We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Middlebury, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When walked in we were greeted by the front desk with a friendly smile and a "Hello" The hotel was very, very nice. Our room was very clean and large. We did a lot of walking around the Historic district and it was nice that we did not even have to take our car our one time. You are just one block away from the river front and again, everything we wanted to do was within walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was good too and changed every morning we stayed. Thanks to the hotel staff for being so kind and always with smiles on their faces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for noticing the efforts of the staff to make your stay was amazing with great customer service. We are not perfect, but we really do try to make sure our guest receive the best customer service. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    421
    72
    26
    15
See reviews for
339
669
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I am not one to write reviews, prefer to do it in person, however I feel I need to put this in print to thank the individual publicly. Recently we visited Savannah, GA and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in the Historic District. We were very pleased with our stay there. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had some issues with wireless computer access but received service within minutes of our call to the front desk. However, one individual stands out and I feel his service was above and beyond, and wanted to recognize Mr. Alfonce McKinney for his outstanding service. Having been to dinner at one of the fabulous restaurants by the river, I had hoped to have some southern style pecan pie but to my disappointment they did not serve it. When we got back to the hotel, Alfonce was at the desk, he asked us how our evening was going. I told him about my craving for the pie, right away he went on line to find a place that might have it. He gave us the names of the three places and we headed out to find them, but alas, none was to be found. I was surprised by that, thought Savannah, GA would be the perfect place to experience the famous southern style pecan pie. We headed back to our hotel disappointed. Once again, Alfonce greeted us, wondering how we made out. He was surprised at the outcome and again got back on line to search further. He had customers coming and going so we thanked him and told him not to worry as we were going to retire for the evening. About 20 minutes later our door bell rang, and there to our surprise was Alfonce holding a white styrofoam container with a piece of pecan pie. Apparently he found a place nearby and also insisted we not reimburse him for it. What a wonderfully kind gesture. From now on whenever I have some or see pecan pie, Alfonce, I will think of you. Thank you for making the extra effort, it was truly appreciated. With a heart as big as yours you will go a long way in the hospitality industry. With heartfelt thanks, Bridget Bean, Cape Coral, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so very much. I really do appreciate everything you have said. I look to make every guest experience amazing and it looks like I hit the mark with your stay. Your time spent with us was great and I really did enjoy talking to you. Thank you again and please come back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived around 1:30pm and our room was available. I asked if a suite was available but the hotel was sold out. Our room had 2 double beds, refrigerator, microwave and all were clean. The bathroom was a decent size with plenty of towels and toiletries. The hotel lost power one evening and we had to take the stairs it was off for about an hour after the thunderstorm. We did use the pool which was a decent size there are a few lounge chairs and towels are available but they are small you will need 2 or 3 to lay on while sun bathing. There are also tables and unbrellas. The pool closes at 10pm and you can not open the door to see the view during that time either. Breakfast was great eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, fruit etc. The eggs were cooked a different style and the sausage was links or patties. The staff was very nice and held our luggage for us since check out was 11am an we were not leaving until 4pm. There is a Savannah book in the night stand between the beds and the hotel information book was located in the desk. All the great reviews about this hotel are correct and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a few or higher level when you book your reservations. After talking with anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We were greeted with congratulations upon check in and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. The room was clean with a river view balcony. You have to check out the rooftop pool! The location is ideal. Directly across from the river, a trolley stop, shops and dining. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we were looking for places to go. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my wife and one year old daughter for one night. The hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown. The riverside is 2 minutes away and many of the top-rated restaurants in the area are 5-10 minutes away.

We stayed at the top floor with a beautiful river view. We paid 10 bucks extra for it, but it was worth it (room with a view category). The room was nice and clean. However the mattress was worn out, and it was collapsed in the middle. We were sooo tired for any room change at night, but I woke up at 5 with back pain (then I couldn't sleep). The shower cabin was also leaking and the floor went wet every time we had a shower.

If I could sleep well, I could give it 4 stars. However, sleeping comfort is the most important thing in a hotel. Therefore, I will give it two stars.

Room Tip: - As already mentioned by other users, stay at a high floor with view. - The rooms at top floor do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear gatorhope,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

You got a single queen room thinking it would be "cozy" due to the price, but the room is very spacious. Excellent staff and the location can't be beat. The hotel is quiet and clean and nicely decorated. We'll be returning to enjoy the rooftop pool... even with a extra day, we've run out of time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express (albeit a little nicer than most in the line). I've come to expect a decent night's stay, good Internet access and decent free breakfast at all Holiday Inn Express facilities, and this one did not disappoint.

Check-in was speedy, the room oddly shaped (but nicely appointed), the bed was pretty good (a little stiff but very good linens made up for any inadequacies), but the shower was outstanding (better than most). The walls are quite thin - it might have been my particular room, but it was difficult to concentrate when working at the desk (you could hear EVERYONE as the walked down the hall). I was worried it might make sleep difficult, but it did not. The breakfast was very good (better than most).

Overall, a satisfying stay and while I still have my favorites in Savannah, this location is more than acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.