem a few blocks from my first apartment. It's in the Starland district of Savannah which is an up and coming trendy neighborhood with fun shops and eateries. The Starland Café is SO good. I love the local art on the walls which changes frequently and makes for a neat experience each time. The food is top notch especially the Kitchen Sink Salad... OH. MY. I get it every time even as a side salad with their special Panini of the day. The staff is always extremely pleasant and they notice their return customers and have a great rewards program. Visit here for lunch for sure!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great salad and very unusual atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We went with a party of 6 for lunch. My wife and I got the chicken salad which was very generously sized. The others got the panini and tomato Thai soup. We all noted the meal was excellent. It is very informal and you order at the counter and get your own drinks at the drink area. They have outside tables and are next to the dog park but we chose to eat inside. The neighborhood is in the Victorian district Alan's the surrounding houses add to the atmosphere. I had to parallel park and that was a bit of a challenge for me. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Starland Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Starland Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Starland Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.