We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Winter Haven
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are great. Had a walk in shower. If you want a view of the river go 6th floor and up. We were on the 4th floor and couldn't see the river. The location is the best. Choose this hotel for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    479
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
373
754
52
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great view of the river on the 8th floor. The room was very quiet. The motel is located at a trolley stop which made it convenient. We took the trolley tour the first day and used the DOT system which is free the following day. We parked in the parking garage next door instead of using the valet. You can walk to any location from the hotel. Overall I was very pleased since I don't normally stay at a Holiday Inn. I made a reservation at this location since it had queen beds, the Hampton Inn only has doubles. The breakfast was very good. We had a problem with the shower head being partially clogged from lime so it had very little water coming out. The problem was corrected immediately by maintenance. I was very pleased so I will stay here again!

Room Tip: High floors have a good view of the river. Use the city garage parking instead of the valet. Use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff is great. Valet, Monique was the best. She was so pleasant and happy to please. It was our pleasure to meet her. We had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good and the room was clean, nice and very comfortable. Desk clerks were great and we really enjoyed our stay. Will stay there any time we visit Savannah

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This location puts you in the heart of the historic district. Within walking distance to almost everything worth going to while we visited there. There are a lot of areas to see and if you do not want to walk everywhere, you can hop on the trolley and tour the city too. Then later you can go back to some of the places on the tour for a closer look, as we did on our trip.

The hotel has breakfast with your typical eggs, bacon and pancakes. Fresh hot coffee, rolls and a good assortment of breads as well.
We had a double queen room with a balcony facing the river side of the hotel. This was worth the extra money just to be able to see the river and frequent river traffic as well.
Since the hotel is located on a main street, it can get noisy in the daytime - but at night it calms down.
The parking can be a problem if you try and do it yourself. The garage next door is run by the city and focuses on the daily business people - before letting others in.
The garage actually stayed "closed" to anyone but regular monthlies for 3 days. We were forced to use the valet service with the hotel, though we never used our car until we left the city for our next destination.
It was not the fault of the hotel but not exactly fair to people who do not want to valet their vehicles.
The reception areas, eating areas, hallways and room were clean.
The staff was always helpful and pleasant, especially the desk attendants and the valet. The city of Savannah is full of rich southern history, soft spoken friendly people and a great place to savor southern cooking and hospitality.

Room Tip: High floor room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a great view of the river but be weary of the freight boats blowing their horn. Close to the historic areas, shopping, food and pubs. Caution, look for cheaper parking on the street or city parking garage. It will otherwise cost you $20 a night. The service staff friendly and accommodating. The elevators need a scrub down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

New and very clean in every respect. Had a corner room with 2 windows, roof pool a gem with a fantastic view of the river, the breakfast room by far the largest we have seen and best selection of food especially the huge, warm cinnamon buns. Just steps to the river front, and easy walking to sites in the historic district.. The public parking garage was adjacent and cheaper than valet parking. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Savannah's historic district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stay in many hotels in the Southeast, quite often in a Holiday Inn Express. The Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District is one of the best. What stands out about the hotel, beyond the excellent location and quality rooms and amenities is the service that is given. The guest services staff are outstanding, helpful and friendly and truly seeking to assist you. Several times when I would ask directions to local attractions they would quickly hand me a MapQuest map with the detailed directions from the hotel.

I want to give special mention to the breakfast staff. One of the reasons I choose the Holiday Inn Express is its great breakfast and signature cinnamon rolls. At the Savannah Historic District the staff always made sure tables were clean, food replenished and always seemed to be available and helpful when you needed them but didn't hover and make you feel rushed or uncomfortable like so many hostesses and hosts do. They were pleasant and polite and always seeking to serve in a way that makes me proud to live in the south.

I highly commend the hotel and its outstanding staff.

Room Tip: The corner rooms above the fifth floor have amazing views or any room above the fifth lets you see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff for doing such good work. We thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.