We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at it's Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 112 hotels in Savannah
trvln4fun
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at it's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor for recommending this hotel. I would highly recommend this as a great place to stay. What really impressed us was how friendly everyone was and how welcome they made us feel. The room was very clean and the hotel itself was situated in a great area close to everything. Breakfast was more than adequate and a perfect way to start off the day. The parking garage was right next door which made it very convenient. We would definitely stay there again. If I could have added a half star, I would have rated this hotel 4 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    906
    421
    72
    26
    15
See reviews for
340
670
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In the heart of downtown. Walking distance to great restaurants, trolley stop across street. Clean rooms and a great breakfast. Valet parking $20 @ day. Only cons were slow elevator and shower pressure, otherwise very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I loved this hotel so much. We went on a trip and the hotel and the area are so beautiful. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice. This hotel had a nice bar and a free breakfast so we didnt even have to leave.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was in Savannah to meet with family member's on vacation from Missouri. I was warmly greeted and treated to an exceptional room.#818. It was a corner room with a great view of the river. It also had a king size bed with micro and fridge which came in handy for leftovers and the room was sparkling clean. The mattress and sheets are always the first thing I check before unpacking. The breakfast was complimentary with eggs, sausage, bacon, pastry's, juices, pancakes and fruit. I have stayed here a couple of times and the staff have been helpful and kind both times. But the room this time was wonderful. They also have a roof top pool with a view of the river and an exercise room. I stayed for 2 nights and the cost was 231.00 total. Great experience!

Room Tip: room 818 is in a corner of the hotel and I was not disturbed at all from the busy street below or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I'm glad to see that you really enjoyed your room. That is one of our most popular rooms. We are happy that you had time well spent in the hotel and in the city. We are sure a lot of travels will appreciate the details given in your review. Thank you again for your patronage and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the 2nd time staying in Savannah in 3 years. A couple of years ago we stayed at the DoubleTree down the street which is good also. We stayed here due to the pricing. It's a big difference coming to Savannah on a Friday compared to a Monday when we came here two years ago. We stayed for 4 nights and stayed in the leisure room. The room was what we expected. Since it was a leisure room we didn't have a room on Bay street. It had a fridge/microwave and a sink. One minor issue was that the toilet chain broke inside so it couldn't flush. We called and it was quickly fixed, also the toilet made a "strange" noise but that was fixed also. The only "not so good" thing was the TV. The TV is a VIZIO so when you turn off the TV the back light with VIZIO on it is still bright. It just became a problem at night when i couldn't go to sleep because it was distracting. No problem we just had to unplug the TV and the light went out. This shouldn't hinder anyone from going to this hotel it wasn't a biggie. For valet parking do your homework before going. It is 20/day with in and out service. We parked in the garage located next to the hotel. On the weekend the garage is $5.00/day with no in and out service so you need to pay $5.00 every time you leave. It wasn't a problem with us since you walk everywhere in Savannah. The problem is the lot gets full on the weekend, so you may have to park elsewhere. If you are staying during the week, inside the same parking garage their is an office to get a day pass which cost $7.00 with in and out service. I believe for two days during the week you pay $12.00 for this pass. Instead of paying $80 for valet, I paid $53.00. I wasn't too happy with the bar because it seemed that they didn't have consistent hours. We went there on Friday night at 9:50 and it was closed already. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is better than i got. Great location with a lot of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are glad that you chose to stay with us! It is our deepest apology that you had minor issues with the room, but we are happy with knowing your issues got resolved quickly. Unfortunately, our bar stays open until the last person is served. Consistent bar hours are something we may look into improving in the future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. As we pulled into the valet parking center we were greeted with smiles and efficient unloading service. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice. This hotel had a nice bar and a free breakfast that came with pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, bagels, muffins, and plenty of juice and coffee. The rooms were very clean and big. The hotel is right across the water front where there are tons of shops and restaurants, but it is also in the center of the historic district. This hotel was one of the best I've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are ecstatic to know you loved your stay! It is always a pleasure serving our guests, and we strive to provide nothing but excellence. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent location, very clean, plenty of space in the room for a family of four, great breakfast, lovely rooftop pool with great view of river. Charge for valet parking $20 a day, but at weekends it's cheaper to park your car yourself in the car park next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! I hope our facility and service was everything you and your family hoped for. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.