We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is so far above what you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express. The lobby is really nice,the rooms are great. Very comfortable beds and they each have refrigerators and microwaves as well as coffee makers. The location is fantastic, right across the street from River Street, steps away from one of Savannah's best restaurants, The Olde Pink House. The hotel has a cute little bar with very personable bar tenders. There is a great pool and hot tub on the rooftop and they have both valet and self-parking. I just got back from 5 days there and every person from the valets, desk clerks, bartenders, housekeepers could not have been nicer or more helpful. Free wi-fi too!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have extra windows. It is loud if you are facing Bay Street because there is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are appreciative of your gracious comments and are excited that you were able to enjoy all of our many amenities. Looking forward to seeing and serving you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    416
    71
    25
    15
See reviews for
334
661
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Savannha. The hotel was in The perfect location. The staff was GREAT and so very helpful they did everything they could to make out stay pleasant. ! It was too cold to swim but the hot tub was nice and very clean!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are glad that you were able to at least experience some portion of our rooftop area; hopefully during your NEXT visit, you will be afforded the opportunity to experience the pool as well. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located between the historic district and the river. Great location for walking the district or the River Street area. Staff was very accommodating and the room was very comfortable. Valet parking consist of parking your car in the garage next door and having 24 hour access. This was not a problem. The breakfast was all you could ask for and more. Drove to Tybee Island several times to walk the beach. We stayed on the Bay Street side of the hotel. There is traffic noise that subsides in the late pm. We were so tired every night it didn't matter. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: The balcony on the river side was nice to view from. Take the tour company through the historic dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting our property and we are enthused that you enjoyed not only your hotel stay, but enjoyed our beautiful historic city as well! Looking forward to seeing you again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Six floor room still could be noisy from noise on street but glad we were up that high. Liked the roof top pool close to river area helpful bellhop as to recommending place to est thought
Trolley tour recommended was too pricey

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay at our property and we wish that you were able to participate in the historic tours! Maybe on your next stay we will be able to better assist you with the pricing of some of your chosen extracurricular activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was great, the room was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. The staff were very responsive when we had an issue with a loud wedding party in the middle of the night. I would definitely recommend this hotel,when staying in Savannah. We parked in the city garage next door and then moved the car to street parking on Saturday as parking is free on street Saturday and Sunday. We used the DOT free bus, which has a stop close to hotel, walked, and used the little golf cart paid transportation once for dinner. Great time in Savannah.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are thrilled that your stay was an enjoyable and fun-filled one. Thank you for choosing our property for your travelling pleasures and we hope that when you return, we are again at the top of your list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Probably the best Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in (and I travel quite frequently for work). Savannah has many beautiful B&B's, of course, but the combined expenses of hotel, food, transportation, activities, and souvenirs can make for quite an expensive trip. We travelled in April 2013 and our rates were well below $200 each night - taxes included. Parking is in the local city structure and is $15. Absolutely gorgeous, Savannah country elegance throughout! Lovely, modern, updated rooms and gorgeous granite counters and glass-door showers in the bathrooms. Bed was unfrocking-believable. I couldn't lay down without instantly falling asleep on the warm down bedding and cloud-like pillows. Heaven. Breakfast was included each morning, too - and it was a very nice spread! Conveniently straddles River St area and Historic District. No reason to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your extremely generous explanation of our property. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service and we see that our work does not go unrecognized. Thank you for choosing us and we will be anxiously awaiting your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our anniversary & we had a wonderful experience. The staff is so friendly & helpful. Memet (not sure of the spelling) the doorman, made us feel welcomed as soon as we arrived. He helped us carry our luggages to our room. He gave us directions when we needed & tips where to eat. Such a friendly guy.

We requested for a Riverview room but we didn't get it but no big deal. Our room was still nice, spacious & clean. The bed was comfortable. One of the things I wasn't crazy about was the pillow, kinda small. Another problem was our room location. We were near the elevator. Some of the guests were noisy & we could hear it from our room. Next time, we'll request for a quieter room. Bathroom was spacious & clean. Our room also had a small fridge & a microwave which was a bonus.

Breakfast was good, actually better & had more variety than most hotels we've stayed in. I love the cinnamon rolls. We were able to get coffee during the day even if it was past breakfast time already.

Parking in Savannah is a problem but there's a garage next to the hotel where you can park at a cheaper rate than what the hotel charges but it was full when we were there. So we just paid the hotel parking fee ($15) which wasn't too bad. We didn't use our car during our entire stay coz we walked almost everyday.

The location of this hotel is great. It is near River Street where most of the stores, restaurants & bars are. We even viewed the fireworks on Friday from our room which was great. We took the Trolley Tour to give us an idea where to go and in the succeeding days, we just walked around. It's walking distance to most of the places we wanted to go to. On the day of our Anniversary, we had reservations at Paula Deen's restaurant & we just walked coz it's only a few blocks away from the hotel.

Overall our stay was wonderful, exceeded my expectations. I would go back to this hotel again if we're in Savannah. Highly recommended!!! Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
What an honor it is that you chose to stay at our property during your anniversary! Next time, please be sure to alert the front desk staff of any issues you encounter and we will do our very best to further accommodate you. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to future anniversaries with you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.