We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect spot for sightseers. Across the street and down to river level and you are on the street where it all "happens." You can gawk and shop at the same time; trinkets and mementoes galore. Board the ship for a two-hour cruise up and down river (not all that great, though, unless you want to see warehouses, but there is an evening dinner cruise). Better, since you are on the edge of the historic district, you are in walking distance of dozens of restaurants and houses, churches, monuments and squares, all steeped in history. Ask the hotel for a copy of the "Essential Guide to Historic Savannah," an informative booklet with lots of pictures and facts on each location. The hotel staff is welcoming, from drive up to front desk to dining area, larger than most. Valet parking only, $20 a day with in and out.

Room Tip: Pool is on roof, so ask for a room on 7th or 8th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we will be looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    469
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
369
743
51
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my wife the last weekend in a hot, hot July. Had lots of activities planned and needed a convenient, clean hotel with a hard working A/C. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill fantastically. Prompt valet service when we arrived and the double queen bed room was ice cold the entire weekend. Room did not have a great view but that was not of importance to us. It was very, very quiet and we slept great.
The breakfast bar was very good and had a huge variety and plenty of seating capacity.
Very friendly hotel personnel made the visit a very pleasant experience at a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, thanks for the awesome compliment of the hotel and staff. We will be looking forward to your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great location and pretty good hotel for the price. I want to particularly praise the valet parking team associated with the hotel Parking is tight in the downtown historic district of Savannah and the 20 $ a night parking is well worh paying for. The staff that help with the parking are fantastic. They are friendly and professional. In particular, Tanya is a star. She is cool and calm and directs the parking staff well. She is so friendly and welcoming. Kevin is the other person I want to recognize, He gave me spot on directions to the local movie theater and then the next day "how was the movie?". He moved the cars in and out with precision and ease, even when it was 90-100 degrees or raining in torrents. I know it is different to focus on parking when evaluating a hotel, but to me that is huge when staying in a busy downtown in an unfamiliar city, Thanks Kevin and Tanya!

Room Tip: River view desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we will be looking forward to youyr speedy return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday -Sunday for a weekend getaway. Single queen room had a sofa bed and small bar area. Our view was nice and we could see the river from the corner of Abercorn and bay on the sixth floor. Helpful staff valet was busy but staff came and got us from the lobby once our car pulled up since it was hot outside. The location is great one block from the river and broughton streets, trolley stop right in front of hotel, the olde pink house is behind the hotel which was good for dinner. The price was spot on for the location and amenities. We did hear people in the morning and late night but our door was close to the elevator which is to be expected. Great for people on a budget looking for a nice hotel. Bring cool clothes and walking shoes savannah has so much to see!!! Thank you holiday inn express for a worry free and comfortable stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review, I'm happy to hear that we were exactley what you wanted, that speaks volumes. Please come back and see us the next time you visit Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I just wanted to take some time and express to Hope (front desk mgr) and Shavon how very thankful I am for helping my husband, Jerry, and I with our anniversary weekend. Dealing with those 2 was an absolute delight. Hope's patience to keep my reservations up to date (even through difficult circumstances at times) was so admirable. From the moment we checked in, they "stepped up". Our room was the best!!!! The view was fabulous. Shavon delivering the champagne to us personally was so special. We come to Savannah every year, and we could stay any where. We (I) chose ya'll. No regrets there. I hope to continue to have the privilege of continuing to work with you for future stays...we were totally "spoiled". Don't always find that in our travels. Once again....you 2 ladies helped make the stay for our 28th anniversary a memorable one. Rooms were nice and clean; hot breakfast in the morning with a nice variety of items. Noise not an issue, but we were up on higher floors. A pleasant trip to Savannah!!

Room Tip: This is Savannah...known for its parks and the famous "Riverstreet" down by the waters. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks Mrs. Dodd for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to have you as a guest. We miss you already and are looking forward to many more visits from you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great location, comfy bed, friendly, clean, ease of parking. Wonderful places to eat. Everything is in walking distance to river street and all the area's of historic interest. Will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: High room, water front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I'm happy you and your hubby enjoyed your stay with us! Happy belated birthday hubby!!!! Please come and see us the next time you visit Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We experienced several frustrating and inexcusable experiences at our short stay (3 nights) at the Holiday Inn.
1.) We reserved and paid extra for a corner room with a view. We checked in and got to our room and guess what? No corner room. Called and they did not have any available despite our reservation.
2.) Air Conditioning Problem #1 - Our second night the air conditioning kept on turning on and off repeatedly. A repairman came and worked on it for about an hour and "fixed" it. We should have left after this.
3.) Air Conditioning Problem #2 - Our third and final night, the air conditioning completely went out. No air conditioning at all in humid Savannah in August! Are you joking me? We called to complain and they did not have any other rooms available so at 11:30pm at night we were moved to the Hampton Inn across the street. A HUGE hassle.

Please spend your $ at one of the other many, many hotels in downtown Savannah. When on vacation, you expect a relaxing, luxurious experience, and the Holiday Inn simply does not meet these simple expectations. When we return to Savannah, we will NEVER stay at the Holiday Inn again and recommend that you do not also!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I'm so sorry that your stay was disapointing and I would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please email me at hope.garner@savannahlodging.com. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.