We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here. Do it. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Kafe

Kayak Kafe
1 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3388 (Downtown)
912-233-6044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, Californian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
NOLA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go here. Do it. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place is delicious! The food is very fresh and the homemade soups were delicious! Great service as well! Perfect lunch spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    125
    27
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canuck in Idaho
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Kayak is a small and oddly situated restaurant (shares space with a gym entrance). However, don’t let this keep you from coming here. The food is fantastic! The lentil soup was the best I have ever had – the curry isn’t a wimpy after taste, but the forefront flavor it should be. Our waitress was the perfect mix of friendly and professional. Everything we ate was fresh and prepared with minimal fakery. I especially appreciate this because it mirrors the way we cook at home and is difficult to find when traveling. We will absolutely come back here on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The food was fresh and delicious. I had a lime chicken burrito and it had a great flavour. I would have no hesitation in recommending this cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Super tasty lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The restaurant is small and very casual. Excellent food. We tried the Turkey Chili, Gumbo, Black Eyed Pea Burger and the Turkey Ham Cheese melt. Lots of flavor! Everything was good. The service was also prompt and courteous. Tons of vegetarian and vegan options. The coffee was quite good too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went to the Kayak Kafe for a quick dinner before going to show. The restaurant is on a busy road but has a small street cafe feel. The food is light (sandwiches, salads, etc.) but plentiful. Totally outstanding. Their margarita is awesome, so much so, we came back after our show for another. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Kafe also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Kayak Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.