We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Historic District - North)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #53 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great overnight in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a last minute room on a discount booking site. We were surprised to note that this is a motel (outside entrances to rooms) rather than a hotel, but that was the extent of our disappointment. The room was clean and updated, the breakfast was one of the best we have had at a hotel, and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The location was at one end of the River Street area near the Market, and was very convenient. A sound machine was even provided but not sure we actually needed it the night we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    233
    117
    50
    39
See reviews for
134
235
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location, extremely nice staff, better than average breakfast, sufficient pool and workout room. The bed was good and the room was clean. My only complaint is that the rooms are NEVER cool enough. I have stayed here about 10 nights and I always feel like I am 5 degrees warmer than I would like. I understand that Savannah is hot and humid, but I live in Macon, Ga and we have about the same weather. I can keep my house cool. If they fix that, the place would be awesome.
100 feet from the dueling piano bar. Very cool.

Room Tip: Third floor back is quiet and has a great view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Music to my ears! We love Repeat Guests! Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor! Being an exterior corridor hotel in high humidity and heat it is difficult at times to maintain the temperature of a hotel room if the door is being opened into the weather - so limiting the amount of time the door is open during loading/unloading is hopefully a helpful tip for your next stay! We'll do everything we can to accomodate you! Thank you again for your Trip Advisor response!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a recent stay at this Best Western; we were just a short walk to both the historic waterfront river area and the City Market. Once we parked the car, we did not need to move it during our stay; as the river front area, City Market, lovely squares, and Forsyth Park were within walking distance. The free breakfast was very good with scrambled and hard boiled eggs, a waffle maker, breads, jams, yogurt, cereal, and fresh fruit. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly; there was also a concierge during the day.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the first floor to easily unload and load our car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments especially about our awesome breakfast and great location! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Best Western is located on the edge of Historic Savannah. It is near the River Street Area and is in easy walking distance to most historic attractions. The parking is a little crowded and is $12 per night. Not bad for a city and it allows for parking until 5 pm the day of check out so you can still explore the city. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The a/c in our room was tolerable, but not as cold as it should have been. I reported it at check out, but was too tired to move to another room once inside. There is breakfast in the lobby and coffee pots in the room. Overall a good experience, pet friendly, and would stay there in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as a future guest!

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our room was nice and comfortable with a large, beautifully appointed bathroom. The property doesn't have indoor corridors, but once inside, the rooms are really nice. Located close to one end of River Street. Breakfast was average. There is a concierge, but we didn't use the service.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, on the rear side. We did not have a problem with noise or Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give other travelers your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A perfect location. Walk to restaurants, shopping and the historic sites. The pool is very small but we were the only ones using it at the time, so it was fine. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included and although it was busy, there was plenty of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!


Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and service provided. I stayed 3 nights and will definitely return. River Street is behind the hotel and the historic district is within blocks. You never have to utilize your vehicle once you park as everything is within walking distance. The staff was extremely professional and accommodating. The breakfast was great with multiple selections. This is a pet friendly hotel and there are several grassy areas down the sidewalk toward River Street where I walked my dog. I would highly recommend this hotel and already planning my next visit.

Room Tip: Request the rear of the hotel as the street area is very busy and noisy as a main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Operations Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Amanda Lange
Operations Manager
Best Western PLUS Savannah Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming hotel located in Savannah's Historic District just steps from River Street and City Market. This traditional Savannah style open corridor hotel offers the ideal location for guests to see and visit all of Savannah's key area attractions including the famed restaurant, The Lady and Son's owned by chef Paula Deen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.