We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, and views from Roof.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Room, and views from Roof.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel was great from the moment we checked in. Being an IHG rewards member, they offered us free snacks for the night. Who can deny free food? The elevators where fairly quick and satisfactory. Our room was a little tight, but the bathroom made up for the limited space in the room, as it was a very decent size for a room in a historical area where room is hard to achieve. The room was very clean, and there was little to no noise that could be heard throughout the night. The pool is on a roof-deck, we did not use it, but it looked quite nice. The deck itself is a great area to hang out on a nice day, as it has a great view overlooking the Mississippi and across it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    477
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
372
753
52
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

So many other reviewers have cited the hotel's high qualities in all areas, I can't really add too much except agree it is a top place to stay. Location in a prime spot, well appointed suites and superb staff attention are factors always on my list. I reserved my room 10 months ago to guarantee getting a room in a sought after establishment, to celebrate a milestone anniversary. It did not let us down, and we left with happy memories of Savannah and the HIExpress on Bay St.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Wow, what a huge compliment, thanks for your wonderful review of our facility. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here on a family weekend trip to Savannah. Our room was a king on the 8th floor. The room was great. Just a view of the parking garage but we had not requested a view so that was fine. We loved the fact that there is a soft & firm pillow on the bed for each person. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.It had a mini fridge, mircowave and one cup coffee pot. There was a really nice stone tile shower in the bathroom. No tub though(we only take showers so no problem there) My sister's family was in a double room and they did have a tub so i guess it just depends on the type of room you have. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and spoke when they saw us. We were there on a really busy weekend so there was a lot of waiting at the elevators.One was not working when we arrived due to a thunderstorm knocking out power & that was a mess with everyone trying to check in & get to their rooms and housekeeping was trying to get from floor to floor to get the rooms all ready. All in all, a great place to stay. Everything was within walking distance & we didn't move our cars all weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of friends who had recently stayed here. They said we should book a corner king room on a high floor, which we did. The room was very large with 4 windows on two sides. There were views of the river and the ship traffic. The room was very spacious and worth the slightly more expense. This hotel was the best Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed in.

Asia at the front desk made every effort to ensure our check in went well. We arrived shortly after 3 and our room was not ready. She checked our luggage and gave us a phone call when the room was finished. The time allowed us our first chance to begin to explore this enchanting city.

The breakfast room is very large and tastefully decorated. The ladies who managed the room were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a corner king room on a high floor. If you stay on a lower floor street noise may be an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review, I will let Asia know to keep up the good work! Please some back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

When I made this reservation, the woman I spoke with promised a room on the top floor if I reserved a balcony room. At check-in I was told my room would be on the third floor, which I already knew didn't have much of a view other than tree tops. The lady at the front desk changed my reservation to floor five, but it's still not the view promised when I made the reservation. The balcony isn't much - no chair to sit on. The whole point was to watch the river, which I couldn't see except for a small space between trees. I was disappointed and I would have reserved a room without a balcony for a lower rate if I had known in advance. I cannot give this place an "excellent" review because of this.

About that balcony - mine had a huge puddle of water in it the entire time. Not fun to step around and inevitably step in anyway.

The hot tub on the roof had greenish water in it and looked disgusting. A maintenance person was called but he didn't do any work on it.

The room I had faced a very busy street and traffic noise was loud throughout the night. This didn't bother me, but another traveler might not appreciate it. Otherwise the hotel was very quiet.

The room was clean enough but could use a deep-cleaning. Water in the shower was instantly hot, but I agree with other reviewers who said there is an odd slimy feeling, almost like it's hard water and soap doesn't wash off very well.

Breakfast was the usual fair. My kids loved the pancake machine. The women running the show were super friendly.

We did not encounter any issues with the elevators as previous reviewers had mentioned.

This hotel is in a great location for exploring. I love that a trolley stop was right outside. I highly recommend the Old Town Trolley Company (the orange and green trolley).

Room Tip: Make sure you are guaranteed a higher floor if that's what you want - I was promised a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, I will make sure the front desk is better informed on the room types and the floors going forward so future guest are not inconvenienced. All recommendations are taken into consideration for the improvement of our facility, so thanks for giving us your feedback and we apologize if your stay was not to your liking. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I agree that the location of this hotel is convenient to the riverfront and historic district, but it was basically an average, old hotel. When we were there, only one of the two elevators was working. It was very slow and there was always a wait. The ice machine on our floor was also out of order. The room was small, but clean. Personnel was pleasant. Our view was the parking garage, but we didn't spend much time in the room, so that didn't detract from our visit. The rate was a little less than the hotel across the street where we usually stay on our once-a-year stop in Savannah, but they were booked. I might stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: We weren't given a choice of rooms and only saw "our" room, so I can't make a reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I want to apologize about the elevators and nay inconvenience it may have caused you. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family of four (two adults, two teenagers) stayed here for one night on the drive from Ontario, Canada to Florida. It was a little off the I-95, but worth it for a restful stop in very beautiful Savannah after a day on the road. It was a bit more expensive than hotels near the I-95, but worth it for the location and surroundings.

The rooms were very nice and our top floor room had great views of the river. The kids enjoyed the rooftop pool. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area and walking around town with its historic buildings and park squares was nice after spending hours in the car.

The internet connection was spotty on our floor (frequently dropping out altogether), but was fine on the first floor.

The hotel appeared quite busy when we were there (July 24, 2014) and it was hard to find seating at the breakfast buffet, but we eventually did.

The exercise room was a bit small and stifling with no air circulation. They should put a fan in their and air condition it a bit better. They could also use a floor exercise mat. I made these comments on checkout. I said I went up there as I thought running there would be less stifling than the outside humidity. I think I may have been wrong there.

All in all, this was a very nice place. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.