We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“this is a very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The room was huge with a separate sitting area with couch and coffee table that came in handy for our kentucky fried chicken we ate in the room the night. Very Clean the bed was very comfy!! Breakfast was good and hot. I would stay here again for sure! and we travel a lot and stay at many hotels. this is a good place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi hashharrietps,

Thanks for joining us at the Best Western hotel in Savannah, Georgia! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, comfortable beds and complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Savannah and that you will come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    67
    40
    24
See reviews for
113
86
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stopped at this hotel will travelling south. It has great access to I-95 and we found it to be very good value for the money. The property was well maintained and our room was quite large and very clean. They offered a very good continental type breakfast. Only negative is that the front desk staff could have been a little more professional. Definitely would stop at this property again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear yvettewu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our well maintained property, spacious guest rooms, clean hotel and complimentary breakfast buffet. We would also like to thank you for the constructive criticism about our customer service. We have shared your concerns with our General Manager. Thanks again for all of your time! It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for hotel guests!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you don't mind staying in a "dive hotel" this place is just right. Motel style rooms face outside with little to no noise reduction. Noises echo off the concrete and through the breezeway from the pool area and carry quite a distance away. Also, bugs easily access your room from outside.

Room condition was run down. There were holes in the walls that were trying to be hidden by the headboard of the bed. The bathtub sealant was cracked black and moldy looking.

The "continental breakfast" is extremely lacking almost forcing you to use the attached Denny's for your needs. However, you do get a 10% discount !!

I was originally going to stay here for 2 weeks but after just a few nights I moved 2 exits off I-95 south to the Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: Request to see a room before committing to stay !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
The_Traveling_Giant,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are truly sorry to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have recently renovated our hotel guest rooms, so we are disappointed to hear that your room did not live up to the new and improved look we have been so excited to shared with hotel guests. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that our General Manager can personally inspect the guest room. This way, necessary changes can be made to ensure we are offering maximum guest comfort for future guests. Thanks in advance for your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Staff member was very grouchy - unpleasant - not helpful - should be fired. Entrance was torn up - no attempt to be helpful about this construction -- minor construction still under way the next day with a very slow work crew

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear James C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to offer excellent customer service to each and every hotel guest, so we are very disappointed to hear about the inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit. We have shared these concerns with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made. As you mentioned in your review, we are currently updating our hotel lobby. We are very excited about these changes and hope to be able to share our new front desk, new floors and new walls with travelers very soon. We are sorry that these renovations caused an inconvenience during your stay. We really appreciate your patience and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stopped through Savannah on a recent business road trip. I am on the road a lot, and historically I have had great BW experiences, this trip was no exception. My stay completely exceeded my expectations. The location of this hotel was extremely convenient, right off the expressway, and as I would find out just a stone's throw away from Downtown Savannah. The room I stayed in was clean, quiet, and modern. Everything looked new, I suspect they recently renovated. The accommodations were great, but what set this visit over the top was the customer service experience. I arrived very late at night, a customer service rep was waiting to greet me with the offer of a fresh brewed cup of coffee and a cookie. My check in was an absolute breeze, I had my keys in less then 10 min. They have a Denny's connected to the hotel!!! I was able to grab some waffles before turning in for the night. Ultimately, my meeting was pushed back a day, leaving me with an extra day in Savannah. I was able to extend my reservation with no problem. The hotel was pretty booked, but they worked it out so I didn't have to move rooms for my additional day. While down at the front desk extending my stay, I got to talking with the staff at the front desk. The owner of the hotel, and young lady working the front desk took what amounted to be a half hour helping me plan out a great day in Savannah. I get hungry even thinking about the great lunch recommendation they gave me, FYI if you are in Savannah, grab a burger from the "Crystal Beer Parlor", you won't be sorry. Wash it down with a milkshake from Leopolds. It was a great stay, in a great town! I would recommend the BW Savannah Gateway to anybody lucky enough to be visiting lovely Savannah!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Andy P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind, detailed review about the Best western Savannah Gateway hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you were able to fit in a day of site seeing during your Savannah business trip. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our newly renovated guest rooms, quiet atmosphere and friendly team to fellow travelers. We hope that you will be able to join us again soon at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was nice and clean. Smelled fresh. The bed was very comfortable and the place was quiet. I got a good night sleep.Continental breakfast was good, The dining room was clean The staff was caring and friendly, Thank you, I plan on staying at Best Western on my next trip. We drove from Ohio to Florida and returned trip. All were at a Best Western but one .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mary Z,

Thanks for joining us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel as you traveled to Florida and then back to Ohio. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our comfortable guest rooms, quiet atmosphere and complimentary breakfast buffet to fellow travelers. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This BW has had some room upgrades and it shows. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. This is a older hotel but has been kept up well and reno looks good. Plus a Denny's onsite. Convenient to Savannah and right off I95.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear WPMurray,

Thank you very much for noticing our recent renovations including the new carpets and new artwork in our guest rooms! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly team and the Denny's restaurant located on site to fellow travelers. Please come back to see us again soon! We are in the process of updating our lobby and look forward to sharing the new front desk counter, new floors, new furniture and more with our guests!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#35 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.