We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortugas Island Grille

Tortugas Island Grille
2815 River Dr, Savannah, GA 31404-3205
912-201-3630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Tuesday-Thursday 11:00 am to 9:00 pmFriday 11:00 am to 9:30 pmSaturday 10:00 am to 9:30 pm (breakfast, lunch,and dinner)Sunday Brunch 10:00 am to 2:00 pm Closed on Monday
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on way to bonaventure cemetery. Awesome shrimp salad and homemade potato chips. Cuban panini really good too. Nice atmosphere and service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ate here a few days before valentines day for the first time and loved it. I had the shrimp salad sandwhich that was awesome large chunks of shrimp and he had ponce de leon sandwhich that was jerk chx, pepper jax cheese, sauteed jalapenos with a orange marmalade sauce, we both took a half home if u get the chance dont miss this place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Located across the street (River Dr.)from the river in Thunderbolt (East Savannah), last right (coming from Savannah) before the Wilmington River/Inter-coastal Waterway bridge. Intimately small restaurant, small choices, but VERY tasty! Grilled teriyaki shrimp over grits was a wake-up for my taste buds.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good food, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I went to Tortugas for a leisurely lunch with my Mother in Law. We moved to Savannah a bit over 3 years ago so imagine my surprised when we walked in and saw the Maryland flag and University of Md. memorabilia everywhere! There were even pictures of Baltimore Colts and Orioles on the wall. This immediately brightened my day! Mom in Law ordered the Grouper BLT with coleslaw and I ordered the Tortuga Burger with house made potato chips (lots of Old Bay seasoning). Mom in Law did not stop raving about her BLT and she loved the creamy and sweet coleslaw. My burger was cooked to perfection-nicely seasoned and juicy. Since I am a fan of Old Bay seasoning, I thoroughly enjoyed the house made chips. The meals were a bit pricey for lunch, close to $25 for lunch. The service was good, and friendly. I enjoyed talking to the owners about Maryland and what brought them to the Thunderbolt/Savannah area. I would return to Tortugas again. If you are visiting Savannah this restaurant is worth the trip out of town. If you are headed to Tybee Island it is on your way. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Simply said, the food was great, the service was great and the conversation with the staff was even better. If Im ever back in the area, ill be back at tortugas!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortugas Island Grille also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tortugas Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortugas Island Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.