We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Service and great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have become a loyal fan of the Holiday Inn Express in the historic area of Savannah, GA. It is by far one of the nicest Holiday inn properties in the south. Gustavo, the bartender made our trip. He was super friendly, resourceful and of course served us some great drinks! A great place to stay!
-Neetu

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    831
    384
    63
    24
    15
See reviews for
309
613
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location, very helpful staff and one of the best expanded continental breakfasts in mainstream hotels we have experienced. Room 423 was on the alley, quiet from street but it backed onto the elevator/vending machine/ice machine. Rooftop/hot tub pool was nice. The 4-10pm bar wasn't great; had a nice drink the first night but on the second night we dropped in at 8:30 and it was closed. We purchased the package with three tours and wouldn't do that again as the Juliete Gordon Lowe House was lame, as was the riverboat cruise, however the Old Town Trolley was excellent. We would stay there again for sure but not in 423.

Room Tip: The "23" rooms back onto the elevator/ice machine and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on E. Bay Street just across the street from steps leading down to River Street (Note: Steps are steep). We had a room with a king bed, desk, flat screen TV, small sitting area at window overlooking E. Bay with river in background. The room and ensuite had an updated traditional feel and decor. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower (no tub) and a small vanity and sink. The vanity was a bit small for my liking. The infamous "Pink House" restaurant is located directly behind the hotel on Abercorn. You have to use the city parking garage directly behind the hotel and are charged $15 per day (although my reservation confirmation said it would be $20/day). This seems to be the norm in the Historic District since parking is limited. Did not use any of the hotel features. My husband liked their full breakfast. The room & bathroom were clean and the hotel employees were friendly and cheerful.

Room Tip: Rooms may not have a bathtub. Check with hotel if you require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about 6 times over the past few years. I have always had a good experience with everything from check-in to departure. Not the case last weekend. I arrived on Friday afternoon. They were very busy and the valet parking and check-in were totally overwhelmed. Several of the staff mentioned that they were short handed. My room needed vacuumed and the bathroom was far from spotless. I requested that someone come to finish the job but the cleaning crew did not get there until 3:00 the next afternoon. The manager is a nice guy and said "if we can do anything let us know!" I made 2 requests, both about cleaning. No response. This is not acceptable especially in a premium room. I always ask for the corner suite on a high floor. They were able to honor that request. It offered a terrific view of the river. I really hope I caught them on a bad day and they improve in the future so I can continue to stay here...

Room Tip: A higher floor will help with traffic noise from bay street and offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Please accept our apology for all of the discomforts that you encountered during your stay. We too agree that any disappointments, on our end are unacceptable and will be dually noted, addressed, and resolved. Thank you for choosing to stay at our property throughout the years and our hope is that you will continue to select our property and allow us the opportunity to be once again the brand that you trust and rely on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fine and the location is nice. The hotel is hot in the hallways and rooms. We had our air turned all the way down and the room never cooled down. It was cooler outside than in our room. We let the front desk know the next morning and it was still not taken care of. Rhis is April and the high only was up to 81. I definitely would not be able to sleep there in the hotter months.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We apologize for your discomfort and wish that we could have resolved the issue during your stay. Although your duration at our property was disheartening, we hope that you enjoyed the city along with the many activities available as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I visited Savannah last week and stayed at Holiday Inn Express with high hopes. We were less than impressed with the room quality. The checkin was fast, no issue there. We arrived on a Thursday and missed the weekend rush. However, on Friday we discovered 2 weddings and a golf tournament crowd were checking in, and the staff must have been in a tizzy over the turnover. Our room did not get serviced that morning; we arrived back and the manager said he would send the maid up but she never arrived. Additionally, the coffee did not get replaced in the room, nor was there cream or sugar packets available. We went down to the lobby to retrieve these ourselves twice. Though I was not expecting 5-star quality, the towels were obviously worn out and had the consistency of sandpaper. There was a big red stain on the carpet beside the bed. The mattress was extremely firm and we both tossed and turned on it during our stay. On Saturday, our TV didn't work; all the channels had vertical bars. We reported this to the hotel and were told they would report it to maintenance. We never heard back from them. About an hour later, the TV signal returned. Whether maintenance fixed it or this was conicidence we will never know since no one followed up with us.

On the plus side, the location is very convenient and the free breakfast buffet was good. Though the staff was not especially helpful in attending our issues, they were very friendly and courteous each time we spoke with them. Given the not-inconsiderable sum we spent for 4 nights in this hotel, I expected less problems with the room. Next time, we will book elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property and please accept my apology on behalf of our staff. We hope that you enjoyed yourselves in the city and wish that you would again consider our property so that we are able to show you how much we truly do value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is so far above what you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. The lobby is really nice,the rooms are great. Very comfortable beds and they each have refrigerators and microwaves as well as coffee makers. The location is fantastic, right across the street from River Street, steps away from one of Savannah's best restaurants, The Olde Pink House. The hotel has a cute little bar with very personable bar tenders. There is a great pool and hot tub on the rooftop and they have both valet and self-parking. I just got back from 5 days there and every person from the valets, desk clerks, bartenders, housekeepers could not have been nicer or more helpful. Free wi-fi too!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have extra windows. It is loud if you are facing Bay Street because there is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are appreciative of your gracious comments and are excited that you were able to enjoy all of our many amenities. Looking forward to seeing and serving you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn
Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.