We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 hotels in Savannah
prague
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose to spend one night in Savannah on our way from Florida to Virginia. It was a great decision to once again patronize a Holiday Inn Express. The location is perfect for visiting the waterfront, the shopping district, and the beautiful historical houses.

As expected, the room was spotlessly clean and very well-appointed, with the exception that there was no luggage rack for a suitcase. There was, however, a small table that worked just as well. I am certain that if I had mentioned this lack, it would have been corrected immediately.

The staff were fantastic, and gave us several suggestions for sightseeing and dining. The front desk staff suggested a hop-on, hop-off style tour, since our time in the city was limited. They sold us tickets and directed us to the stop, which is just adjacent to the hotel. The valet Justin was extremely friendly and helpful in our quest for live blues music, and Becky in the bar is wonderful. She created a Cheers-like atmosphere in a rather sterile-looking space, and brought together fellow travelers and a few natives for a fun evening. The hotel has a roof top terrace with a hot tub and pool and a wonderful view - you can bring your drinks from the bar upstairs and enjoy the beautiful evening air. On first Fridays, you can view the riverfront fireworks from there.

Definitely a great place from which to venture forth in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    924
    437
    78
    27
    16
See reviews for
354
688
49
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Was in town on business, stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really don't have anything bad to say about it, other than my view was a parking deck (more on that later). The breakfast was more than I had expected, the front desk staff welcomed me every time I returned from where ever I was coming back from, the elevators were fast, the room was bigger than I had expected, the view left something to be desired. A hidden gem was the rooftop pool area. Great view of some of the shops on River Street, and of the river itself.
OK, now for the parking. I had heard complaints of the $20 valet parking, so I checked out parking in Savannah and found out that you can get a 1 or 2 day ( visitor pass at the parking office with unlimited in and out to the city operated parking lots and garages) for $7-12 depending on what you are looking for. No need to pay for the valet, the parking deck is right behind the hotel, and is where a couple of hotels valet park the cars.

Room Tip: My room was fine, kept the curtains pulled so I didn't see the parking deck. It was also quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is located right where you want to be, if you like to be able to walk around and see the sights.
Room was nice, with a seating area in addition to the bed area. Bathroom was nice also, with a large shower with glass doors.
Pool and hot tub are on the roof, and you can stand on the roof and see the goings-on down at the river.
Right across the street from River Street access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located one block above River Street. It is within easy walking of many of the shops and restaurants. I found the front desk personnel to be helpful and pleasant.

I had a room on the 6th floor facing the river. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast bar has a nice variety to get your day started.

I have visited Savannah several times and have stayed here more than once and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Save a considerable amount of money and obtain a visitor's parking pass from the visitor center prior to checking in at the hotel. The parking pass is very reasonable ($12 for a 48 hour period) and is valid in the parking garage directly behind/adjacent to the hotel as well as other locations throughout the city.

Room Tip: I especially enjoyed "the river view" and viewing the Christmas lights from the comfort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for strolling the river shops, City Market, Paula Deen's restaurant. The lobby is pretty. Not the friendliest of staff at front desk. Our room, third floor, had a carpet that was dirty and needed replacement (I'm assuming they clean it and if so, it is beyond looking good). The glass shower doors were cloudy. Noticeably cloudy. No reason for that. Bed was not the best, a little saggy and creaky on my side. The complimentary breakfast was not great. Stale-ish bread for toasting, cheese omelettes that don't leave you wanting more. Mediocre at best. Hotel is on a very busy street with many large trucks flying by. When you are sitting in the breakfast room it can be pretty loud. In fact, in our two night stay there were two accidents right in front of the hotel. A word about the riverfront shops. If you have trouble with mobility, don't even attempt it. All cobblestones, very uneven surfaces. Plus to get down onto the riverfront you have to walk down many very steep steps with a dinky iron handrail for support. A pretty setting though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are sincerely sorry for the lack of customer service and condition of our hotel during your stay. We would like to offer an apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. It seems majority of your trip to Savannah was not of your liking so I do suggest the next time you are in town we can give you tips on making your stay great. Thank you for your review and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend, for our first trip to Savannah. The room was larger than I expected, and it was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The free breakfast had a nice selection, including pancakes, eggs, bacon, and sausage. The location was good, but next time I'd probably choose to stay somewhere more centrally located so that we could walk anywhere in the historic district within a few minutes. The location was still within walking distance of everything, and both River Street, and City Market were very close, so shopping, restaurants, and bars were very convenient. There is a nice view from the roof.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First, Savannah is a walking city so plan to park the car and not use it again. We used the city lot immediately adjacent to the Hotel's valet service and saved a tremendous amount of money. The Hotel is across the street for the River walk and easy strolling distance to Savannah's Squares and dining. The rooms were spacious and the single had a wet bar, fridge and small micorwave. We enjoyed our moring coffee and evening drinks on the rooftop. It was typical hotel breakfast. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;