We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent end to a Valentine's weekend Road Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Cocoa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Excellent end to a Valentine's weekend Road Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I went for a 5 night road trip to the Smoky Mountains. We planned for an overnight stay in Savannah on our way home and booked the Best Western due to its price point and proximity to the River Street area. This couldn't have been a more wonderful end to a great weekend. This place was amazing...much better than expected. They were working on renovations, and our room must have been one of the recently renovated ones. You can definitely tell that this owner takes pride in his establishment, and wants his customers to be happy. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast because we had plans to eat at Huey's on River Street. Although, I did venture to get coffee while we were getting ready. From what I saw, the free breakfast looked on the upper end of what you will find at most hotels. All in all, this was a great place, with a great location. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as our great location, and awesome service!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others!

I hope when you return to Savannah you become one of the many BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District fans and a repeat guest! I am glad you enjoyed everything!

Thank you,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    271
    138
    55
    44
See reviews for
165
288
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medinah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Friendly staff and the concierge was fabulous help in steering us on our visit of the historic district. This is an older property which has had the rooms updated. It is right on Bay Street and if you are on that side of the building you will hear traffic all night. They actually have "white noise" machines in the rooms for your use. Overall it provided a place to stay but nothing fancy. It is right at the edge of the historic district and therefore is within walking distance of all the attractions.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Bay Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative experience with the noise in your room. If you would like to share any further information about what transpired, please feel free to contact me directly at 912-629-2101. I sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Jeffrey Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is undergoing a renovation so some work is being done in the hotel. The rooms are ok and the bathrooms look like they were recently remodeled. The hotel is just off the street and there is traffic noise but they do have white noise machines in the rooms to use if you so desire. Breakfast was good and above average. The concierge in the hotel was excellent as she gave us wonderful tips and ideas on what to do, what to see and where to eat. If you go there make sure you talk to the concierge! The location to the historic district and the city market was perfect.

Room Tip: Maybe a room facing the back would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Good News! I am happy to annouce that the new flooring has been installed in 75% of the guest rooms with the final completion expected prior to March 1st. In addition our lobby renovations are fast approaching completion and with any luck will be completed around the same time as the new guestroom flooring.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Thank you,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best Western was located in the perfect location to get to all the important sites. The cocierge in the lobby (Mary) was very helpful getting us to the best places to visit before we left. The rooms were very clean & confortable. We will return soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Thanks again,
Jeffrey A Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were looking for a pet friendly hotel in the Historic District. BW was great! Nice room and parking ($15) Of course it was extra for the dog and there were some additional fees that got us up to almost $200 but it was worth it. Location was great, so we got to walk River St. and take the dog to dinner with us at Annie's Pizza in an open air shopping and bar area. Husband fell in love with Wet Willie's and we were able to walk with our slushy cocktails. Very nice. It was hard to get the internet to boot up but we've been finding that's pretty standard. And breakfast was GREAT!!

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms were only available with two double beds. Can't imagine why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks,
Jeff Fouste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Called for reservation from a few blocks away. Booked 2 rooms with no problem, Pleasently surprised with facility. Located in the historic district near what we wanred to see. Parking convenient. Breakfast very above average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Perfect trip. Thx to Terrance at the front counter and the maintenance personnel who told us about the best pizza place that delivers before 930pm Vinnie Van GoGo's. Clean, somewhat affordable, safe, beautiful view at night, accomodating, no problems no hassles just easy lodging to see the historic district. Thx

Room Tip: Upstairs facing Bay street is nicest. There will be traffic noise this direction though toward Montg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#41 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming hotel located in Savannah's Historic District just steps from River Street and City Market. This traditional Savannah style open corridor hotel offers the ideal location for guests to see and visit all of Savannah's key area attractions including the famed restaurant, The Lady and Son's owned by chef Paula Deen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.