We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Wonderful Nights in Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auburn
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Two Wonderful Nights in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express Historic District and couldn't be more satisfied. It has a perfect location and the facility was clean, updated and the staff was very nice. I highly recommend this property if you want to explore the Old Town!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Awesome review! We thank you for choosing our hotel and would love for you to return in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    512
    97
    31
    17
See reviews for
391
799
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, NJ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I read the reviews and chose the HIE based on the good reviews. We were not disappointed. The reception was friendly, the room looked like new and the amenities were great. Enjoyed the breakfast in a clean comfortable area. The hotel is perfectly situated in the historic area near shops, dining and historic attractions. We did not need our car. Although advertised, there is no valet parking available so we parked ourselves in the garage next door which was fine and cheaper. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from vending and elevators. Some say the street side is noisy but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for making us your Savannah destination. We are glad to see that our previous reviews helped in your decision and that we did not disappoint. We aim to please and it appears we hit the mark with you. Thank you again and please do stay with us on your next trip to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and while the hotel was nicely appointed, some smaller issues outweighed the positives for us. We too encountered a less than happy front desk clerk who only wanted to speak as few words as possible and get us on our way.

I had wanted to research places to visit, etc. on my ipad during the trip but was unable to because of the horrific wifi. We tried many times and while we could finally log in and put the hotel's password, it went no further. I inquired at the front desk and she said I just needed to keep trying as it was full. Really disappointed to pay $200 per night and have not internet???

The hotel does not change the sheets daily but rather leaves a card that you can hang on the door should wish to have them changed. We put the card out because on the very first night, we found dried blood on 2 of the pillowcases and wanted them changed. Upon returning, we found they did in fact change the bed sheets but NOT the bloody pillowcases.??

We had the misfortune of having drunk neighbors on both sides of us on the last night who made such a ruckus after midnight. We were in an "adjoining" room and the drunks tried to get into our room through the locked middle door. We called security but they either never came of came and did nothing as the drunks enjoyed their partying well into 3am. There was no sleep for any of us that night and we really should have packed and left for the trip home.

I don't think we will be traveling again any time soon. This experience will make us wary from now on. If you are looking for a family stay, look around and choose wisely as this may not be the right one for you.

Room Tip: River Street is loud so either ask for a room on a high level or give up the view and get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am completely disappointed in the way your stay went. I apologize for the lack of service my staff displayed and I assure you this is not a common behavior. I will personally work with the staff members from the time you were here to let them know of the poor service given to an important part of our hotel success. We pride ourselves on providing quality service and during your stay we failed to do so and for that I sincerely apologize. Thank you for choosing our hotel and if you ever see fit to give us another chance I assure you that it will be a much better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have not stayed at a hotel chain in many years but recently stayed in two Holiday Inns. We were very pleasantly surprised. This one in Savannah is right on the waterfront! It has beautiful upscale decor and modern furniture for a very reasonable price. It seems that the south likes government employees/military as we receive a full third off room prices. The breakfast at this Inn was free and very good. Better than most of the continent breakfasts I have had. They have a wide selection and serve a two egg omelette with cheese and have an automatic pancake maker which I found quaint. Coffee was not bad either. Rooms were very clean and staff very friendly. We stayed in a room right on Bay Street on 4th floor and only downfall was some traffic noise in the morning. (Ok, all of the hotels are now using the trendy small square pillows, but why!) Otherwise we would stay here again and you couldn't ask for a better location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I'm not sure about the small pillows, but I will be sure to look into why that is the new thing. I am glad to see that you had a great time at our hotel and with the hotel chain in whole. We look to provide great hotels guest love and looks as though we may have a new member of the Holiday Inn family. I thank you for your business and would love for you to come back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived later Sunday night on easter Sunday. We had never visited savannah before. The front desk upon check-in was friendly but uninformative. I felt like I had to pry information out of her. Like where can I park, what does it cost, what is included in our stay, WiFi password. So after she tells us there is a parking garage next door and that the bellboy will help us get a parking pass and get unloaded I headed over to there to get a cart only to find no bellboy. I grab A cart and unload all of our family's luggage myself (6 of us) .... By the time I got done with that the bellboy shows back up only to look at me struggling to push the cart inside and walk away. the room was clean and nicely decorated, and we had a balcony that overlooked bay st. The only complaints with the room was that the bed was too short for my husband, he is just over six foot and his feet hung off the bed. They also didn't give us any shampoo. When I called the
Front desk they told me they were out, but offered no suggestions on where to get some. We were also disappointed that the hotel didn't have a restaurant or bar. The kids enjoyed the pool even though it wasn't heated. I did however enjoy the pool being on the roof as it was the perfect spot to lay out and catch some rays. And the view from the roof was spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jessica W,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. It was clean, location was great, & the staff was very hospitable. The bartender actually remembered us from checking in and was personable. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found this hotel while on the road and were lucky to discover this little gem. Not only could we walk into historic Savannah along the river easily from this location, there was an amazing rooftop pool the kids loved. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.