We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions of fresh and nutritious food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Kafe

Kayak Kafe
1 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3388 (Downtown)
912-233-6044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian, Californian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Large portions of fresh and nutritious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went to Kayak Kafe on a road trip during which we ate at 10-12 restaurants. Kayak Kafe was the best of the bunch. Fish tacos were amazingly fresh and delicious. Salad portions are huge and it's clear that the restaurant does not skimp on the meat portions. Many of the entree items on the menu are under $10. Ambiance of the restaurant is pleasant and artsy. Nothing went wrong during the course of our meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    125
    27
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy food with beer and a kids' menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Service and ambiance is nothing special but food certainly is. And great value for dollar too. I strongly recommend the spinach and shrimp salad. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed just down the street from this cafe. We were in Savannah for seven days and we ate at the Kayak once every day! The food is fresh and tasty and the iced coffee was wonderful and refreshing. I loved on salad so much I had it four times....I cant recall the name but it was the curried chicken salad. However, every salad I had was amazing! My husband loved the pork burritos. The portions were huge and the prices were right on. Highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just mwa...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had lunch here. And let's just say that I can't remember what or how it was. They service was fine. But I guess I just expected a little more. I didn't like the inside interior, it reminded me of my high school cafeteria. The menu didn't give me a whole lot of options, and the sandwich I had was fine. Overall it was okay, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went here because of all the positive reviews. We all liked our food but we didn't smell the odor like some have complained in Trip Advisor. We though this was just a lunch place but we found out they stay open later in the evening. We will eat there again next time we are in in Savannah! .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Kafe also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Kayak Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.