We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass up this noisy mess!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #63 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pass up this noisy mess!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Florida. The front desk was very neat and inviting. But, our stay was anything but. Our room was facing the interstate so there was very loud traffic nose. But worse was the crazy, loud, annoying, screaming people outside or room all night and morning long. I honestly was scared to call the front desk to have them do something about it. This is not a safe and comfortable room at all! I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear amylex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide comfortable accommodations and a quiet atmosphere for each and every one of our guests. We are very sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. In the event that you or any of our guests experience problems with noise during your stay, we encourage you to contact the front desk immediately. Guests can call the front desk by phone from the privacy of their own guest room. Once the front desk team is aware of the situation, they will do everything they can to fix the problem right away. A lot of our guests choose to stay with us due to our close proximity to Interstate 95. We are sorry to hear that you could hear interstate traffic on this particular visit. For future reservations, please let our front desk team know that you would like to stay on the other side of the hotel. Again, we are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We hope that you will join us again in the future so that we can offer you the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    89
    78
    45
    25
See reviews for
130
101
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect stop while heading north. stayed 3 times on my up and back down to southern florida. Great restaurants, and a pleasant surprise to have beautiful Savannah at your doorstep. very friendly front desk, and clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear SeasideChef,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel as you travel back and forth between the northern states and Florida. We truly appreciate your five star review and the kind words about our friendly staff members and our clean, comfortable hotel rooms. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location off Interstate 95 which is just a short drive away from historic downtown Savannah. Thanks again for all of your time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lineville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms were clean, staff was very nice and accommodating. Beds were very comfortable. Shower pressure could have been better but still ok. Good location. But do not eat at the Denny's inside Hotel the staff there are not very good. Waiter got order wrong and even put items we did not order on ticket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Robin C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a four star review about the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our comfortable beds and convenient location. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. While we do not manage the Denny’s Restaurant, we will share your comments with their management team. We encourage you to contact them directly to share your feedback as well. In the mean time, we invite you and all of our guests to join us in the mornings for a free, hot buffet breakfast at the Best Western Savannah hotel. Our breakfast buffet features make-your-own waffles, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee, and much more! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you and your family will visit us again soon at the Best Western hotel.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Chose this as a stop-over on our way to Florida from Ohio mainly due to location (right off Interstate) and price. Clean, comfortable & with amenities to match motels costing twice as much in same area. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Carl C,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Best Western Savannah Gateway hotel! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for a quick stopover on your way to Florida from Ohio. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Interstate 95 and cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our clean, comfortable hotel and outstanding amenities. Our team will be delighted to hear your feedback about our friendly staff members. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again very soon at the Best Western Savannah Hotel.

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Gateway Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After making a reservation online for the Best Western Hotel... I was expecting a Hotel!! Not a Motel!!! I've stayed at Best Westerns before and they had been Hotels, not Motels. I was very disappointed but continued to the front desk where I was treated with poor customer service. I then proceded to my room and opened the door to find bags in the room... the room was clearly occupied. There could have been people in the room; who knows what happens in motel rooms. Who knows how a stranger would even react if I walked in there with a key. If someone walked in my paid room, I would have be livid. The woman who checked us in and gave me the room key, put me and my friend in danger along with putting the other occupants and their belongings at risk. I am extremely disappointed in the Best Western Company. This Savannah Georgia Best Western is a horrible representation of the brand and my family, my friends, and I will NEVER stay at a Best Western again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Nicole124_13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. We strive to offer excellent accommodations and exceptional customer service to each and every one of our guests and we are very sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit.
Our General Manager, Alisha Patel, would like to follow up with you directly regarding your stay. This way, she can collect a few more details about the situation described above and review this incident with our team. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will let us know a day and time that we can reach out to you directly. Thanks in advance for all of your feedback. We appreciate it and hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,
Best Western Savannah Georgia Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway

Address: 1 Gateway Blvd., Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#38 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Groupon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Savannah Gateway Hotel Savannah
Savannah Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Savannah Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.