We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Massillon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dont know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The room was nice and clean. Smelled fresh. The bed was very comfortable and the place was quiet. I got a good night sleep.Continental breakfast was good, The dining room was clean The staff was caring and friendly, Thank you, I plan on staying at Best Western on my next trip. We drove from Ohio to Florida and returned trip. All were at a Best Western but one .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mary Z,

Thanks for joining us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel as you traveled to Florida and then back to Ohio. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our comfortable guest rooms, quiet atmosphere and complimentary breakfast buffet to fellow travelers. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    67
    39
    24
See reviews for
113
85
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This BW has had some room upgrades and it shows. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. This is a older hotel but has been kept up well and reno looks good. Plus a Denny's onsite. Convenient to Savannah and right off I95.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear WPMurray,

Thank you very much for noticing our recent renovations including the new carpets and new artwork in our guest rooms! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean, comfortable rooms, friendly team and the Denny's restaurant located on site to fellow travelers. Please come back to see us again soon! We are in the process of updating our lobby and look forward to sharing the new front desk counter, new floors, new furniture and more with our guests!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, SC, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very clean room. Was given a handicap room which was not requested or needed. Handicap bathrooms don't provide maximum counter top space. Perplexed as to why the Staff was nurturing a family of cats in the immediate area of Guests rooms. Beautiful cats but no evidence of collar with tags indicating proper vacinations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear David L. D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words about our clean guest rooms. We are sorry about the miscommunication regarding your room type preference. When you call to make your next reservation, please let our team know that you would like one of our standard rooms. This way, we can make any necessary changes to your guest profile and ensure that you receive your preferred room type. The family of cats that was rescued nearby is on their way to a new home as we speak! Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this B/W last June on our way north, bringing our little terrier mix with us. B/W's policy of pet-friendly rooms in some of its facilities was why we chose this one. Immediately upon entering the room our dog began an almost frenzied inspection of it, nose to the carpet all around and then went straight to the door, wanting out. We thought it was just excitement, but by 8:00 PM it was obvious he was very ill, couldn't get up or walk, yipping when we tried to pick him up. We didn't make the connection still, but next morning when we took him outdoors he recovered enough to walk outside, and perked up after a couple of hours on the road, back to normal by 11AM. We are convinced that this was a result of some carpet treatment in the room which was poisoning him. Be careful out there.

Room Tip: Check with the desk about whether the carpets have been treated lately and what they were treated wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear RockyDad2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your dog was not feeling well on this particular visit. We love being able to offer pet friendly accommodations to travelers and understand how important it is to provide safe, comfortable accommodations for the entire family - four legged members included! For this reason, we clean our guest rooms daily and deep clean regularly with products that have been approved by the Best Western corporate office to ensure that rooms are safe, clean and comfortable for hotel guests and their pets. In the future, please know that you are welcome to contact our front desk team right away if you or your pets are experiencing any problems during their stay. We will do our best to solve the problem immediately or find a room to better meet your travel needs. Thanks again for all of your time! We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When I arrived to claim my AAA reservation, lobby was all torn up, workman and tools on lobby floor, blue tarp on floor, counter edge rough, parts of room shrouded in plastic sheeting and saw dust over the whole place. I commented several times about this negative situation. I sat my wallet on the counter to check in and when I picked it up is was nasty with sawdust. Ms Patel, the owner said that she was cancelling my reservation due to my negative comments. I usually stay BW if possible but this was a horrible mess. I went to another chain at the next exit in Richmond Hill. Cheaper and no construction. Was well satisfied there. Thanks Ms Patel for cancelling my reservation--best thing that could have happened!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
wethenldclark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you feel this way about our hotel. Our team works hard to provide a comfortable environment for hotel guests, so we are working on several renovations to improve the overall experience for travelers. We recently replaced the carpets and added new artwork in our guest rooms. In addition, we are updating the windows and lighting packages in every room. Our lobby is currently undergoing a very exciting, complete makeover. We will have a new front desk counter, new floor tiles, new furniture and new wallpaper when all is said and done. We are hoping to be finished by mid December. We are doing our best to complete these projects during slow times throughout the day to avoid any disruption for hotel guests. We appreciate the patience and support that we have received from our regular visitors and look forward to sharing our new and improved look with travelers. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit and are glad that you found a hotel to better meet your travel needs. We wish you the best of luck during your future travels.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is located in one of those just off the interstate hotel cul de sac ghettos along with 8 - 9 others and several chain restaurants. That means competition so if I hadn't made a reservation I would DEFINITELY shop for lodging here. Our experience here was disappointing - below the level of other BWs we have stayed at. Mattresses are marshmallow soft and the heat did not work in the morning. You receive a discount at the Dennys with your room but there are other dining choices within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
BlueHiway,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. In the future, please let our front desk team know right away if you are experiencing difficulties with the heater. We will do our best to solve the problem immediately! We have shared all of your feedback with our General Manager for further review. Thanks again for your time. We wish you the best of luck in all of your future travels.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you're like me, you consider staying at a Best Western because they're generally reasonably priced and you know what to expect from the aesthetics and service. The Best Western Savannah Gateway certainly met my "good deal" criteria. And it far exceeded my expectations as to what all Best Westerns should aspire to be in terms of style, cleanliness and service. The staff was charming and knowledgeable, pointing me to local activities and haunts that I wouldn't have known of otherwise. For fear of betraying local gems to the masses, I'll let you ask the staff about what to do in the area on your own. That said, make sure to inquire where you can listen to Dixieland Jazz while watching alligators bob around the water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear hollan70,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Best western Savannah Gateway hotel! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to sharing all of this positive feedback with out team! We appreciate the kind words about our clean guest rooms and excellent customer service. We are glad to hear that you had a chance to enjoy some of Savannah's haunted attractions! We hope to see you again during the upcoming holiday season for some more Savannah fun!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.