We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We arrived late on our way to Florida and were greeted by two very friendly young ladies at the front desk! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable! The view looking out to the river was beautiful! We were on the 3rd floor right behind the streetlight which was rather bright, but that's ok!! :) The concierge was so helpful and got us reservations on the horse ride tour which was a quick way to hit all the tops spots around town. Although I would recommend the tour companies having a separate ride for people with children. I loved the décor of the hotel and would most certainly stay there again! It was in walking distance of all kinds of shops, restaurants and sightseeing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is higher up than the street lights! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for the 5 star ratings. I'm happy to hear you were greeted by kind and friendly faces at the front desk. Looking forward to your return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    479
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
373
754
52
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in the historic district of Savannah. Everything was in walking distance - great location! Our room was clean and updated. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and the pool and hot tub on the rooftop were added bonus. Thought the price was a little high but I think it was because we stayed over Easter. Free breakfast was great - pancakes, scrambled cheese eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, muffins, etc. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Would stay higher up. We were on the 2nd floor and had a view of the river but would have liked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful compliment. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in the historic district of Savannah. We had considered staying at one of the beautiful B&B's but chose this hotel instead because of where it was located and we thought we might be arriving later in the evening so having a 24 hour desk was important. Many of the B&B's are further south, not as close to the restaurants.

We were very happy with the location; had a view of River Street and the Savannah River. There is a small amount of street noise but the windows are excellent. I'm a very light sleeper and it didn't bother me at all. The room was spotless; the bed comfortable and the cleaning staff very pleasant.

Breakfast is standard for these types of hotels... good but not great but there was decent selection and filled us up for the day. The breakfast area is very busy and it can be difficult to find a table; however, people tend to eat and get on with their day so the tables turn over quickly. We were told that we could also get up early and come down (i.e. 7:30am rather than 9:30am). If you are an early riser, that might be a good thing to do.

The concierge was very helpful. She booked tickets for us on the trolley tour as well as the river cruise. She also made several restaurant recommendations which were excellent and booked table reservations for us.

Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for the 5 star rating, we want to be your choice hotel when returning to Savannah! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Savannah's historic distric when staying at the hotel. Everything was within walking distance! Brittany at the front desk was more helpful than we could have ever asked for, and she always greeted us with a smile. Highly recommend this place, will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Great! Thank you for the 5 star rating, "Perfect in every way" is an outstanding compliment for us. I will let Brittany knowf the fantastic service she delivered is not going unnoticed. We are looking forward to your speedy return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here for our two nights in Savannah. The historic parks were just outside our door and it was great to be able to wander from square to square listening to the various musicians playing each evening. Best of all, our room was on the seventh floor with a great view of the river. Huge cargo ships passed by frequently and there was an unexpected but terrific fireworks display on a Monday night - it was highly entertaining! The staff was so very friendly, the place was clean and modern with as good a "free" breakfast as any I've seen - considering all that with the superb location I will happily stay here any time I return to Savannah!

Room Tip: Do opt for a room with a view on a higher floor - it's worth the small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the kind words, and 5 star rating, we value or guest feedback and I’m happy you enjoyed all Savannah has to offer. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was recently at this hotel for four nights with my husband and 10 year old son, it was our first trip to Savannah. I found the price of the hotel quite good considering it is a nice place in a very convenient location, it is right across from the river and an easy walk to everything that we did in the city. Room was clean, bathroom counter spacious, beds and pillows very comfortable. Was very nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good. My only complaint was parking, we choose upon checkin to park in the city garage right next door b/c was less expensive than using the valet, but 3 days later when we used the car to go to Tybee Island, we found that public garage to be full upon our return and so were several others nearby so we ended up using the valet. But in my opinion, that was minor and would not deter us from staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask about a river view - we were in 606 and had a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, parking can be a bit of an issue so upon returning if you do choose to self-park and find that the garage is you can always switch over to valet parking for your convenience. I'm glad to hear overall everything was great. Looking forward to your return, and have an awesome day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Staff was very friendly, location was fantastic close to everything. Room was quite with ample room.

Will stay at this hotel again, next time for leisure

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review, we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.