We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel and beautiful city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel and beautiful city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were here in late October for 3 nights and staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was a little small for a king, but the bed was very comfy with great pillows, the room was clean with two nice chairs, clean large shower with good water pressure, little refrigerator/microwave/flat screen/good internet wifi and pretty quiet considering our room opened to the garage which is still under construction. We parked in the garage right next door and managed our own luggage which was a bit of savings so after two days we decided to stay an extra night. This is at least a 3 day stay kind of destination and we weren’t in our room so much that the size was a matter. We had a ton of luggage due to the time of year being a hot and cool and there was plenty of drawer space once unpacked and we stores our little luggage inside the larger.
We were in great walking distance of River Street ( bring bug spray just in case) and all the parks. If you enjoy walking and taking a small break at the beautiful parks among the trees you may just stroll your way right into yesteryear and more romantic times. The view from the pool on the roof was great for a few evening photos and you’re in a good area for a variety of places to dine.
I'd go back in a heartbeat, but this time I'd look for a room with a view for our down time. I loved Savannah! Bring the camera/walking shoes/take a tour with Savannah Dan. He has a web site. If you love trees take a ride out to Wormsloe plantation and just drive through the gate, pay a few bucks and enjoy a nice drive through the trees. Again, Camera!! Bonaventure cemetery was a great walk about and such a peaceful yet hauntingly beautiful place. Ghost tour? Blue Orb is excellent fun. Thanks for the stay Holiday Inn Express. We felt welcome and valued as your guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the river side but higher to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    479
    85
    27
    16
See reviews for
373
754
52
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterey california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Commencing in New Orleans and driving the Gulf by way of Tampa, St. Petersburg, Naples, and then on to the Atlantic side, Miami, Southbeach, Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Vero Beach and St. Augustine, Florida, our favorite city and lodging turned out to be Savannah, Georgia. The critical location of the Holiday Inn Express in the Historic District contributed greatly to our extensive walks and appetites. Quick two minute walks from the front door placed you at Vic's, The Old Pink House, The Boars Head, Ruth Chris Steakhouse (good jazz combo on friday & saturday nights) and other fashionable, tasty, dining alternatives. No city in our adventure catered to our lust for walking, eating, and observing as did Savannah. Even the more comfortable day and evening temperatures in middle October edged out Florida where the routine 90 degrees plus with 80% humidity extracted our senior energy too quickly. We were surprised at the substantial number of historical notations (signs) in parks, streets, cemetaries, etc. You feel the age. I'm not certain that all of the tour opportunities are necessary; discovering history on your own at your own pace is quite gratifying. We were also surprised at tour pricing, $29 to $49 each. Frankly, I say, go lose yourself in Savannah and absorb the southern culture...it abounds! The only negative was some attitude from the front desk of the Holiday Day Inn Express - attitude that said we'll service you when we get around to it. For a pricey place, that's an attitude one can live without.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Location is near the waterfront, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. We were upgraded to a king room due to our Priority Club membership, which made the stay more comfortable. Breakfast was good, staff was quite friendly. The room was new-looking, clean, and comfortable. As a chain hotel, you lose the character of a B&B or small inn, but if you're looking for a nice room with a great view, for a good value, this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Holiday Inn Express is a newer hotel in the historic district, and it shows from head to toe. We experienced such lovely service from the moment we arrived, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The hot continental breakfast was very satisfying, and you can't beat the location right in the middle of the action!!! We loved getting to know Becki, the hotel bartender, who pointed us to all the best places (sitting at her bar was the best place of all!). I highly recommend this hotel for a wonderful Savannah stay!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor--I did hear one man complaining that there was too much road noise one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

From check in to farewell the staff was extraordinary! As Priority Club members we were upgraded to an 8th floor room with the most amazing view of the river. When I asked if we coul check out a bit later than normal, the clerk responded with a smile and cheerful, "Of course!" This felt like a very high-end,upscale hotel, not a moderate chain! Kudos to the management and staff! We took the advice of other reviewers and parked in the city garage next to the hotel. Cost was $7--we are not fans of valet parking anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This Holiday Inn express is new and modern and in a great location, excellent city and river views from the rooftop. We had a Queen Bed room on the 6th floor, close to the corner for a better view (without the premium). The room itself was pretty small but had everything you needed and was in good, clean condition. It had a nice trendy feel to the room.Some great perks in the room were a fridge, microwave, an extra sink outside the bathroom, plenty of mirrors,a large flat screen TV and work area, The continental breakfast was great too--offering both hot and cold selections with plenty of tables to dine at. They also offered a land and sea package which included free Valet parking, trolley tickets, riverboat tickets and tickets to tour a historic home. The accomodations with the Land and Sea package were a great value compared to other accomodations in the area (around $250 a night--tickets for the activities alone are well over $100 alone). HOWEVER...........I cannot say that I would return to this hotel because of the terrible FUMES that came into our room each night. These fumes were STRONG and BAD (headache producing bad)---smelled like sulfur and burning garbage. It was coming in under our door and through the ventalation system. They said at the front desk that it was from the paper mill in town which apparently produces these fumes every other weekend. I think that the severity of the fumes are probably dependent on your proximity to the vent in the hallway. Unfortunately, we were right at the end of the hallway and the pressure seemed to be quite strong under our door. However, the front desk said that they had received many calls regarding this smell, so I guess others were bothered by it also.
So, if you are sure that the Paper mill is not emitting the fumes on the weekend you are staying in Savannah, definitely book this hotel! Otherwise, weigh your other options and definitely ask about it at whichever accomodation you choose during your stay in Savannah.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from the city garage view. Of course, higher is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and in a wonderful location for enjoying the historic district of Savannah! We enjoyed the wonderful complimentary hot breakfast every day and then walked everywhere we wanted to be. Restaurants and night life were just steps away on River Street or for fine dining the Olde Pink House is just around the corner. The hotel roof top has a nice pool and viewing area. Having the computers and a printer is especially convenient for printing boarding passes etc. In short, the Holiday Inn Express provides everything you need for a great vacation or business trip at an affordable price!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District

Address: 199 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District Hotel Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.