We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The front desk seemed a bit clueless to what was going on when checking in and out. Was given a room facing the interstate and the large gaps under the door allowed a lot of noise in the room. Had to turn up the fan to drown it out. Carpet was old and dirty. Beds were old and you would sink in when you laid down. The bathroom toilet leaked the whole time and made the floor wet. The showers had black mold growing in it so I took very quick showers. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear paralegal777,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We strive to offer excellent customer service and comfortable accommodations to each and every one of our guests. We are truly sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will be able to share your room number with us. This way, we can further investigate the concerns addressed in your review and make any necessary changes. Thanks in advance for all of your time. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    67
    39
    24
See reviews for
113
85
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Convenient location with a decent price, thanks to Hotwire.
The staff was nice and even moved me to a different room when she noticed I was going to be there for 4 nights and wanted to make sure I had a room with a microwave and fridge. The bad thing, which wasn't her fault, I was right next to high school students staying 2 nights I'm guessing for some sort of concert so they were kind of noisy up until about 9pm.
Even though the hotel is pretty close to I-95, you really can't hear it. The beds were comfortable and it was a nice size room with no bad smells.
The bad thing about the room, it could have been vacuumed a little better especially around the air conditioner. There were a few spider webs in that area. Plus I'm not even sure when the last time they actually cleaned behind the dresser. It looked quite dusty and had a yellow grocery bag behind there.
I guess the breakfast was alright for it being complimentary. Nothing really special being served but can't complain too much cause it is free. Nice thing is there is a Denny's attached to it if one wants a bigger selection and would prefer to spend money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear DestinyStL,

Thank you very much for the kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff members, close proximity to Interstate 95, and comfortable beds. However, we are disappointed to hear that you experienced a few inconveniences during your stay. We encourage travelers to contact our front desk team immediately if they encounter any problems during their stay. Whether it is a noise concern or there is a problem with your room, we will do our best to solve the problem right away! It is our goal to offer spotless accommodations to each and every one of our guests and we are truly sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will come back to see us again soon at the Best Western Savannah hotel!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Georgia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This was a very convenient place to stay in Savannah and for a reasonable price. The only bad things were that the wifi didn't work in our room and the pillows were too small. I expected bigger pillows for a king size bed and the ones there were like for a double bed. Other than that, the room was very clean and the staff was very accommodating and approachable. The Denny's was nice and convenient also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Deacondave51,

Thanks for staying with us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel! We are delighted to hear that you feel we offer a great value and convenient location for our guests. However, we are disappointed to hear that you experienced a couple of inconveniences on this particular visit. Our complimentary Wi-Fi is available all throughout our hotel. We encourage travelers to contact us immediately if they encounter any problems connecting to the internet during their stay. We know how important it is to stay connected with family, friends, and coworkers while traveling and we will do everything possible to make sure our guests can get connected during their stay. In addition, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our pillow selection. We put four pillows on each of our king size beds in an effort to maximize guest comfort! Thanks again for taking the time to share some feedback with us. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Georgia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have arrived early than expected. They had my room ready anyway. The room was nice and clean and smelt good. The employees were very respectful and helpful. I enjoyed my entire week here and I will go again.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are better than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Tiwi1972,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel for your week long visit in Savannah, Georgia. We truly appreciate your positive ratings and the kind words about our clean rooms, helpful employees, and great customer service. Our team works very hard to have all of our guest rooms clean and ready by check in time every day. It is always a treat when we can check guests in early and make their stay that much more enjoyable! We hope that you and your family enjoyed all of the wonderful attractions that Savannah has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. As a Diamond BW member I try to stay at the BW hotels. I chose this one because it was closer to I 95 and Savannah. The staff there was very friendly and helpful. The we had two different rooms in two different building because we traveled there on two different days. The room in building 1 was cleaner the the the one we had on building 3. Also the beds. In building 1 sleep better, however I would stay there again. This makes about 6 times I have been there over he last few years. We have never ate breakfast there we always eat at Dennys which is attached to he hotel. There is also the Cracker Barrel and I Hop and other places to eat. The price is also a lot cheaper than staying in Savannah, and you can drive there in about 15 min.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sfitzgl,

Thank you very much for your four star review! We are so glad that you and your family choose to stay with us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway when you spend time in Savannah, Georgia. We truly appreciate the kind words about our friendly, helpful staff members and our close proximity to Interstate 95. We strive to offer excellent accommodations for our guests, each and every time they visit our hotel. Therefore, guests should be able to enjoy spotless, comfortable accommodations in every building. Since you prefer one building over the others, please share these preferences with our front desk team when you call to make your next reservation so that we can add these details to your guest profile. This way, we can do our absolute best to assign a room that meets your travel needs each and every time that you stay with us. In addition, we would like to thank you for your feedback about local area restaurants. While we invite all of our guests to join us in the mornings for our complimentary breakfast buffet, we are pleased to hear that you also enjoy local restaurants nearby such as Denny’s and Cracker Barrel. We are so glad that you feel we have a great value to offer our guests and hope that you had a wonderful time visiting Savannah, Georgia. Please come back and see us again soon at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

room floor not clean
Stayed here numerous times, room cleanliness is an issue for us. First time really noticeable. I'm surprised. I didn't need to use 200 characters this is a waste of my time.
Also Denny's has gone down hill.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear GregoryC415,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We strive to offer excellent accommodations to each and every one of our guests, therefore we are disappointed to hear that you feel we did not live up to those high standards. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you described above and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests. We have shared your review with both our management team and our housekeeping team. We would also like to apologize for the negative experience that you had at Denny’s. While we do not run the Denny’s restaurant on site, we can pass your feedback along to their management team. Please know that you are welcome to join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet which is available each and every morning for our hotel guests.
Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope that you will come back to visit us again soon so that we can offer you the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Florida. Staff was very helpful and courteous, room was comfortable and there's a Denney's right on the premises. Lots of hotels in the area but not a lot of places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DeirdreC890,

Thank you very much for your four star review! We are so glad that you decided to stay with us at the Best Western in Savannah, Georgia for a quick stopover on your way to Florida. We truly appreciate the kind words about our helpful staff members and comfortable rooms. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Denny’s restaurant located on site. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and that you will come back and visit us again soon at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Georgia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#34 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.