We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Rodney Jackson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ATL
1 review
“Mr. Rodney Jackson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Would like to commend Mr. Jackson on his profesionnalism and willingness to assist.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    516
    98
    31
    17
See reviews for
394
803
56
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This hotel is fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a great bathroom. It's located right across the street from the Riverwalk. The best part about this hotel is without a doubt the staff. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful; the valets, the front desk, the concierge , everyone. And every restaurant they recommended was perfect for what we were looking for.

This was a great trip, and the hotel is as good as it gets. For what we paid I would have been happy with a decent room that was clean. What we got was beautiful spotless rooms and a staff that made us feel welcome. When I return to Savannah, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hubby and I spent a full week in Savannah and stayed at this wonderful hotel right in the hub and walking distance of everything. Our room was wonderful and the only noise we heard was an occassional door closing. The complimentry breakfasts were the same every morning and very good. You certainly don't go away hungry or feeling like you've eaten a lot of carbs. The eggs, sausage, biscuit and gravy were good but often we decided on a yogart cup with some fruit and a bagel.
From our window we watched tug boats go by and cargo ships so close you could read the writing on the side of the hull.
The river walk was fun with lots of tourist shops and we found one good restaurant, Vic's on the River, a little expensive but good.
The first thing you should do is take a guided bus or trolley tour. You'll get a good feel for where everything is located.
People are so friendly and helpful. You can't get lost.
Savannah has some very colorful people as was depicted in the movie and book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. A must see and read if you're going.
We rented a car so we could go to Charleston and Hilton Head. Both lovely places to see.
We kept seeing signs advertising The Crab Shack so we went looking for it. It's located on Tybee Island and aside from the fact that it's been there for years, we found it hard to find and way over priced but it was an experience. Everything is served in or on styrofoam. This place probably has a lot of history but it sure could use some sprucing up. Our bill for two very small cups of chowder and two beers was $29 not including the tip. You eat on old picnic type tables with the center cut out and a garbage can placed in the middle. Napkins are a roll of paper towels and they don't serve bread of any sort, just packaged soda crackers. As I said, it was an experience.
The weather was perfect. Not to hot or cold and very little humidity.
Savannah is charming and I'm sure we will visit again one day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

On a recent trip to Savannah, we stayed at this location. Everyone was incredibly helpful and friendly (even late at night). The view from the roof was fun and the exercise area was generous. Everything is within walking distance!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I went to Savannah for a jazz festival and gave this hotel a try. First and foremost, the service was incredible! There is an extra fee for valet parking, but I was on vacation and wanted to relax. From the moment I pulled up, a valet, Rodney, greeted me, learned my name and called by name every time he saw me. He brought my bags up to my rooom, gave great recommendations for places to go and tips for parking around the festival. If you want efficient delivery of your car from the valet, call ahead downstairs. The valet area can become crowded. One of the managers, Jameel, made me feel like I was at home and could ask for anything. He gave great restaurant recommendations and made all of my reservations for me. He even walked me to the sidewalk in front of the hotel and personally gave me directions to one restaurant where I had reservations. One night, I had dinner at Vic's on the River (the food was great) and got a crabby waiter that gave me horrible service. Jameel even apologized to me for my experience at the restaurant and felt responsible because he recommended the place. The hotel has been recently renovated and everything in the rooms appeared new. The room was slightly smaller than average, but it was very clean and maid service kept it that way during my entire stay. The location is perfect and in walking distance to just about everything you may want see or do including a nice trip to the beach. The rooftop pool is a nice place to relax and a must see. I did not use the fitness center, but it looked adequate when I glanced inside the door. The area of improvement I can recall is that the lobby area is relatively small and can get crowded at peak check out hours. You really can not go wrong with staying at this hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahwah , nj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

This was the first time that my husband and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and we were very pleased with the accommodations. Loved the decor of the room. Comfortable beds and it was a nice addition to have pillow cases in-printed with firm or soft . I was happy to see a stalled tiled shower as opposed to a combination shower/tub. It would have been nice to have a make-up mirror in the bathroom but I guess that is minor compared to our overall satisfaction. Everything is in walking distance.
We thought that we would eat at Mrs Wilkes but we found out that they are closed on the weekend. Instead we had a delicious dinner at The Olde Pink House. I had the flounder which is their signature dish and it was the BEST flounder ever. I devoured every last morsel. Our waiter (who by the way was a look-a like to Matt Damon) was very accommodating to my husband who is a finicky eater. Everything about Savannah was great !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We spent a week at Easter on a pure vacation. I was continually impressed with the attention to the needs of guests and overall quality of the property. It was on a level with Intercontintal hotels I have stayed out. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.