We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fantastic location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great a/c. We walked everywhere. Very very happy with this property. Breakfast is the weakest point here. Eggs tasted like powdered eggs. Did not eat the second morning. That would not keep me from stay here again as the pluses certainly out where this.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and it sounds like we hit the market on everything but breakfast. Please don’t let that one occasion steer you away from our breakfast. The cinnamon rolls are a must and if our breakfast is not what interests you than there are many more places near the hotel to get great breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    517
    98
    31
    17
See reviews for
393
804
56
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Best location, great friendly staff, loved it! River Street a small stroll away! Vic's on the River, a great restaurant we recommend across the road! Short walk to everything! The view from the top floor is amazing make sure you head up for photos!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We can't seem to say thank you enough for visiting our hotel and leaving such a great review. We look forward to another visit in the future. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a step above your typical Holiday Inn Express. It's very well-located, the lobby and ground floor common areas are very handsome and functional and the rooftop pool/lounge area/hot tub was really enjoyable (especially for my 5 and 8 year old daughters - even in October when they did swim. I did the HOT tub only.) :) Not the cheapest game in town, but the location and service could not be beat. We were able to walk everywhere (and Savannah is such a walkable little city, anyway.)

Check in was painless as was everything else. Staff was friendly and knew what they were doing. Valet parking attendant even gave us a "head's up" about self parking in the garage directly next door (and let us unload our car first - before checking in) for $5 or less a day (rather than the $20 a day hotel charge for valet parking.) We didn't take the car out (arrived Saturday and left Monday afternoon) so unless you're going to be in and out driving the car, the garage is just fine.

Rooms exceptionally clean and not in any need of repair or maintenance. Upgraded plasma tv with cable, small frig and microwave in room and a nicely appointed bathroom.

NEGATIVES:
Nice to have the breakfast although I'd have liked a bit more variation on the fruit (only had bananas both morning we were there.) Also, the wifi was basically unavailable in the room or up on the roof (and since this is a recurring comment, I'd suggest this be updated because it's not such a big fix these days) and (also as noted in many reviews before), the pillows were indeed undersized on both beds (so that's 8 very small pillows - oddly small.) Finally, the shower head (at least in our high floored room - 709 - which faced the previously mentioned parking garage so no view but also very quiet) did not offer the proper pressure on either the hard (HARD!!!) or soft setting.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms for quiet. Two elevators and minimal wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your leaving such a positive and constructive review. Reviews similar to yours help us become the award winning Holiday Inn Express that we are. We value all that you have said and we will continue to get better in the things that we do well and become excellent in those that we fall behind in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was perfect for the location! We were able to walk everywhere, and with the entrance to historical River St right across the street, we had Wet Willies every night! The continental breakfast was very good. It included pancakes, cereal, eggs (or chs omelet), biscuits & gravy, bacon & ham, fresh cinnamon buns, muffins and bagels, yogurt, coffee and juices. That was a great start every morning, and it was available until 10am.
The room was comfortable and modern with a southern feel. My only complaint would be regarding the cleaning services. Our shower head looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a few years, and water was spraying everywhere else but on us. Our garbage pails were never emptied and we don't believe they ran a vacuum. Our beds were made, however our pillows were never touched from how we left them. There's an optional sign that was in our room to ask our maid not to clean the sheets during our stay. We did not leave that sign out, however we believe our maid decided that for us.
Granted we were there for a weekend, and only stayed 3 nights, so it didn't concern us that much, but if something like that would bother you, I'd suggest just asking the front desk if there are any issues. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

There were many things to like about our stay in Savannah, especially this hotel. The front desk staff was very quick and courteous through check in. During our stay, they offered many helpful tips for navigating the city, like peddy cabs. Our room, although a little small, was very clean and modern. The bed was VERY comfortable and the HVAC system was very quiet.

The wireless gave a faster connection than most other hotels, clocking in at 4 MBPS. The breakfast had a wide variety of fresh items. The pool on the roof is small for adults but great for kids. The hot tub is a nice place to soak your feet after a day of walking around. The view from the roof deck is one of the highest in the city and gives a great view of the riverfront, especially if the convention center is hosting fireworks.

Public parking is right next door so it is not necessary to use the valet.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing Bay Street, be advised that the traffic is noisy during the day and early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovelly
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We only had one night here but it was such a wonderful experience. The hotel itself is well located just off Reynold Square & across the road from River Street. The staff were exceptionally friendly and obliging. They made us feel truly welcome.. Free wifi & valet parking as well as a complimentary breakfast made this all extra special. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Southern Hospitality is what we live by at this hotel. We want every guest to feel comfortable and have the ability to relax. We are about making your entire experience great. We look forward to a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the HIE in the historic district. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We got an upper floor away from noise and elevators so we did not have a good view, but that was the trade-off for that day because otherwise we would have had a balcony but lots of noisy on a lower level. If you are looking for a marvelous view, go to the rooftop where the pool and exercise are located. Take your camera up there and take in the beauty!

The breakfast was good. There are healthy options like fruit and yogurt. I don't recommend the instant pancake maker... kinda tasted like cardboard... but the biscuits and gravy were surprisingly good. Not an award-winning meal, but it was nice to have it included and it was more than just cereal and toast.

The room itself was what I expected, simple, but clean. The wi-fi did not really work, but we were able to pick up an ethernet cable from the front desk and that worked beautifully. We reserved a king sized bed but for whatever reason they only give you four tiny pillows. They look a bit goofy on the bed and my husband did not like the tiny pillows. I brought my own so it was no problem for me, but just keep that in mind. The only other thing that bugged me was that our room only had a shower and the shower head was not good. It was one of those that either hammers you or trickles.

I do recommend the HIE if you are on a budget and want to be in a very convenient location. I loved walking out the hotel and could head right off by foot wherever we needed. Things to know... on the weekend, street parking is free, just be mindful of the street sweeping signs so you know when you need to move your car. There is a parking garage behind HIE. IF it is not full (and it was when we arrived), you can park there at a rate of $5 per day. You must move your car prior to 8:00 am the next day or you will be charged $5 for that day too.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor away from noise. East Bay street is very busy and can be noisy if you are on a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.