We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and the Nicest Holiday Express I've ever seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and the Nicest Holiday Express I've ever seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location close to so much! Free delicious continental breakfast with: pancakes, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, bagels, cereal and more! The bed was comfy and loved the pillows...they had soft and firm ones. Nice walk in shower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Wow!! That means a lot that you would say that. It is a lot of Holiday Inn Express's and we are happy to see that we measure up to some of the best. Thank you for the review and please, please come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    443
    81
    27
    16
See reviews for
357
705
49
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We do not normally write up hotel reviews as we sometimes find them a bit too subjective. However, in this case we are going to make an exception.

We booked three nights in the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District, as part of a touring holiday, in part for its location and the fact that it had a swimming pool. We arrived at the hotel on Tuesday 16 July 2013 at about 16:00 only to find out that the pool was closed until tomorrow morning for cleaning. We then found out that our room was not yet ready and we would have to wait. We eventually got into the room at 16:20 and made ourselves a drink. At which point we took off our shoes only to find out that part of the floor was wet. From the smell it was at best stale alcohol or at worst urine (definitely not any cleaning fluid as suggested by hotel staff). We complained and our room was changed. At this point we were also of the frame of mind to let these problems go as some things are outside of the hotels control.

Next day we were out all day exploring Savannah (which we would highly recommend as it is a very nice city). Returning to our hotel we decided to go for a swim only to find out that the pool was still closed until tomorrow (does it ever come) for cleaning. We were told that we could use the pool at the hotel across the road. However, after taking a look we decided not to take up the offer as we would have to get fully and properly dressed to get to and from the pool. So we decided to go back to our room to shower only to find that the room had not been serviced (by now it was 16:30). Consequently there were no clean towels or products in the room. We complained and these were provided – we also said that it was now too late to make up the room.
We discussed these on-going disappointments and decided that enough was enough and decided to check out the next morning – a night early. The hotel staff again apologised for the problems and offered to wave the $60 valet parking charge (very generous as we would only incur $40 charges for two nights). They also offered a room change - but we were not interested in this as we would have to pack up our bags for a third time at this hotel. There was no offer of a refund as the room had been pre-paid (we do not fully understand this logic as they could simply pay back the fee to the booking company and get them to repay us – but this is a separate issue).

In the morning when we checked out we were told that the Front Office Manager would contact us by email. This as of Saturday evening (three days late) has not happened.

All in all one disappointment after another. We are $90 down on this part of the holiday but we still think we made the right decision to move on a day early. This was the first time that we have ever left a hotel before the end of a planned stay.

Room Tip: You will love it or hate it at this hotel - good luck. Front rooms with balconies are noisy as the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very sorry for the way your trip went with us. We never want to have a guest leave early because of the service at our hotel. I want to personally apologize for not getting your message. I will make sure you are contacted immediately to rectify the situation. Please don't let this one experience leave a bad taste for our hotel. I assure you that we are better than that and look for us to make up for this in the future if you ever decide to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked this hotel due the location and amazing reviews on here. The staff did not disappoint. They were very hospitable and even worked for hours on our Internet issues. The front desk booked our dinner date at The Pink House for our anniversary. The room was a decent size and very clean. My only issue was the pool was closed for the entire stay. They did offer access to a neighboring hotel's pool but we did not take them up on that. The breakfast is great for being continental! This a great location in the heart of the historic district!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving a great review. We do apologize about the pool. We had some difficulties and we are glad to see that the pool did not ruin your trip. Thank you for your patronage and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Only stayed there one night but the staff was very friendly. It 's a great location, within walking distance of City Market, River Street, and many restaurants. The hotel is clean, has a large welcoming lobby, and has a very nice free breakfast. The online rate is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was one of the best experiences at a hotel we have had in quite sometime. We drove from TN. and our first visit to Savanna, GA. The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful.The location is convenient to River St. and all the nice shops. The rooms were nice and clean, the housekeeping staff even checked back before leaving to see if everything was in order. The rooftop pool is definitely an added plus with the fantastic river view and all the River St. Activity.You can purchase trolley tour tickets at the front desk desk and the stop is right outside, how convenient is that. We had fun learning the history of Savanna . Oh, I forgot the breakfast, setup similar to buffet, you could ask for a better kick start to your day. We are already planning a return trip this fall.

Room Tip: The 8th floor has a nice river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Savannah - it is within walking distance of plenty of things to do including the City Market and River Street. The hotel is clean and comfortable and quiet. We had a room on the sixth floor with a great view of the river and Bay St. Would definitely stay here again. Parking garage next to the hotel is a city garage - so we self parked for about $8.00 but we walked everywhere. Valet parking has in & out privileges and a guaranteed place to park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great weekend getaway location. Right across from the river and all it's great shops and pubs. Within walking distance of everything in Historic Savannah. There's even a trolley stop right outside if you don't want to walk (there's a charge for the trolley though).

Breakfast was great: eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits and all the other continental favorites. Fantastic way to start your day of touring the city.

Bed was super comfortable, but be sure to request extra pillows. They skimp a bit on those, but then again, I LOVE lots of pillows.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a bar in the hotel, but it's not open on Sunday.

And be sure to check out the pool/hot tub on the roof. Glorious view of the river. Towels are provided as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Same price just a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.