We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Served its Purpose Well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Served its Purpose Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with my wife the last weekend in a hot, hot July. Had lots of activities planned and needed a convenient, clean hotel with a hard working A/C. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill fantastically. Prompt valet service when we arrived and the double queen bed room was ice cold the entire weekend. Room did not have a great view but that was not of importance to us. It was very, very quiet and we slept great.
The breakfast bar was very good and had a huge variety and plenty of seating capacity.
Very friendly hotel personnel made the visit a very pleasant experience at a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, thanks for the awesome compliment of the hotel and staff. We will be looking forward to your speedy return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great location and pretty good hotel for the price. I want to particularly praise the valet parking team associated with the hotel Parking is tight in the downtown historic district of Savannah and the 20 $ a night parking is well worh paying for. The staff that help with the parking are fantastic. They are friendly and professional. In particular, Tanya is a star. She is cool and calm and directs the parking staff well. She is so friendly and welcoming. Kevin is the other person I want to recognize, He gave me spot on directions to the local movie theater and then the next day "how was the movie?". He moved the cars in and out with precision and ease, even when it was 90-100 degrees or raining in torrents. I know it is different to focus on parking when evaluating a hotel, but to me that is huge when staying in a busy downtown in an unfamiliar city, Thanks Kevin and Tanya!

Room Tip: River view desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we will be looking forward to youyr speedy return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday -Sunday for a weekend getaway. Single queen room had a sofa bed and small bar area. Our view was nice and we could see the river from the corner of Abercorn and bay on the sixth floor. Helpful staff valet was busy but staff came and got us from the lobby once our car pulled up since it was hot outside. The location is great one block from the river and broughton streets, trolley stop right in front of hotel, the olde pink house is behind the hotel which was good for dinner. The price was spot on for the location and amenities. We did hear people in the morning and late night but our door was close to the elevator which is to be expected. Great for people on a budget looking for a nice hotel. Bring cool clothes and walking shoes savannah has so much to see!!! Thank you holiday inn express for a worry free and comfortable stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJO10560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review, I'm happy to hear that we were exactley what you wanted, that speaks volumes. Please come back and see us the next time you visit Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I just wanted to take some time and express to Hope (front desk mgr) and Shavon how very thankful I am for helping my husband, Jerry, and I with our anniversary weekend. Dealing with those 2 was an absolute delight. Hope's patience to keep my reservations up to date (even through difficult circumstances at times) was so admirable. From the moment we checked in, they "stepped up". Our room was the best!!!! The view was fabulous. Shavon delivering the champagne to us personally was so special. We come to Savannah every year, and we could stay any where. We (I) chose ya'll. No regrets there. I hope to continue to have the privilege of continuing to work with you for future stays...we were totally "spoiled". Don't always find that in our travels. Once again....you 2 ladies helped make the stay for our 28th anniversary a memorable one. Rooms were nice and clean; hot breakfast in the morning with a nice variety of items. Noise not an issue, but we were up on higher floors. A pleasant trip to Savannah!!

Room Tip: This is Savannah...known for its parks and the famous "Riverstreet" down by the waters. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD0dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks Mrs. Dodd for your kind words, it is always a pleasure to have you as a guest. We miss you already and are looking forward to many more visits from you and your lovely family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great location, comfy bed, friendly, clean, ease of parking. Wonderful places to eat. Everything is in walking distance to river street and all the area's of historic interest. Will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: High room, water front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I'm happy you and your hubby enjoyed your stay with us! Happy belated birthday hubby!!!! Please come and see us the next time you visit Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We experienced several frustrating and inexcusable experiences at our short stay (3 nights) at the Holiday Inn.
1.) We reserved and paid extra for a corner room with a view. We checked in and got to our room and guess what? No corner room. Called and they did not have any available despite our reservation.
2.) Air Conditioning Problem #1 - Our second night the air conditioning kept on turning on and off repeatedly. A repairman came and worked on it for about an hour and "fixed" it. We should have left after this.
3.) Air Conditioning Problem #2 - Our third and final night, the air conditioning completely went out. No air conditioning at all in humid Savannah in August! Are you joking me? We called to complain and they did not have any other rooms available so at 11:30pm at night we were moved to the Hampton Inn across the street. A HUGE hassle.

Please spend your $ at one of the other many, many hotels in downtown Savannah. When on vacation, you expect a relaxing, luxurious experience, and the Holiday Inn simply does not meet these simple expectations. When we return to Savannah, we will NEVER stay at the Holiday Inn again and recommend that you do not also!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I'm so sorry that your stay was disapointing and I would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please email me at hope.garner@savannahlodging.com. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a corner room with King size bed which had a view of RiverWalk which was fantastic. We did have problems with our reservations for two nights. At check in they only had one night listed but was informed they would correct the situation In the morning we received a bill (this was an awards night which my husband had to correct and he was assured we had reservation for that evening. Upon returning after sightseeing we were unable to get into our room. Very frustrated went to front desk asked for manager. Nicole (front desk clerk) asked what was the problem after explaining she was very professional and accommodating to correct our problem. She even took the extra step and accompanied us to our room to make sure the problem was resolved. As a Priority Club member I always stay at Holiday Inn and have never experienced a clerk like Nicole before. Nicole actually made our stay more pleasant. Holiday Inn needs to hire more employees like Nicole.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks Darlene and Joe for the great compliment for Nicole, I will let her know of the fantastic job she is doing! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing