We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Yvette J. Hagins Drive, Savannah, GA 31408 (Formerly Cambria Suites Savannah Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

What,s to say? Amazing value for this price - easily half the price of downtown hotels and twice as good. Ok, it,s not downtown, but it does have free safe parking right in front. Downtown you have to pay for valet parking.

Friendly staff, brand new clean, ultra modern - stay here and drive the 15 minutes into town - it's worth it!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    122
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
185
123
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Unexpected surprise. Very very nice. Large rooms, high celings, very clean, nice decor, great bathroom products, comfortable beds. Hotel serves food and has liquor. Had dinner there - not bad. Skipped breakfast buffet though - very small and items were not very appetizing to me. Fitness room and pool and hot tub open 24 hours. Pool is extremely small. hot tub nice and hot. If visiting Savannah you have a 15 min drive from here. Hotel is at airport and when pulling in parking lot the sound of the planes landing was deafening. Once inside hotel I never heard another plane again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed here as a mid-point stopover from Tampa to NC. Hotel is great! The rooms are very modern. Lots of space with 2 TV's. Would be great for business traveller to work and relax. The pool is small, but indoors and heated - which met our requirements. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The walls are a bit thin, so noise be a factor. If you are looking for a restaurant, try Cheddars nearby for a great meal that does not cost you an arm and a leg. I have stayed at several hotels in this general area and this one beats them all. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we chose this hotel for our stop on the way to Florida. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is relatively new, situated near the entrance of the Savannah Airport. It is about half a mile from I-95, so very convenient for travelers. We were checked in by a friendly, efficient staff member within minutes of our arrival.

The room was a nice surprise. It had more room than we needed, but for those traveling with children, etc., there is plenty of space. The suite was separated into the sleeping area with a flat screen TV and a living room area with another flat screen TV. The couch also has the ability to convert to a bed, adding sleeping area if needed. The room also had a coffee maker (with tea and/or coffee) and refrigerator.

The bathroom was large and very clean. The shower/tub combo had more than enough space (unlike some older hotels with cramped showers). Cambria Suites has Bath and Body Works products available in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner, bar soap). There was also a hair dryer.

While I would like to rate this a 5 star stay, there were two (minor) cons. While I found the bed comfortable, my husband did not. The air conditioner/heating unit is right next to the bed, so it can get a bit noisy when it blows (a minor inconvenience).

There is a limited breakfast buffet available downstairs. However, you can order a la carte, which worked great for us. The omelets were freshly made and the coffee was good. Other options include several restaurants at the same exit. I think there's a Wendy's next to the hotel (or some other fast food restaurant).

The hotel was very clean and we will stay here again. The overall value was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Lovely hotel -- brand new, with a great lobby and comfortable, stylish room.Wonderful restaurant right across the street.

Best aspect was the decor in the room -- fashion-forward fabrics, beautiful bed linens, and cozy arrangements of furniture.

Very convenient to I-95; we were driving to Florida and it was the ideal stop-off point.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Florida. It is a great place and the price is right. The beds were perfect and the sitting room with the extra TV is nice. The shower also was extremely well thought out. I will stay again. The only thing I would change is the hotel walls seem thin, as I could hear almost everything in the room next door, but not a bif problem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because it was rated #1 on tripadvisor for Savannah. We were very impressed with the lobby and the room. The room was spacious and the bathroom very nice. The bed, a Simmons, was slightly uncomfortable but not bad. The problem we had with this Cambria was the staff's unwillingness to heat the indoor pool. The hot tub was almost too hot, but the pool was freezing cold. It took several calls before finally they adjusted the temp for one night of warm swimming. The next night, however, it was cold again. They made an excuse that they can't make it too warm for fear the moisture would make the ceiling fall in. Anyway, nice to have a 24hr swimming pool... but not if it's freezing! Otherwise, nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambriaSAV, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. We always value our customers feedback, both positive and negative so that we can continue to strive to be the best. The Cambria division of Choice hotels mandates our pool and hot tub temperatures be within a certain range. Both are inspected and recorded three times each day in order to maintain this standard. In addition, our Desert Air Humidity system is set to match these temperatures. I reviewed the logs and they were set at these temperatures during your visit. I do apologize that the pool was not the desired temperature for you and your family. I have made note of your issue so that it can be discussed with our Choice representative on their next visit. Perhaps they may consider adjusting the mandated temperature if this is a consistent issue at the Cambrias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport

Address: 50 Yvette J. Hagins Drive, Savannah, GA 31408 (Formerly Cambria Suites Savannah Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#25 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree Savannah Airport offers a convenient location only 10 minutes from the historic district. Spacious guest rooms divide into separate living and sleeping areas with a partial wall and include complimentary WiFi. Enjoy the heated, indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Onsite dining and meeting space is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Savannah Airport Hotel Savannah
Savannah Cambria Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.