We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. on March 27” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
311 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
“No Sleep 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. on March 27”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is an exceptionally nice Holiday Inn Express perfectly located for sightseeing in Savannah.

Unfortunately, when I informed two hotel staff members of noises in my room that kept me awake for four hours during the first night of my two-night stay, they expressed no concern for my loss of sleep.

Upon my return home, I called the corporate office and spoke with a service representative who apologized for my loss of sleep and told me she would see would find some way to compensate me for this inconvenience.

If you can get a quiet room at this hotel, it would be a good place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    478
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
372
754
52
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

All right - here is the difinitive review for the property.

I made my reservations about 11 monthws earlier and used a point redemption. I arrived early for St. Patricks Day - the front desk staff was just OK. They did not seem energetic at all. Being a Platinum member I am always recognized and feel valued. Not here. I just felt like a regular person.

Once I recieved the keys and all of the information I went to get a bell cart and proceded to load an entire bell cart full with 4 staff members staring at me and not offering any assistance at all. They seemed like they were just hanging out back on the block. Not very professional. If I would have not approached someone to give my keys to - I don't think I would have even talked to any of them. They were all young kids and not very professional. The parking is $15 a day - $10 for Platinum members. This is the only IHG property that charges Platinum members for parking. The Mulberry and Staybridge do not charge.

The room was just like every other hotel room. It did not have a tub - just a stand up shower. The Shower was dirty and had soap scum in it and the glass was cloudy. It did have a fridge and a microwave. The coffee maker was in the bathroom and it had a flat screen TV. The work station was a desk which had a bright enough light for that area. The lamps on either side of the bed had push buttons to turn - which was weird because I would almost push the lamp off the nightstand whenever I touched it.

The Port Royal Tavern was hopping and everyone was very friendly.

The rooftop pool and hot tub were very nice. The view was great - but the pool is not heated - which I was suprised about.

Standard fitness room. The business center is two computers in the hallway. It was very fast and free. The only bothersome thing would be the hoards of kids on them.

The staff in the hotel use the elevator as well. There is not a service levator for them. This causes the wait time for the elevators to be very long and sometimes during peak times it is a wait. I waited 6 minutes one time just to get on the elevator and when I did - half of the elevator was staff.

The breakfast staff was very nice and the food was great. Big selection and a big area for breakast as well.

During our stay - we came back to change and had a clogged toilet at about 9PM. I immediatly called down and informed the FD. We then left and came back about 1 AM. Th toilet was still clogged and no one had been to the room. We were both too tired to even deal with this - so we waited until the next morning and I informed that FD that it was still clogged. It took about 20 minutes to have a maintenance man take care of it. He kind of just took care of it and left - no real personality.

The next morning my bill was incorrect - they only charge $10 for Platinum members for parking per day. My bill was incorrect so I had to go to the desk to have it corrected as they charged me the entire amount. When I went to retrieve my car the next day - I met the bell captain. He was very friendly, professional, and helpful. Wish I could have met him for a first impression.

Certain perks for Platinum members are just common. Recognize at check -in. Special rooms. Treats or goodies for the room. Reduced or free items on the bill. Late check outs. Taking care of issues or problems on the first call and immediatly. It did just not happen this trip. Most of the reviews are just 1 contribution individuals - so I'm not sure how much stock that really holds. They do have business cards with where to leave comments for tripadvisor - so I think the solicitation has paid off for them.

The property is in a great location and walking is easy to market. The property is more comfortable than elegant. The amenities are very nice. The staff just needs a little training or focus. Would I stay here again - probably.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Brand new hotel which is always a plus. Check-in was not pretty! Friendly staff, but one person working so long wait to check-in. Saw a concierge desk, but no one ever sitting at it, but we were only there for 1 night. Parking is easy, but $13 which is not bad for downtown. Steps from the wharf and all the restaurants. Excellent, free breakfast and much more then what you would normally expect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago burbs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express Historic Savannah is located in a perfect location.... just steps away from the river and walking distance to all the historic squares, architecture, churches, gardens....etc. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a warm and professional staff and a lobby that was decorated with the historic Savannah style which encouraged guests to relax, enjoy a piece of fruit or savor a cup of coffee or tea. Every staff member was professional and had a positive attitude toward the guests. The rooms were new with all the modern amenities... flat screen tvs, rain showerheads in beautifully decorated showers..... the complimentary breakfast included eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereal, sausage, bacon, yogurt, fruit, muffins, toast, coffee, tea... if you cant find something to satisfy you.. you are NOT hungry! Unwind by the fire after a busy day of site-seeing......want wild nightlife? .... go down to the river or visit the bars with dancing just down the street... I have stayed at a different upscale hotel in the past... I'm returning to this Holiday Inn Express... you won't be disappointed!

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I found this hotel based on its strong Trip Advisor reviews and really expected better. The room was decent and the location was great. The price was decent relative to other hotels.

However, here are some of the misses:

The shower was tile and glass, but had a nice layer of scum on the glass.

The rooftop hot tub was green.

The breakfast staff was outright rude - breakfast supposedly run until 10am, but it really runs from 6am until they run out of food. It was 9:30 on a Saturday and they were out of almost everything. The breakfast staff just stood there and wouldn't acknowledge people.

The valet staff didn't acknowledge guests going in and out of the hotel. I loaded and unloaded an entire vehicle without any acknowledgment of my presence.

One note about parking - Park in the City Garage which is the building next to the Holiday Inn on Abercorn St. The City Garage is $10 per day during the week and either $3/day or $10 for the whole weekend depending on special events. Much better than $16 plus tip to a rude valet.

It wasn't awful for the money, but if I go back, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Personnel were incredibly attentive as if we were family. Very helpful with tours, taxi, directions, computer and extras for the room. We stayed a whole week - longer than most people - and felt so relaxed. The bartender was a hoot! Lovely breakfast included, with lots of choices. Perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The hotel itself was okay, the rooms were a little on the small side, but adequate and clean. The staff was helpful. Becki, the bartender in the Port Royal Tavern was great. She introduced everyone to everyone else by name (evidently she has an incredible memory) as they came in and as a result, got strangers talking and by the end of the night, it was a party. We really enjoyed the experience and I'd recommend stopping by that bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.