We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay except......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon

Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon
317 E River St, Savannah, GA 31401-1221 (Downtown)
912-236-3009
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 758 restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It was okay except......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After referring this place to my family I was disappointed by our server and lack of attention to check on us in a timely manner. The food was great but service kept this from being rated higher. Great atmosphere. Awesome location on River Street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    106
    127
    64
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved the chicken fingers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stopped by for a quick bite to eat before we had to head out back to PA-- they are known for their chicken fingers and they certainly delivered. They also have potato spuds which were equally amazing as was their veggie basket.
A neat little bar to try out if you are in the area!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service good, and food reasonable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate there on a Thursday afternoon, it wasn't busy but the customer service was great along with the portions of food. If you are a light eater I would definitely consider splitting a platter with someone. We had the buffalo wings and the fried shrimp platter which my son said was "amazing!" I had a Tybee Island brew ski and it was pretty good, overall it's the money and the atmosphere is fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Great food tonight. Hit the spot. Servers were quick and courteous. The original chicken fingers were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleased with lunch choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to eat lunch on vacation that wouldn't ruin our dinner (at the Pink House), break the bank, or be a chain that we could find anywhere. We were walking on the Riverfront and looking at menus and decided to stop here. The staff was friendly and the food was good. I couldn't find any proof to validate the claim "home of the original chicken finger" but it was a delicious chicken finger. The spuds were ok. I see how others could like them but they weren't my favorite. The cheese pizza was also good. I'd go back again for a decent lunch and a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanky's Pizza Galley & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.