We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In The Heart Of Savannah's Historic District!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Orlando, Fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best In The Heart Of Savannah's Historic District!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is by far one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! It is on Bay St., across from the river and in the middle of the historic district. Most everything is within walking distance or you can ride free on the Dot or take trolleys. The hotel is sparkling clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are super clean! The breakfast is good and there are many choices everyday. The staff is excellent. Sherri checked us in and was a pleasure to work with. We had some dealings with Hope and she was wonderful! She told us to call her for anything we needed! The front desk is the best, the breakfast servers, housekeeping, valet and anyone else connected to the hotel were great. There is a roof top pool and cabana! There is a spectacular view of the river, bridges and city! We will be going back to this great hotel!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    421
    72
    26
    15
See reviews for
339
669
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place was great in everyway. The price the service the cleanliness it all was outstanding! The second day the TV died. They had it replaced in less than an hour. It is within walking distance of all the tourist sites. The free breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The only drawback and it was minor: The concierge was not that helpful. She was really only there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location in historic district is really the best. Our room was well-kept well furnished very comfortable. The pool on the roof has view of the city and the river is fantastic. The breakfast bar is very well-done and the seating is very comfortable with plenty of space
The valet parking of the car went very well
The customer service was very positive
We will very much consider staying here again
This hotel is heads and shoulders above that location on Abercorn in Midtown which I gave a review of

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited Savannah this weekend for my wife's birthday, and stayed at the HI Express. We are Ambassador Club members with IHG, and often select HI Express in our travels. They are generally nice, clean, well-managed and offer breakfast.
My wife and I agreed that this is the nicest, most uniquely quaint HI Express we have experienced.
It sits on E. Bay Rd., right across the street from the river, with a rooftop pool and patio that is lovely and has outside seating mad a covered area as well (in case of the occasional thunderstorm that hits and runs in the summer).
Nice visit! We will return, as we recently moved to St. Marys, GA,, only an hour and a half away!

Room Tip: Inner rooms may be quieter. There is some street noise from E. Bay if you are on that side, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, yesterday
WOW, what an compliment to be considered as the nicest HI Express you have ever visited, and to be an Ambassador with the brand, that speaks volumes! We really appreciate your loyalty and taking the time to write us such an amazing review. We would love to be your choice hotel when visiting Savannah! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not only does this hotel have a great location, right across from the Riverwalk, in the center of the Historic District, but you recieve warm and friendly service, taboot! There roof top pool is a treat and offers a wonderful view of the sunset.The rooms are spacious. The beds are okay and I am not a fan of the valet parking. Nontheless, I will stay here everytime I visit!

Room Tip: Vending and ice are on the odd floors. As far as a room goes, who cares? There's a whole lot to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for the amazing review, and kind words regarding our staff, you rock! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fabulous weekend, visiting Savannah with our two teenagers: *excellent* riverfront location; super-friendly and helpful staff (including valets); room was very nice and clean; great breakfast; rooftop pool, view and seating area was awesome! We would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We will be looking forward to your return, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sunday we decided to go on a trip to Savannah and wanted to leave on Monday. It was great called had reservations with no problem. So we pack and left the next day. Loved the location right across the from the cotton exchange. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We walked all thru town and also rode the trolleys.
The breakfast bar was wonderful knowing you could grab something before taking off for the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for the great review, please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.