We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, but there was smoking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Historic District - North)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #52 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Yankeetown, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“clean, but there was smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was somewhat clean, but people next to us smoked on the corridor next to our room so we had to walk thru their smoke, each time we went out . The staff was polite and answered our questions. The location was perfect for walking to just about everything we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District it is always our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We regret that the author of this review had a bad experience. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service and accommodations.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    232
    117
    50
    39
See reviews for
132
235
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night... Room was very nice and clean.
Bed was so so but did enjoy a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was just enough- eggs,sausage,danishes,waffles,yogurt,juice,coffee...
Hotel appeared to have a nice looking outdoor pool but was too cold to enjoy it.
I would recommend this due to the great location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future! We wish you would have taken advantage of the pool as it is heated and stays open year-round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Very clean very nice very quiet overall excellent stayed 2 nights. Took the trolley bus tour hop on and off where you want we had breakfast at the Cobblestone cafe first morning was so impressed had to go back the 2nd morning breakfast was great staff were very nice and cherrie had the peach harvest for breaky it's to die for would recommend eating there to all travellers

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are so excited you all enjoyed your stay in Savannah and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District as well! We look forward to your return!

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The room was nice and very clean but the noise level Friday and Saturday night was high, with Friday the highest. We were at the back of the hotel which we had requested because of reviews here based on street noise. What we did not know, was the back is in front of some of the
bars. There is a noice ordinance so most of the noise level went down around 11:30 PM.
Sunday night is nice and quiet at the back as the bars are closed. The concerige, Kyle, is extremly helpful and knowlegeable and really made this an excellent stay in that regard.
Nice breakfast buffet. There is a 10/night charge to park and since parking in Savannah is extremly hard to come by, not a bad deal especailly since you can pretty much walk to restaurants and shops in the historic district.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to Savannah! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location is great, just steps away from the water and shopping. The room was quite large and impeccably clean. Lovely shower and large enough towels. Breakfast was OK; lots of selection -yogurt, cereal, etc but the eggs and sausage looked pretty sad. Sausages were greasy and eggs were preformed for tea biscuits. I wouldn't touch them. Not a lot of parking, so they charge you $10 a night. If you are on a budget, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! We appreciate your kind words and appreciate your business! Have a wonderful day!

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast.
All around great value. Easy walking to River St. and shops and restaurants.
You do have to pay an additional $10.00 a day for parking, which I think is common in Savannah, but still a good deal since you rarely need to drive anywhere.
I would definately reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are delighted you made the decision to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District! Thank you for the wonderful compliments and we look forward to your return!

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff was great, but the noise was unbeliveable. The back side of the hold is a path from the bars back to other hotels and the drunks sing and yell and dance in the parking lot. I also heard that our friends on the street side could hear traffic all night long and drunks as well. THe place was clean, staff friendly. We were in the court yard talking within our group when the desk clerk came out and told us we were too loud at 4:00 in the afternoon. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM11205, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District would like to take the time to apologize to the author of this review. We strive to provide the highest quality of customer care to all of our guests. I am sorry if we fell short.

Cody Rentschler
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this charming hotel located in Savannah's Historic District just steps from River Street and City Market. This traditional Savannah style open corridor hotel offers the ideal location for guests to see and visit all of Savannah's key area attractions including the famed restaurant, The Lady and Son's owned by chef Paula Deen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.