We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Reasonably Priced, Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Reasonably Priced, Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way from Orlando to Gatlinburg. The room was cheap compared to other hotels in the area, and it is a quick walk away from the heart of the historic district. The room was clean, although the bed needed new box springs. It was very squeaky and soft. The continental breakfast contained standard hot and cold items such as waffles, eggs, yogurt, fruit, bagels/ toast, sausage, and juice. The staff was friendly, the hotel was easy to find, and parking was not a problem. It is a good choice if you are on a budget. There is a $12 parking fee per vehicle. Parking fees are standard for hotels in the historic district, and this parking fee is less than other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    271
    140
    56
    44
See reviews for
167
290
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were happy with our room in the back, as recommended by other tripadvisor.com visitors. Bay Street is quite busy, so ask for a room in the back.
The bedding was high quality and the style of the room made me think of New Orleans.
The corridors are on the outside, so it's convenient to reach your car. Fortunately with a room at this hotel, one doesn't need one's car often. It's within walking distance of must shops and restaurants in the historic district.
There is a very nice continental breakfast available each morning and hte concierge is quite helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was tempted by the affordability and proximity to downtown areas. Seeing fairly good reviews, I thought to try the BW Plus. While the rooms were upgraded and OK, the outside of the property, especially on the rear side, was depressing, with no view at all except of a warehouse and wires. The outside of the property had cigarette butts, rusty doors and just did not match the inside. I would have been uncomfortable walking in the area...and the atrocious weather didn't help! Staff...nice and accomodating...no problems there. I think the major problem was the lack of outside maintenance and the area the hotel is located in. If you don't mind that, then the value was Ok for Savannah. I would upgrade to a better quality next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel but very disappointed to hear about your negative perception of the rear exterior of our property. Your comments have been brought directly to our chief engineer for review. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The location is very good. The place was clean and I thought the bed was comfortable. Great pillows. Very pleasant staff and good breakfast. Why would anyone put a floor to ceiling mirror opposite the toilet? Not what I want to see while doing my deed. With ear plugs in, I did sleep well. People who sleep through everything, God bless you and send me your secret.

Room Tip: I wasn't happy with the $12 a day charge for parking. If it is off season, park on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union city, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Overall this is an average hotel but based upon the location, comfortable bed, free wifi, and fitness center. I think its a thumbs up overall. You are only a 5 to 10 minute walk from all the downtown fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
A good value is the key to enjoying your vacation! I am thrilled you chose the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer such as the complimentary breakfast, great location, and awesome service! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've stayed at this particular BWP several times in the past primarily because of its proximity to River Street and City Market and have been pleased for the most part. This time however I was a little disappointed about the cleanliness of my room. I found hair in the mini-fridge and hair pins on the floor. There was also sticky residue left behind from a cup on the desk. Other than that I don't really have any other complaints. My heat wasn't circulating properly after awhile but was fixed soon after I'd reported it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! The cleanliness concern has been sent directly to our executive housekeeper. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This downtown hotel is on the fringe of downtown, but still convenient to nearly everything. Ask for a riverfront room on the third floor; the view of the bridge is excellent, although the riverview is somewhat blocked by an old factory building. Comfortable, quiet room. Their internet connection was not working when I was there, their breakfast was merely OK, but otherwise, a very comfortable place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with others! The bridge view is beautiful! We hope you visit us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#41 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming hotel located in Savannah's Historic District just steps from River Street and City Market. This traditional Savannah style open corridor hotel offers the ideal location for guests to see and visit all of Savannah's key area attractions including the famed restaurant, The Lady and Son's owned by chef Paula Deen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.