We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Ghost Tour

Candlelight Ghost Tour
512 E.Oglethorpe Ave., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
(912) 604-3007
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 139 activities in Savannah
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

My 13 year old really wanted to do a ghost tour & it was hard to choose what to pick. We didn't want a cheesy tour that might give misinformation, so after lots of searching, we found this one. Our tour guide was Rhett & he was born and raised in Savannah. Very informative & interesting. Luckily we had a small group so it was more personal. Not only did he tell the haunted history, but the overall history as well, which was nice. Near the end of the tour he played a trick on us that made us all jump & laugh. It was pretty funny & just added to the ambience. I highly recommend it. Great value for ten dollars as he just gave everyone the coupon rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
World
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ghost stories of a spooky city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Patrick took us on a fun walking tour of several of the ghost sites in the historic district. Fun, even though it was still daylight. Probably even more fun in the spooky dark.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“speak up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was an OK but not wonderful 90 minute tour. Our guide was soft spokt en, and was at times very academic in her descriptions. That's great in a classroom but this was a ghost tour one week from Halloween, and I was hoping for stories at bit more exciting. Our group wasn't big, but it was hard to hear her, probably more because of her speaking style than the volume. Could have been an off day for her, as she seemed to have a cold or allergies, and that made me sorry for her. Five or six stops, you will not shake in your boots from any of the stories.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Scary, Very Informative, Good Exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We are not into lurid tales of devils and excorsisms so we chose this tour. Luckily, we chose the right one as we met Hannah in front of the Colonial Cemetary gates one evening and she regalled us with history and stories of the "spiritual" side of Savannah. Hannah is a 10 year resident of Savannah & she is very knowledgeable of ghost tales both past & present. If you have children, she can be accomodating to make them not so scary. She is articulate, friendly and witty. If she doesn't know something, she'll say so. Not only does she tell of past history but also very recent happenings both to herself and people she knows. She knows a lot about The 1790 Inn & all the houses you will stroll past. As we walked, the chopped off hearse & other kitschy ghost tours passed us several times. This tour is more straightforward & honest. She'll even tell you about the Isiah Davenport kitty cat which is not on the other tours. You can ask her anything. The tour lasts approx. 90 mins. but it went very fast. Also, if you have stories of your own, she encourages you to tell them. The price was well worth it. This tour and the First African Baptist Church tour are the best values in Savannah. Don't know the website, but if you google Candlelight Tours Savannah, there's a $5 coupon on the website. Have fun!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Informative, Accurate, and Entertaining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Me and my friends are here in Savannah for a month, and we were looking for a good ghost tour for Savannah. This is EXACTLY what we were looking for! We had Michelle and even though it was raining, it was a great tour! Nothing hoaky, but very chilling and entertaining. We asked a lot of questions and she was very knowledgable about the city and she was very personable. Even when calling for a reservation, the company was very accomidating. More people should do this tour and very dereserving of a 5 star!!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlelight Ghost Tour also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Candlelight Ghost Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Ghost Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Candlelight Ghost Tour to your Saves list